We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum”

Columbia River Maritime Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.00*
and up
Oregon Coast Day Trip from Portland: Astoria and Cannon Beach
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum celebrating the history of ship travel on the Columbia River.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this museum and the history of the Columbia River and it's meeting with the ocean.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank swok34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    994
    271
    31
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not to be missed museum”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

wonderful museum giving much of the history of the region from the perspective of the Columbia river as it flows into the Pacific. I spent over an hour but could (should( have spent longer, I just didn't have the time. The part at the end on Coast Guard rescues was really terrific and save some time for it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jackpotjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great discovery”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This museum is in great location right on the waterfront. I learned so much about the Columbia River, rescues, what a maritime museum is. Well worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jobm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nicely done.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This museum is top quality all around but not as big as I'd thought it would be. And maybe I've seen too many maritime museums but it didn't really engage me as much as I'd thought it would. For the size, it's all very well curated, beautifully laid out and set up, with plenty of things for kids to do. The highlight for us was the control bridge of the USS Knapp which is in the museum and can be walked into: downside, the lights in that exhibit were not on so it was rather dark. Another highlight was the Lightship that is part of the ticket price. Docked on the pier outside, there was a docent to give a brief introductory spiel, then the rest of it is self-guided. One warning to the easily queasy: the lightship moves a lot more than most people might be used to and it can easily affect those susceptible to motion sickness.
Overall, the place was good quality and worth the price but we were in and out of it in an hour without feeling like we missed anything (noting that we're veteran museum-goers and have seen many, many maritime museums).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EmmaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting and well done museum”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great displays and lots of original thinking. Not so crowded as to be overwhelming. The fisherman rescue exhibut was really great. Well worth the $12 fee.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amcphail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Columbia River Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to Columbia River Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing