We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum for all ages”

Columbia River Maritime Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.00*
and up
Oregon Coast Day Trip from Portland: Astoria and Cannon Beach
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum celebrating the history of ship travel on the Columbia River.
york, pa
Level Contributor
297 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great museum for all ages”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We spent slightly over an hour here and it was time well spent. A variety of interesting exhibits concerning the Columbia River, the boats that plied it and the risks involved, along with the salmon industry that evolved here. Lots of interactive exhibits, with interviews to hear. The final exhibit, on Coast Guard rescues was fascinating. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank yellowlabmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    971
    265
    28
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montesano, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really Really AWESOME”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were so happy with the time we had here, but most especially with the retired Coast Guard boat moored in the back. The museum is wonderfully modern, kept-up, and well-designed with lots to learn. Definitely a worthwhile visit to Astoria and the general "Lewis and Clark National Park/Thing" Area. You'll get a lot of history about the Columbia River, especially before that big bridge was built. Really fun.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The reviews are correct -- an excellent museum experience”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

While I musts confess to possessing only a passing interesting in matters maritime-related, I really enjoyed my visit to the Columbia River Maritime Museum.

This is very well-run museum and it's clearly evident that a lot of thought, and work, has gone into its creation. Modern-day U.S. Coast Guard exhibits to those of historical interest, along with a very knowledgeable staff, all add up to a really enjoyable few hours. My trip to this museum certainly gave me a better understanding, and appreciation, for those who's lives are (and were) centered around all things maritime.

Definitely worth a visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank profpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scio, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you love boats and history, stop here”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

It is a beautiful, reasonably priced museum. We took our grandkids there, and we all loved the boats, the videos, the pieces of the past, the different settings, the view, and the Ford foundation room designed for kids.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this museum and the history of the Columbia River and it's meeting with the ocean.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank swok34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Columbia River Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to Columbia River Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing