We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and the price is right”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Astoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 8 Astoria B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“clean and the price is right”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This is a charming old house. I suggest asking for a room with shades. The sun comes up very early. I also recommend the rooms facing north with a view of the river. Be prepared for smoked salmon for breakfast or let them know ahead of time if you have diatary needs. The two ladies serving breakfast are very nice and will make some adjustments if needed. The Iris room has an extra single bed and is good for a small family or girl night out, but does not have window shades so it gets very bright very early in the summer months.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the beautiful bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    13
    11
    4
See reviews for
11
30
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

First of all, Astoria is obviously an historical place, gradually undergoing a refit, or a rediscovery of itself. A few places (houses, buildings, businesses) in town look run down or abandoned, and a few places have been fabulously renovated and rejuvenated to Victorian Glory. And there are places everywhere in between these extremes. I am guessing that the Grandview was one of the first places to be energized and revitalized... probably twenty or more years ago (well, that's what it looks like) so the reviews below about paint peeling and bubbling wall paper are, well... true. So it doesn't get a 5 out 5. But the staff is great, the owner is hilarious (and please... don't be creeped out just because she uses a walker to greet you when you arrive as I have read in another review), the rooms are clean and comfortable (we had a room overlooking the river... nice, nice), the breakfast very good.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We had a great time at this B& B. When we were driving into town, we saw an old building and we thought looks kind of scary. (Just kidding) When we entered the house, Charleen welcomed us and inside was very clean and beautiful. She explained to us everything we need to know about B&B and gave us several good restraunts to eat out and etc. Our room was very cheep (Secret garden) and had a small veiw of Colombia river. It was a very nice room! If you can find a sink, you are lucky! We had our own pillo so slept good! We stayed in the middle of the week, so there were only 1 or 2 other couple staying and very quiet. Breakfast was well prepared and all the dishes were very pretty. Lox is excellent and fruite was delicious, coffee was good and chocolate muffin was great too! Next day, we had a diffierent breakfast which was eggs, french toast stick, sausage, fruite etc. My husband had a corn flakes too! The staffs are very nice and friendly. Wifi works well so I did not have any problem using my iphone and computer!
We stayed for 4 days so we sure felt like we were going home everynight after the sightseeing!
I hope we can come back again. Thank you to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saki_8_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Astoria is a wonderful place, steeped in history, folklore and legends of a colorful past with a great deal of local pride. There is an air of mystery here and maybe even a sense of the unusual. Well, never mind maybe, but that is one of the draws for us. The Grandview fits right into our travel experience here! While the owner is elderly (and the reviewers who found this to be distasteful or a problem really don't belong here) we love that she checks people in, enjoys meeting her customers, and always has a sharp sense of wit. She leaves the other tasks to her staff. The rooms are always clean and the views are great from many of the rooms. Plus, talk about a deal! For the affordable prices, breakfast is also included which I have found to be the best breakfast offered by any B & B locally. The reason is the Josephsons Wine and Maple smoked salmon produced locally and served with toasted bagels. We bring our own non dairy cream cheese and it's never an issue. There is fresh fruit, and warm blueberry muffins as well as coffee or tea and some orange juice. The service is wonderful and friendly, we have had some great conversations with the staff who are always happy to chat if they have the time and you can request a special table for breakfast if you want to dine alone. While the house may need a little paint touch up or a few minor repairs, its an OLD HOUSE, people! The pillows were OK, but you can bring your own, and keep in mind that there are no tvs in the rooms and the reading material is limited as well. Coffee, tea and hot cocoa are available 24 hours as there is a hot pot in the room and cups, spoons and all you need set out on a sideboard near the kitchen. It is private and quiet and an authentic place if that is what you are seeking. We have stayed at other B & Bs in Astoria, and it just isn't the same for us, some of those innkeepers had a real attitude, especially about accommodating our dietary needs. The Gazebo, Treetops, Little Hummers and Cloud 9 rooms have the best view. We had a young raccoon curled up and sleeping on an upper balcony during the day, and spotted lots of deer in the yard. You can walk to downtown in about 3 minutes. So nice to slow down the pace for awhile and head to Astoria. This is a wonderful Victorian town and the Grandview is the perfect accompaniment for us. Thank you to all the staff and to Charlene, we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank originaloregongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenox, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Grandview April 2012. First of all the owner (Charleen) is not
too OLD. She was genuinely nice and very helpful we felt welcome (even though we have different last names). The House has not been updated in a very long time however it is very clean, great location, great price. Our room was large, clean, quiet and we sleep well all three nights.
The breakfast was good,excelent lox the lst day, eggs the 2nd and so on. Table very
well set, staff nice and friendly.
If you are looking for a modest B&B in Astoria I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The B&B was very pretty when we drove up, but the owner made me almost change my mind about staying here. She is too old to be running a business and answered the door with her walker and wearing socks. She tried to be nice but it didn't come natural for her and I kept looking at my husband like "let's get out of here!" We ended up staying and fortunately not seeing her again, so it went ok after that. Our room was comfortable but not overly impressive. There were some repairs that were needed but probably appropriate for as old as it is. We did enjoy our breakfast and saw deer walking around the yard so that was a nice treat. The views were nice. They should have played music while having breakfast so it would not feel as uncomfortable and would have set a nicer atmosphere. I would not go back here as I was not overly impressed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We were especially delighted with the views,staff and breakfast.The mischievous ("I have been known to short sheet beds") inn keeper has a wicked wit
and seemed to enjoy teasing us with her remarks...The breakfast staff were also attentive but not intrusive....We brought our own pillows after reading reviews about the
exceedingly hard ("filled with gravel") house pillows.The double pillows however were soft
and although the mattress was firm it permitted a good nights sleep.The neighborhood was
far quieter than the hotel strip plus fellow B&B guests were very quiet after 10pm.Perhaps the absence of TVs and forbidden "intoxicants" also accounted for the welcome atmosphere...A short walk traversing the steep hill permits views of restored Victorian and historical homes..Although some did not like choice of lox I learned that the fish was chosen to honor history since the original owner was in the salmon fishing business.
This B&B is not for the humorless nor anal retentive but if you want a genuine Astoria
experience at a fair price I would highly recommend the Grandview B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
1.4 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#5 of 14 in Astoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Bed and Breakfast

Property: Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1574 Grand Ave, Astoria, OR 97103-3720
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing