We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Renovation”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This downtown Astoria hotel was recently reopened after a thorough and excellent renovation: the dark woods, which gave the hotel a warmthlacking in many modern establishments were preserved along with a tastefully decorated entrance foyer. The rooms were similarly well decorated, the bed comfortable and the bathroom spacious. The web site advised that our room # 305 facing the main street was somewhat loud: those who sleep less soundly should reserve another. The staff was welcoming and helpful. We found dining and breakfast options within a short walking distance from the hotel. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GermanyNeedtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

We met the owners of the Commodore while on a summer vacation, took a tour of the hotel and decided to stay for the Thanksgiving holiday. Our room was on the 3rd fl corner room, over the Intersection of traffic below. It was a noise we expected, so no problem. The staff was friendly and the lobby was a nice place to sit near the fireplace and read. The coffee shop next door was closed for the holiday, made for a quiet time. The room was warm/clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, small...very small room with clean modern shower/toilet down the hall. Book an in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady58_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Lovely restored hotel located downtown and near restaurants and maritime museum. Room small but nice with comfortable bed and sink.Shared bathroom and showers clean. Friendly employees and good service. Some street noise but primarily in morning as traffic increased - not more than would expect for a downtown hotel. No parking available at hotel but can park from 4pm to 11am in 2 hour limit street parking near hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank houstonkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Excellent idea; hotel rooms with shared bathroom and showers, no breakfast and no extra (often not used) services, but very nice rooms and facilities, for a good price. Everything at the hotel is very new and fresh, including toilet and showers (very nice!). In your room, you'll find a comfy bed, a big TV and a sink. All you need, really.
Next to the hotel there's a nice café where you can get breakfast.
And don't miss the Fort George Brewery one block form the hotel.
Do miss staying in Seaside - it's a circus, filled with bad taste greasy restaurants and slot machines. No thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin_B_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Loved the way the hotel has taken a historic property and brought it up to date! Love the simple furnishings-love the flat screens,DVD's you can borrow from the front desk,simple polished and comfortable!
We stayed in a suite-so we had our own bathroom and sitting area.
Coffee house on the first floor is great! Wish they stayed open past 7pm or.. a selection of sweets was then made available for purchase in the front lobby.. in a pretty covered glass dish or something .. just a suggestion..

Parking is on the street-and you do hear the sounds of the city but we did not mind it too much...

Lots of plug ins-easy to get phones,cameras, computers re-charged. Could walk to the water- wish we had known the trolley stopped at 7pm.. but not a bad walk back from dinner.

Plain wood floor-everything felt very clean and modern yet with a respect to the heritage and history of the building and hotel! Would love to return and stay again!

Room Tip: If noise is an issue-bring ear plugs.. this is a city hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BackRoadsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

A great hotel well located in the centre of this small town. We stayed in a large room on 2nd floor with a bathroom. The room was a good size and very well decorated and put together. Even the rooms without a bathroom looked fine as well. The noise is a little more than you would normally expect.

The staff are friendly and the coffee shop within the hotel is good for a drink/breakfast.

Make sure you visit the Goonies house if you are that way inclined but don't miss the viewing tower on the hill - great views over the Columbia mouth and beyond !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claphamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed in a "cabin" room on the third floor. It is the cheapest room they offer. While the room was small, it fit our needs perfectly (not in room much, not traveling with children). There is a sink in the room, a comfortable (full-size, though) bed and a small TV. The hotel offers a selection of DVDs to use for free also. The bathrooms were always clean, and although the hotel seemed full, the bathrooms were always available. We stayed on the third floor on the side of the building away from the road. Despite some of the other reviews regarding noise, we never had a problem with road noise. The walls are thin however, and other guests (and their children) were somewhat noisy very early in the morning, which is why I am rating the sleep quality lower.

Pros: Clean, comfortable, and centrally located to many restaurants and attractions in downtown Astoria

Cons: Small bed, noise from other guests, free wi-fi didn't really work in our room on the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: Get a room facing 14th street or one on the backside of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#7 of 14 in Astoria
401 reviews
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
757 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 258 14th St, Astoria, OR
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range: £65 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Astoria Downtown Historic District, the Commodore Hotel occupies the 1925 Lewis Building, designed by John E. Wicks, Astoria's most influential architect. The hotel operated from 1925 until 1968, first as the Barton Inn Hotel and then as the Commodore. Shuttered for 40 years, the Commodore reopened in 2009 after an extraordinary renovation. Retaining the original doors, windows, woodwork, and fixtures-all meticulously rehabilitated-the Commodore is now a shining example of the highest standards of contemporary design and construction. The Commodore shares the historic Lewis Building with the legendary Street 14 Coffee, which you can enter directly from the lobby. Downtown Astoria is overflowing with sensory delights-dining, shopping, hiking and more are at your fingertips. Take a romantic stroll along the scenic Riverwalk. Take a ride on the Riverfront Trolley. Take a swim at the Aquatic Center. As our guest, you have access to a curated selection of films available on DVD from the front desk. Watch Goonies in the town where it was filmed. Spend a blustery night curled up with Chinatown or Magnolia. Put together a personal film festival by choosing from over 100 available titles ranging from 3 Days of the Condor to The X-Files. The Commodore understands the importance of sustainable and Earth-friendly business practices. We recycle-and we encourage our guests to do the same-and the hotel is kept sparkling with eco-safe cleaning products. Our commitment to sustainability is recognized by the Travel Oregon Forever Network. Free parking is readily available within a few blocks. Short-term street parking in front of the hotel is usually an option for check-in. The front desk can guide you to long-term parking near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing