We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and Delightful!”
Review of Benjamin Young Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Astoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Benjamin Young Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Astoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 November 2008

We spent 2 nights at the Benjamin Young Inn in Astoria and absolutely adored this place. From the comfortable bed to the unbelievable gourmet breakfast, from the fabulous views to the charming and gracious hostess, this is a winner.
We stayed in the Lady Ann Suite with a view of the river and "The Goonies" house. (Kindergarten Cop was filmed at the school across the street, too!) Our hostess, Carolyn, has kept the Victorian elegance of the home and even bought back some of the original family portraits. All old homes have a story and the history binder was fascinating to read. The new heating system kept the large home cozy and warm, in spite of the November storm.
Breakfasts were extraordinary! Fresh-baked cardamom bread and salmon and cream cheese omelets, one day, and light as a cloud berry pancakes, the next. Fresh fruit and juice, superb coffee and offers of more food made sure our days began just right. There were fresh-baked afternoon treats, as well.
Carolyn had excellent suggestions for dinner restaurants and local activities which made our stay that much better. This website has one unfavorable review, we are so glad it didn't deter us from staying here. Carolyn and her home are truly treasures.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kindercathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2008

My hubby whisked me away for a late Valentine's celebration...this was great, because I am almost always the reservation-maker. And he did well! He booked the Wedding Suite at the Benjamin Young Inn (Astoria, Oregon, just under 2 hours from downtown Portland, Oregon).

The historic Victorian was the largest I had ever been in...yet it had only 4 guest rooms (I believe), all on the 2nd floor. The suite we were in was marvelous: we had a table and chairs in the classic Victorian tower, plus plenty of other sitting and luggage space in the rest of the room. The beautiful queen bed had a lace-and-tulle canopy suspended from the ceiling, and was The Most Comfortable Mattress I have ever slept on in a hotel (I am Very Picky due to lower lumbar pain & a slipped disc a couple of years ago).

In the interest of keeping the interior authentic, the bathroom was tucked into a closet and "petite," but not a big deal. Good towels and robes made any inconvenience negligible.

Although the inn faces away from the Columbia River, the tower afforded us water views. But the surprising reminder of how close we were to the water was the seals barking! The first night I couldn't figure out what the noise was...almost unreal...then I remembered the mention of seals in the literature.

And the food! When we arrived, the place smelled of something yummy from the oven, and we were quickly introduced to the plate of homemade cookies, available 24 hours a day! Along with tea, hot chocolate (I can't remember if there was coffee, because I don't drink it). Plus there was a heart-shaped double-chocolate brownie big enough to share (and it's hard for me to share chocolate!) waiting for us on the table in our room. The breakfasts were spectacular...not too large, but with offers for seconds (I really appreciate not feeling guilty for not clearing my plate). Even though the inn was full (we filled the huge dining table), breakfast was prompt and hot and delicious...with all the trimmings (and a view of the river).

I forgot to mention the common rooms...first, I am used to Victorians having a couple of smaller parlors, but this place has one huge, long room with a central fireplace, plenty of reading material, lots of comfy places to sit. Plus there was a separate tv room with a small tv. If I stay there in the summer, I will enjoy the beautiful grounds and porch, but I was busy with other things this time.

I am a cat lover (have 2 right now), and the first morning my husband brought me tea and a 9-month old kitten for my wake-up call. What a charmer...come to find out the inn's owners adopted two strays, plus have a mature cat (which mostly slept, but accepted gentle petting).

I also appreciated the off-street parking, although parking on the street would have been fine in this quiet residential neighborhood. Oh, and there's a microwave and refrigerator in the upstairs hall for all guests to use...a real plus, and not that common in the B&Bs I've been in.

All this after 24 years of marriage. I'm pretty lucky!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank I8-0-H-ZL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

A comfortable bed with decent back support, hot & cold running beverages, period elegance updated with modern conveniences, and a friendly kitten made this a very enjoyable stay. We came for a late Valentine's celebration, visiting the waterfront, galleries, and restaurants of Astoria. Getting to the mouth of the Columbia at Ft. Stevens State Park is easy -- pick your view and start taking photos or drawing.

There has obviously been a change in management perspective since the previous review (which I just read). The weather was spring-ish; the heat came on at bed time, and was more than sufficient. Even without, the bedding would have been plenty to keep us warm, without needed the extra blankets in the dresser.

Both breakfasts were plentiful (and altered to dietary requests), with Carolyn attentive to our needs and good company around the table. We got plenty of good advice on local activities, tailored to our various needs.

Our room was a rarity for B&B (and some motels): plenty of space for luggage and moving around. I've been in several places where I had to stuff my suitcase under the bed so I didn't trip over it in the night.

Granted, there are drawbacks. The period furniture in the room is a tad short to be comfortable for an entire evening of lounging (or taking advantage of the wireless Internet) -- my 5'10" is somewhat tall for that day. Lounging chairs are in the common areas downstairs. One electrical circuit handles two bathrooms, and isn't up to both fans *plus* simultaneous hair driers (supplied by the establishment, by the way).

Overall, we found Benjamin Young Inn friendly, well kept, decorated beautifully, and a very pleasant stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank norcekri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2006

Worst B & B experience we've ever had. Had to ask for heat in room, had to ask for extra blanket (was given a very thin one), and breakfast, which took one hour, consisted of baked pear, cold bread, and a small slice of fritta. Have never left a breakfast served at a B&B and still been hungry before this one. Coffee/hot water service was available only 1/2 hour before breakfast. Room was so dirty and dusty, coughed for 2 days afterward. This is the only B & B where we left early.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AstoriaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Petra2012G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Rose River Inn
Rose River Inn
#1 of 8 in Astoria
154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clementine's Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benjamin Young Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjamin Young Inn

Address: 3652 Duane St, Astoria, OR 97103-2421
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Astoria
Price Range: £54 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing