We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“astoria dunes, best motel on the road so far”
Review of Motel 6 Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Astoria
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“astoria dunes, best motel on the road so far”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

driving from spokane down to portland i stopped off here for 1 night, very clean and spacious (i got the smallest/cheapest room) good location and very friendly staff, i have stayed in 3 motels so far on my trip and this was not just better than the others it was miles better, you get alot of fleabag joints when just pulling in tired from driving but this place was very good, if heading to astoria or just passing through, for the money (i paid $70 for the night) im sure its the best in town, and the best between astoria and spokane

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    48
    46
    15
    24
See reviews for
28
67
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed here for over a week. I chose it because of its proximity to the harbor where I was working on my boat, and because it had a laundromat that I needed. I had a view room with king bed and it was very nice - large room, comfortable bed, fairly recently updated, with bar fridge and microwave. The staff was friendly, the view of the river and the bridge was quite good, and the price was reasonable. A one mile walk to historic downtown Astoria, along either the main road or the riverfront walkway. Unappealing "breakfast" in the small lobby included - but there is a great little coffee shop right across the street. Not sure why it receives so many unfavorable reviews - perhaps some of the rooms are not as nice as the one I had. For a roadside motel I thought it was very good, and it seems quite popular - throughout my stay it was busier than the other motels in the area. Ask for a view room with king bed and you should be satisfied.

Room Tip: View rooms with king bed are spacious and updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Could not believe that they allowed the hotel to accept guests while they were resurfacing the parking lot!!! We had made our reservations in advance and upon arrival that evening the hotel was full of paving equipment. The noise continued until dark and resumed promptly the next morning at daybreak. NO rest for the weary!! The breakfast area..as there was no seating..consisted of coffee , packaged danish,banana or apple. The whole visit was a nightmare.

Room Tip: Visit another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Astoria hotels

Boise
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed here two days and the room was clean, quiet and the staff very nice. Would recommend to anyone. Not too expensive and close to the Astoria walk. We used the jacuzzi and it was clean and well taken care of as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaisem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The outside look decent, close to downtown and view of the Astoria-Megler Bridge. Room was clean and useable, beds were very uncomfortable. Had to call office at 3am to complain of above a neighbor which was resolve quite quickly. Walls/Floor very thin. Price was very high due to being off season at the end of September. Wi-Fi was awful, didn’t work most/all of the time, just used my 4G on my cell phone and got better results. Breakfast was grab and go muffins/pastries along with banana and apple, the orange juice was horrible tasting. Not American Owned/Ran

Room Tip: Only view is the parking lot/road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMedTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mesa az
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Astoria is a quaint town on the Columbia River which prides itself as the site
of the movie "Goonies." The Dunes Hotel is a basic pet-friendly hotel on the
riverwalk, so it's an easy 15-minute walk with or without your dog to reach the
restaurant area. There are rooms with a view, but nothing special. A simple
coffee-and-muffins breakfast is included.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mesatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

We paid a decent amount to stay at this Motel. At first, we were greeted with cookies and a complimentary paper. Staff was nice, cookies and paper were supposed to be available daily, they were not. The room was small, TV wasn't working well, the microwave made an awful noise, the juice (@free very limited breakfast) was room temp and hot chocolate scalding hot (lid didn't fit well, came off and I got burned). The hot tub had an unusual color water. Overall lacking, disappointed at quality for cost.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodiegrl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Astoria Crest Motel
Astoria Crest Motel
#6 of 14 in Astoria
293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Columbia Inn
Columbia Inn
#12 of 14 in Astoria
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Astoria

Property: Motel 6 Astoria
Address: 288 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6200 (Formerly Astoria Dunes Motel)
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Astoria 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing