We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took a chance based on positive reviews.”
Review of Motel 6 Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Astoria
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Took a chance based on positive reviews.”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

No. Don't. This is an older woodframe motel with no soundproofing between rooms. The floors creak horribly and you can hear every step of people above you and every time they turn on a faucet. If you must stay here, please be sure to purchase ear plugs. When I say the floors creak, I am not exaggerating. The floors on the first floor creak, the floors on the second floor creak. If you are on the first floor you can hear every step above you. Maybe that is why the front desk indicated that people were adamantly requesting second floor rooms. You will hear every door slam. The sign says AAA approved, but apparently they are deaf or have not stayed there. If I return to Astoria, I will stay elsewhere. If nothing else is available, I will drive in from somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shefftom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    48
    46
    15
    25
See reviews for
28
67
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
273 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

i found all motels in astoria to be very overpriced. i got the best rate at this motel though it was still too high for what you get. the room was large and clean, there was a fridge and microwave, tv had 70 channels. negatives: loud traffic noise, no views, in-room coffee was very nasty.
staff were very nice. so it's a decent place to stay if you want a lower rate and can stand traffic noise.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Arrived to find our room was not ready but they did accomodate us. The front staff was friendly but the room was shabby at best, I am not a picky person. For the cost of the room it was disappointing and don't expect any extras. The shampoo came in small tear open packages and there was no hair dryer, iron or ironing board and the room was small. Also it was Saturday and pool & sauna were closed. Overall disappointed but if you just need a bed & shower then it worked.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This is a good basic motel. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Our room overlooked a large warehouse of some kind, but we weren't expecting a scenic view.

The only negatives were the poor quality of the breakfast (avoid the pre-packaged danish pastries!) and the fact that the local bus company parked its vehicle by the motel oovernight and we were woken early Sunday morning when the first bus of the morning started its engine abut ten yards from our room.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the north end of the west wing. Those are the ones closest to the yard where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidInCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

When we first came into town, we stopped at a motel down the street from this one and after being told that a room for 2 adults for one night was going to be $199.00 before taxes we came across this one. Still a little expensive but a lot better in price than the other one. Older motel, rooms were clean. Right out the door you can see the Astoria Bridge which crosses into Washington. i couldn't find anything wrong with it at all. The people at the desk were nice and helpful. Cost of the room for two adults - $122.00. KFC one way from it (walking distance) and a Pig and stuff or something like that the other way, few blocks. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudinOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Rooms could be cleaner - extremely noisy location on main road and close to the bridge causing constant heavy traffic noise in rooms. Morning coffee and baked offering in office was never sufficient for all to receive - often just empty baskets remained.

Room Tip: Always seek reliable reviews before ever considering any activities and accommodations so as not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Astoria hotels

Chehalis, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed for the Astoria/Warrenton wine & seafood festival April 27th to the 29th and booked this motel 3 months out. If you want 5 stars and $350.00 a night charge go to the Cannery but for what it cost here I was extremely happy for a clean room, nice bed and extra towels and pillows. Excellent value for your dollar

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carsynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Astoria Crest Motel
Astoria Crest Motel
#6 of 14 in Astoria
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Columbia Inn
Columbia Inn
#12 of 14 in Astoria
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Astoria

Property: Motel 6 Astoria
Address: 288 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6200 (Formerly Astoria Dunes Motel)
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Astoria 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing