We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful park area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clatsop Spit

Ranked #16 of 44 things to do in Astoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The point at which the Columbia River meets the Pacific Ocean.
Cranbrook
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful park area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We drove out to the end of the spit as far as we could go. Went down to the beach, saw whales just offshore, saw bull elk and deer in this park. Happy that we took the drive out there, well worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary-jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot to View the Graveyard of the Pacific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

A perfect natural area at Fort Steven's State Park. This is an easy access area with multiple beaches and views.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MiaAmica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
268 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Awesome views of the South Jetty...bring your Camera..!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

When visiting Astoria, one of our first stops is the Clatsop Spit and the Viewing Platform erected by the Coast Guard, I believe.

We have been there when the sun is out and when the weather has been really nasty. The views are forever changing and you get a real feel for what Mother Nature can do and what a feat it was to built the South Jetty. Or..the North Jetty for that matter.

The platform might shake and sway in a bad storm, but...unless you're prone to seasickness you should be OK...!!

You can see the "bar" from the platform, but a better spot to watch the ship traffic entering the Columbia might be from where you find the salmon fishermen. If memory serves me correctly, you take a left on the first side road after leaving the viewing platform. I think there might be some signage.

As a footnote, it's not a good idea to go climbing on the rocks and boulders that make up the South Jetty...especially if the weather is bad. I can guarantee you that you don't want to be swept in to the ocean...!! That would be bad news.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fishing at the Spit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We enjoyed walking along the sandy beach, although the wind was strong. We saw many fishermen, hoping to catch a salmon or other fish as the tide came in.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 818Kathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,611 reviews
1,088 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,302 helpful votes
“The wild Columbia...easy to see why”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

After viewing the ship wreck at Ft Stevens we ventured a short distance to the viewing platform for the Clatsop Spit. Having just returned from a visit to Cape Disappointment on the WA side, it was a treat to see the Columbia from the Astoria side. Wind was howling and the mist prevented pictures, but it was a sight to see and worth the trip. Waves crashing into the shore even at low tide. I can only imagine what it ti like under the same conditions with a strong high tide.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clatsop Spit also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Clatsop Spit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing