We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential but a few issues...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue South
Ranked #90 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great potential but a few issues...”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I expected perhaps a bit too much from a hotel with 'Deluxe' in the title (yes I know it isn't 5-star, but it was the basics that I was concerned about)

The parking is ample and free so if you are taking a car you'll have no problem. I had difficulty heaving my bags through the doors as they were not automatic and pull outward. After checking in I walked to my room and in the hallway I noticed the smell of fresh lemony pine which was excellent.

The first thing that hit me upon entering the room was the strong smell of damp eminating from the air conditioner. You'd rather the hallway and room smells to be the other way round I suspect. The room layout and size was very good indeed though so I was pleased with this. The ergonomic chair in particular was awesome!

The hotel has fantastic potential but there were a few small things that would have improved my stay... aside from the damp smell, the bath plughole was a tad 'used looking', the sink took ages to empty, the fridge door handle was broken, the microwave had a curry smell, my room door (118) was temperamental and probably worst was the ketchup smell coming from the sofa area (I didn't dare lift the cushions).

Most of these weren't very serious to me but its food for thought for you guys perhaps. Talking of food, sorry but I can't talk about the food as I didn't try their complimentary breakfast, too little time.

I would recommend this place to others, only if they can sort these issues out, the hotel is otherwise very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESH-RDO, Owner at Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue South, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
I recently received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to respond. We take great pride in offering a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price, so I was happy to read your comments about your accommodations. However, I was disappointed to read the rest of your remarks. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

As this hotel’s manager, I challenge our staff to continually improve the experience of our guests, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the courteous professionalism of our staff. Unfortunately, in your situation, it is clear that we were unsuccessful in achieving these goals. Given our belief that guests like you are our most valuable asset, this failure is particularly troubling.

Your review has caused us to take a serious look at the systems we have in place to handle our day to day operations and we will be making modifications as appropriate.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    13
    12
    12
    21
See reviews for
29
12
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Headland, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My Family And I Live Close On Our Budget,So This Hotel Was A Blessing.We Could Cook In And Save Money And Still Enjoy Attractions Around Town! We Will Definantly Stay Here Again,It Was Just What We Needed!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESH-RDO, Owner at Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue South, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Everything was very clean and my stay was very pleasant. I've stayed at "5 star" hotels whose rooms and ammenties were not as nice as Extended Stay Deluxe. I defintely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue South, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay Deluxe Jacksonville-Bulter Blvd. Our hotel is committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel especially for the price. The front desk staff was very courtesy and friendly. Check-in was very quick and easy. The room was great and the kitchen was surprisingly updated with dishes, silverware, pots/pans, a stove, oven, and full-size fridge. The bed was super comfortable and there were extra pillows and blankets in the closet. The tv was large and it was an updated flat screen version that swivled around either to the bed or the couch area. Oh yeah, the room had a DVD player without any additional cost which was great for us because we brought movies to kick back and watch. We were very happy about that! The bathroom was large and very clean. The only problem we had was that there were no hangers in the closet so we had to go to Walmart and purchase some plastics ones. There is a very nice pool area that has a grilling area nearby but just know there is no hot tub ok. Although the hotel was pretty much filled to capacity it was surprisingly very quiet in the hallways and parking lot. I felt very safe. I will stay at this hotel again and we do recommend it especially since you get so much for the low price! You can't beat it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyingSolo4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue South, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay Deluxe Jacksonville-Bulter Blvd. Our hotel is committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition. Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thanks you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The staff and cleanliness of this hotel are what make it a great place to stay. We couldn't have asked for the more perfect place. Thank you Extended Stay Deluxe. You came through yet again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BankerMan930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

This Hotel was quite a surprise while looking for a reasonable hotel to stay I stumbled on one that actually impressed from the time I called and directions from accross town perfect on that directions Princess!!!!!! And I get lost easy.from the time I inspected the facility I booked my room for the following week on the spot and paid in full up front just to make sure that I had a place. when I checked in on the day of stay Lisa greeted me with a huge friendly smile gave me my key next day I noticed a phone not funtioning properly Mr. G the maint man was there in 10 minutes and made needed adjustment to phone (just replaced) I met the lovely Kristen the next morning at the desk and also had the chance to meet the manager of this effiently run facility Jenine I will be at another of your chain In the city of Jacksonville dec 20 thru till christmas eve am very exicted as I travel the world and I rarely find a hotel so clean and friendly and stingy with my money so reasonable

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donjacuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I was in Jacksonville,Fl to see My daughter for the day,when the day got away from me,I thought I would get a room for the night and go home the next day.We drove around for an hour or so when we came up to a group of hotels in a courtyard,we drove around and saw the red roof inn ,we pulled in,but the parking lot was littered with trash,at that point I saw the Extended Stay,it looked clean.I had been running into rude people all day and thought that was what was to come in here,but the service was excellent and the price was right.The room was big and well set-up.From now on I will be looking for an Extended Stay where ever I need a room. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarrySwancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue East
Extended Stay America - Jacksonv...
#91 of 133 in Jacksonville
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Salisbury Rd. - Southpoint
Extended Stay America - Jacksonv...
#87 of 133 in Jacksonville
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Jacksonville Butler Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Jacksonville - Southpoint
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue South

Property: Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue South
Address: 4699 Lenoir Ave S, Jacksonville, FL 32216-4034 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Jacksonville - Butler Blvd.)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Extended Stay, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksonville Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing