We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Motel 6 Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Astoria
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Golden, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Compared to everything else in downtown, this place was a great value.

Nice location; maybe 100 feet from the riverwalk. We didn't use the pool or hot tub, but they looked nice. Big room and nice bed. Decent bathroom and shower/bath.

The wifi was overtaxed and essentially unusable.

We would stay here again when we return to Astoria.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorNo303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    47
    45
    14
    22
See reviews for
27
63
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was one of the worst hotels we've ever stayed at. The location is near the marina, right under the bridge with a lot of traffic noise. Outside was dirty with no appeal. The room was dirty - stains on the rugs, bathroom not sanitary. The bedspreads look like they've been there for 100 years, and very dirty. The pool and laundry area also very dirty. During the night, there were people in the next room shouting at each other until 2:00 AM. Sounded like they were drunk. We called the front desk but no one answered. Eventually someone called us back to apologize and the noise stopped. Breakfast was a joke. Packaged danish pastry in cellophane and a coffee machine. The only good experience was our dinner at a very nice restaurant within 2 minutes walk on the marina. You could see the ships coming through the channel. That was the only plus about this stay. I would never go there again, or recommend it.

Room Tip: I don't think any room would be good at this hotel. It was dirty and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Queen_Boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Astoria hotels

Astoria oregon
Level 6 Contributor
1,707 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 726 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Good location and easy to get to. On the river walk easy to walk to town, good restaurants nearby. Dank pool and jacuzzi available. We opted for larger not river view room. View not worth it. We had a view of the bridge from the front door. The breakfast consisted of coffee and juice, hot chocolate a packaged roll and apple banana and orange selection.
We stayed in August Astorias very high season. Everything as busy as ever will be.
Return? Maybe
Recommend? Maybe

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Spent a night in this motel. The rooms are nothing special but were clean. The Internet is very weak and the breakfast is very basic. So don't expect too much. A plus is a very good restaurant that is in a 2 min walking distance. Considered it as overpriced for what I got.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Retep_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahuya, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Worst motel we have ever stayed at. We actually booked our trip through Expedia. Check-in was at 3. When we arrived about 2:45 we were told it would be a couple more hours due to they were upgrading TVs to 50" flT screens. We were fine with that. So we come back a couple hours later. Went I to our room only to see the same old TV. No problem. As I am sitting on the bed I scream at my husband "there's a freakin mouse" the mouse just sit there at the edge of the refrigerator. Fortunately we had our Jack Russell terrier that hunted him down. My husband was going to flush it and I told him no they probably won't believe us. So we go to the front desk and tell her that our dog just killed a mouse in the room. She says "really". I said yeah it's i. The trash can if you wanna see it. So she makes a phone call and tells the manager. So she says I can put you in a queen sized bed but it will be on the other side with a view of the river. I said awesome. She gives us a key to go look at it. Well she made it sound like she was upgrading us. We go to the room on the backside of the motel. It was on the bottom floor and our view was a tractor trailer parked in front of our window along with a back hoe. We go in the room and it reeked of cigarettes and burn holes in the chairs. We go back and I told her we would not take the room. We finally wound up on the 2nd floor in a smaller room and when you walked you would lose your balance because the floor sloped so bad. I called Expedia to see what I needed to do to check our to find another motel. Only to be told after they contacted the motel they would not refund our money for the other 2 days. The place is a dive and they are all about the mighty dollar and not making their customers happy. One would have thought they would have upgraded us but not the case. When checking out she asked how our stay was and i told her " we will never stay here again" I explained to her what happened and she said they checked the room out and they think the mouse ran In while the door was open. Regardless how the varmint got in there they should had have had better customer service and the manager should have come and spoke to us in person instead of on the phone. Then they went to go check the room before we got in our other room like we were lying.

HORRIBLE PLACE TO STAY.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this place to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylwood1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We booked this based on reviews on Yelp and Tripadvisor, knowing that traffic noise doesn't bother us so being directly under the bridge wasn't a problem. It wasn't, but the place while seemingly well kept, is definitely older and a little shabbier than we expected for the price. The concierge was great and overworked but efficient and friendly. A TV that wasn't functioning was fixed quickly. Our major concern was the construction: it's probably from the 60s and the balconies are concrete and steel. They reverberate badly when anyone walks on them; listening to kids next door run up and down was torture, which thankfully stopped at about 10 (to be honest, I think Astoria shuts down at 10. It went silent except for the traffic.) Also, while we were on the top floor, the building is such that we could hear the neighbor below us walking as if he was above us, complete with minor room shaking and that booming noise you get from heavy-footed walkers. Wow. So if you have issues with neighbor noise, consider something built more solidly. l Otherwise, it filled the need for a place to stay and if it wasn't sparklingly new and shiny, it wasn't dirty and everything functioned. And while it's down on the end of things by the bridge, the riverwalk is literally behind the motel so you can walk to town in about 10 minutes along the waterfront. Given the area, I might not try it after dark/alone but during daylight, it's perfectly fine.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to traffic, don't even stay here. If you must, try for the far end away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable. The motel was quiet although it is located on a busy highway and it was a very busy weekend in Astoria. The breakfast was prepackaged baking but still acceptable. We were happy to find laundry facilities on site and the pool looked good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Astoria Crest Motel
Astoria Crest Motel
#6 of 14 in Astoria
284 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Astoria

Property: Motel 6 Astoria
Address: 288 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6200 (Formerly Astoria Dunes Motel)
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Astoria 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing