We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Funky, Clean Euro-style Hotel In Wonderful Astoria”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed for the first time at the Commodore Hotel for the Fisher Poet's Gathering. We normally stay at the Hotel Elliott but wanted to give Commodore a try and we're glad we did.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DreamJobGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2011

We loved the Commodore Hotel. The attention to every little detail, from the high-quality bath amenities to the amazing interior design, was genuinely surprising. Someone cares very much about this hotel. Michael, the on-site manager, couldn't have been more hospitable.

You should know before going that this is an inn, and not a full-service hotel, so there's no room service, but that shouldn't be a problem given the wealth of great restaurants in walking distance. Also, there's no parking lot: overnight parking is on-street (and getting a spot directly in front of the hotel is almost guaranteed), but you'll need to move your car around during the day to comply with parking regulations.

Also--room 309 has a great view of the bay. Finally, the cafe downstairs has good coffee and tasty breakfasts.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben_from_Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This old former boarding house has recently been renovated and repurposed as a small hotel. Don't be put off by the rather drab exterior. The renovation has preserved and refinished much of the old building's original woodwork - floors, window frames, and doors, as well as the original door hardware. You actually need a real key (metal - remember those?) to get into your room. Also preserved are the steam radiators, which have been updated, worked well, and were surprisingly easy to regulate.

Another touch of historical accuracy - some rooms are ensuite, but many use common baths/showers located down the hall. We found these common facilities to be neat and clean, with locks for privacy. Be sure to specifiy which type room you want when reserving.

The room rate includes free wifi access. There's a coffee shop on street level, with its own free wifi. We used both networks. Log-in was simple, and the connections were consistent and reliable. Overnight parking is available on the street for free. On most days, however, you have to start feeding the meter mid-morning, which could be an annoyance for anyone staying more than one night.

The hotel's location has much to commend it, being less than a city block from the riverfront, trolley, and river walk. The Maritime Museum and numerous nice restaurants are within easy walking distance.

This otherwise fascinating historical building does have one downside. Our room was on the front, second floor, and had three windows, all facing onto the street. The hotel is located on a major thoroughfare, and street noise was significant during the day. It quieted down at night, and we were able to get a decent night's sleep, but it started to become noticable again about 6:00 am. If you are a light (or late) sleeper, you may want to request a room at the back or side. We didn't notice any of the internal noise others have complained about, but we were also there on a weeknight when occupancy was quite sparse.

All in all, a nice hotel, very reasonably priced, with many features that will leave you just a bit nostalgic. Unfortunately, the renovation has preserved one feature that is surely historically accurate but won't be so appreciated - the street noise. Maybe a little discrete soundproofing...

Room Tip: Ask for side or back & ensuite if you want it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaRoadWarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

It is unfortunate to say, that this lovely hotel is made horrible by all of the noise. The inside rooms have windows into a light well, which gathers and amplifies any noise from the other occupants. The night I stayed, I could not sleep at all because of one couple watching movies late into the night and laughing loudly. If it wasnt them keeping me up, it would have been all of the other noises from people in the hall or the doors slamming themselves shut. This is not a hotel to get ANY sleep. I would way rather be somewhere dingy and quiet, or thrice the price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

This is a well updated old hotel! Has the old school charm with new updates and very hip decor!!! Marble bathhroom with a shower head that fits me at 6'5"! wifi, flat screen tv. old windows, doors, floors.... hip lobby great coffee shop with good food + beer and wine! Some people say its loud and yes it might be since it has the old windows still but the class and helpfullness of the staff is un matched!!!!! will come back again and again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonNative2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We only stayed one night but had an absolutely brilliant stay! The web site mentioned a noise issue from the road outside of the room we were staying in......we didn't have a problem and slept the whole night. The bed was SO comfortable! The hotel staff were really helpful and recommended some great places to eat. We loved Astoria and loved staying at The Commodore Hotel.....it will definitely become our Astoria place to stay :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryFoster285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

The Commodore is well located in the centre of Astoria. The building has a classic look and feel with a very recent, but cool and well done, restoration. The lobby is funky and the rooms are very nicely decorated, with hardwood floors, antique fixtures and fully tiled bathrooms. Free internet and an ipod dock in the room.

Front desk staff was excellent, with good recommendations on free DVDs to borrow and where to eat. The attached cafe was excellent for coffee and light breakfast in the morning.

Rooms that face the main street are loud, but this is very clearly described when booking on the website.

I would definitely stay at the Commodore again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radioflyer0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#7 of 14 in Astoria
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Norblad Hotel And Hostel
Norblad Hotel And Hostel
#11 of 14 in Astoria
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
767 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 258 14th St, Astoria, OR
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range: £38 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Astoria Downtown Historic District, the Commodore Hotel occupies the 1925 Lewis Building, designed by John E. Wicks, Astoria's most influential architect. The hotel operated from 1925 until 1968, first as the Barton Inn Hotel and then as the Commodore. Shuttered for 40 years, the Commodore reopened in 2009 after an extraordinary renovation. Retaining the original doors, windows, woodwork, and fixtures-all meticulously rehabilitated-the Commodore is now a shining example of the highest standards of contemporary design and construction. The Commodore shares the historic Lewis Building with the legendary Street 14 Coffee, which you can enter directly from the lobby. Downtown Astoria is overflowing with sensory delights-dining, shopping, hiking and more are at your fingertips. Take a romantic stroll along the scenic Riverwalk. Take a ride on the Riverfront Trolley. Take a swim at the Aquatic Center. As our guest, you have access to a curated selection of films available on DVD from the front desk. Watch Goonies in the town where it was filmed. Spend a blustery night curled up with Chinatown or Magnolia. Put together a personal film festival by choosing from over 100 available titles ranging from 3 Days of the Condor to The X-Files. The Commodore understands the importance of sustainable and Earth-friendly business practices. We recycle-and we encourage our guests to do the same-and the hotel is kept sparkling with eco-safe cleaning products. Our commitment to sustainability is recognized by the Travel Oregon Forever Network. Free parking is readily available within a few blocks. Short-term street parking in front of the hotel is usually an option for check-in. The front desk can guide you to long-term parking near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing