We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family Gathering”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here July 11th and 12th in a second floor river view room. The room was clean, had nice furnishings, comfortable beds and the linens very clean. The complimentary breakfast was standard but with plenty of choices and a friendly conscientious attendant. There was a boys baseball tournament in town. Several participating groups staying at the hotel made for yelling, running in the hallways and door slamming on both evenings. We confronted some boys outside our door on both evenings and told them to stop! The second evening we reported the noise to the front desk. At check out we were told there had been a number of complaints. This hotel advertises that pets are allowed on the first floor only. After seeing a dog on the second floor, we asked about the policy at checkout. We were told that if all the rooms on the first floor were booked, pets were allowed on the second and even sometimes on the third floor. I have allergies/asthma and animal dander can be a problem for me. I always ask for a non smoking, no pets room.
Be sure to ride the trolley that stops at the hotel and runs along the river. A nice Safeway store is very close by. The noisy sea lions reported by other reviewers were gone to California. But they will be back. I rated the value of this hotel as very good because it was the most reasonable rate for a good hotel for the summer season. Would I stay here again? Yes. Astoria is a charming town and is almost unrecognizable from my childhood of sixty some years ago.

Room Tip: Book a 3rd floor room on the river side for the best view of freighters and ships on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kourtney S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia River, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback and positive words! I will certainly make sure to pass this on and I am so glad to hear that we could present you with a good stay.
It is always nice to have the returning guests, as well as the new ones. I hope that we see you in the future and can make it an even better stay for you.

Thank so much again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    94
    39
    15
    8
See reviews for
63
98
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a Comfort Suites- let's start there. Nothing fancy, price is decent. It is a good hotel that may seem a little expensive but I think based on location it's about right. Our room was clean and we were told had recently been redone. I can believe that- there was an extra piece to a towel bar laying on the floor. There's the rub- why was it on the floor? If someone vacuumed they should pick it up. Why leave it in the room? Just sayin'. We never tried the breakfast but it looked like the typical free breakfast at so many chains. I would note that the picture of the hotel from the water is accurate- but misleading. The hotel isn't really on the water (but is close and will have a view from higher floors). Overall, I would stay again. Nothing great, but nothing to complain about either.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kourtney S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia River, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback.
I will take this and present it to the proper departments and thank you for being patient with us. We have gone through renovations and I am so glad to hear that we have been able to help you enjoy your stay.
I hope that you return in the future and we can make it an even better stay for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

After reading a couple of the negative reviews of this hotel, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and found that the rooms were super clean, attractively furnished, and large. We arrived too late to get a room with a river view, but the hotel does have a very nice view of the Columbia river and passing barges. The people working the front desk were super friendly and accommodating. The lady who stocked the breakfast area went out of her way to find things that my daughter (who has an allergy) could eat. My only negative comment is about the fitness room. It's quite small and hot (a fan would help). The TV wasn't working because the hotel was in the process of switching over to digital cable. Overall, we had a very nice stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeDeM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kourtney S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia River, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback.
It is so awesome to be able to hear good feedback from guests.

I will pass on the comment/suggestion about a fan or air conditioning system for the Fitness Center.

We hope you come back and stay with us in the future and I would like to thank you on behalf of the staff for the encouraging words.

Thanks again,
Kourtney Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for about a weekfor work,they were working on the hotel but everyone was very helpful and friendly nice pool enjoyed my visit very much, would definitely return,loved Astoria.if you go don't miss going over the Astoria bridge it's beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnied91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kourtney S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia River, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback.
I also would like to thank you for your patience while we were going through renovations and changing the hotel.
Our goal is to meet guests satisfaction. I am so please to hear that we could accommodate you during your stay!

We hope for your return in the future.

Thank you again,
Kourtney Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

After falling into disrepair the past several years, the new ownership has done a great job bringing this hotel back up to standards. New exterior paint, remodeled rooms, they earned our business back. It's worth the extra money to get a river view room. Perfect for runners, right out the door is the Astoria River Walk, 4 miles of path from wetlands to the bridge. Walk to the museum. Safeway is next door and Geno's Pizza is a block away across the street, so it's a perfect location in Astoria. The one negative is that the room doors slam shut very loudly.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that have a connecting door to the neighboring rooms, lots of noise comes through. Pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Run4Fun262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kourtney S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia River, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback.
I will make sure to get this information about the doors to the Maintenance.
Our goal is to please the guests and from what you have wrote, I am so happy that your stay could be so accommodating.
We appreciate this response and will make sure to improve.

Thank you,
Kourtney Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel was clean and comfortable, but it's in an ugly area. I didn't really care for it. But $174 a night is an outrage for this. I have paid that for a resort town and Astoria is not that. I thought being on the river would be quaint. Our window looked out over a home being demolished. Won't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We made a stop in Astoria just so we could see some of the places from the Goonies movie. We ended up staying here which is across the street and down just a little from the Goonies house. The hotel itself was very nice. The beds were comfortable and the staff was very accommodating. They even told us to wait a few minutes before going out if we wanted a warm cookie. Not sure if this was normal of if they were just making some for themselves. The rooms were very clean and you had everything you needed. The staff was also helpful to us and others for great dining options. If we are every in the area again we would stay here in a second, because of the great hospitality we got.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrytravelers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kourtney S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia River, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here.
The Goonies is a huge deal here in Astoria and I am so happy to hear that you have enjoyed the stay and the site seeing.
Our team's goal is to please the guest and this positive feedback is so awesome to hear! I will pass this onto the staff here at Comfort Suites.
We hope you return in the future.

Thank you again for your positive response.

Kourtney Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
2.7 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
1.4 mi away
Astoria Crest Motel
Astoria Crest Motel
#6 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Columbia River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Columbia River

Property: Comfort Suites Columbia River
Address: 3420 Leif Erikson Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-3425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Columbia River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Columbia River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Columbia River Hotel Astoria
Comfort Suites Astoria
Astoria Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing