We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Norblad Hotel And Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Elliott(Astoria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columbia Inn(Astoria)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atomic Motel(Astoria)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
42
31
10
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
31
10
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomlocation is greatbring earplugsbed was comfortablehistoric hotelother guestswould stay againsinklaundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at the Norblad Hotel/Hostel (previously called the HideAway) because we couldn't get a room at their "sister" hotel, the Commodore. Honestly, I'm glad I didn't spend the extra money for the Commodore. The Norblad is on the same street and right across from a fantastic brewery (Fort George Brewery). We loved our room. It was very big, clean, had beautiful hardwood floors and a nice little table/chairs area for having coffee. Great simple, modern decor. We had a corner room, so it got great light.

The bathrooms were plentiful and clean. There were bathrooms with just a toilet and sink, and other rooms with just a shower. When you had either room, it was all yours. There was also a coin-op laundry room. There were no refrigerators available as far as I could tell, and no ice. The wireless connection from the hotel was spotty, but I was able to get onto some other wireless network with no problem. Previous reviews mentioned noise. We could hear other guests coming and going, and a bit of traffic noise from the street, but we weren't bothered by it. I guess the traffic noise could be much worse on a weekday -- we stayed on a Saturday night. Parking on the street was free after 6 p.m., and we got a spot right out front.

The woman who checked us in, Debbie, was above-and-beyond helpful. She had lots of recommendations of where to eat, and steered us in the perfect direction by suggesting the Fort George Brewery. After we checked in, there was a group of travelers there trying to get a room. Even though the Norblad was booked, Debbie called around to other hotels for them to try to find them an affordable room somewhere else.

We would definitely stay here again, and wished we could have spent more time exploring Astoria. Seemed like a great town with a lot of cool stuff going on.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KD_Spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I believe the Norblad is undergoing a complete renovation in 2013. We stayed in a newly renovated suite room. The Norblad is a bit of a hostel/shared facilities place with some private rooms that have their own bathroom. That said everything was very clean. Things were a little bit on the spartan side but I attribute that to the fact that our room only became 'finished' a week or so prior. But even so, if it were to remain as spartan I think it goes with the type of lodging it is. The bed was comfy and the covers and comforter very soft and plush. Shower was nice overhead type rain-shower style for a person under 6'. Wood floor was nice, TV had full cable channels. Given it is right next to Ft. George brewery it is an excellent spot. Our room had a view to see the river and bridge actually, looking out across the tops of other buildings. I think it was an excellent value. The front desk person was also very helpful and cheerful.

I cannot speak to how the shared facilities are or how it may be if there were other people there and how their behavior would be with shared accommodations but that is a challenge as one drunk or loud person can be a bad apple that the staff will have to manage.

This would be a great place for people looking to crash after an event at Forge George Brewery, who were on a bike or hike trip looking for cheaper accommodations and to do laundry or other things like that. Probably would not consider it a specifically good place for a family to stay but you could. There was some street noise but it tailed off around midnight. But I believe the hotel discloses this as a potential issue when you book--its just part of staying there as they cannot be responsible for drunk people being loud out on the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a private suite.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cascadeswater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Showed up with my bicycle. They gladly gave me a room at a decent price. Room was good(comfy bed, tv, refrigerator). The problems arose as the sun went down. Quiet hours were not enforced and many guests were drunk and hollering in the halls well into the night. The kitchen also had few or any cookware.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runcdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We are long-distance cycle tourists and this hotel (now called Norblad) is great for backpackers and cyclists. There is a kitchen, a locked room in which you can store your bikes, a laundry on site, good clean shower, a fairly spacious bedroom and the price is good.

Don't be put off by the fact that you have to carry your bike up just 1 flight of stairs; the locked upboard is right there on the landing, and I don't think you could do better than this hotel when travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RogDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

When we got to the address of the Astoria Hideaway Hotel we found a hotel named The Norblad. They had our reservations, so perhaps there has been a name change along the way(?). This place definitely has a hostel feel to it. It's a place you can find a tattooed and pierced young man talking to guy visiting from Europe. Many rooms you have to share a bedroom and a bathroom, but there are four rooms that have a private bath and two that share a bath. We stayed in the York room, which had a private bath, refrigerator, sofa, air purifier, and TV. I didn't see any AC, but when we were there, opening a window was all we needed. There were no screens, but the blinds kept out any bugs.

The hotel had a community feel to it and we found it was quieter than expected, the sheets and towels were clean, and the bed was soft.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NPS_Tumbleweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews