We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Astoria is small so Commodore Hotel was not hard to find. The staff allowed us to check the different rooms before we made a decision if we wanted to book one.

We love the retro-modern design of the entire place. Rooms and common washrooms/showers rooms were VERY clean. Space and amenities inside our Deluxe Cabin were just right for a one-night stay. The bed was comfortable but with single-pane windows, the noise from the trucks and cars passing through the main streets did bother us throughout the night. Light sleepers might opt to book a Cabin room located at the back of the hotel (with windows facing out to a wall). The shared bathrooms were not an issue although the hotel was not busy during our stay. Shower rooms have seating/changing areas so you don't have to worry about your clothes getting wet.

We had a lovely breakfast at the bright, airy, and homey cafe - Street 14 Coffee - attached to the hotel. Good food choices and they serve Stumptown Coffee. There is also a Safeway store/gas station along the main street if you need other essentials (the grocery is open until 1am).

The reception staff - both in the evening and morning - were welcoming and helpful. This place is recommended for travellers who want to experience a bit of vintage charm but don't mind staying in a hotel with very basic (albeit modern) amenities.

Room Tip: Rooms do not seem to have air-conditioning but the hotel can lend you electric fans. They can also p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salagubang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at The Commodore for one night and loved it! I wish we could have stayed longer. It's a charming historic building right in the heart of Astoria, and it's been updated impeccably. The decor is modern-nautical and the whole place is absolutely immaculately clean. We had a sink in our room, and on our floor were two shared WCs and one shower room (private - one person only). I could see the shared shower being an issue if the hotel was full and you had to be somewhere a certain time. For us, though, every time we needed the WC or a shower we didn't have to wait at all.

The woman working reception was great. We had to call because we were running late (ended up checking in about 8:45). Check in was a snap and she gave us clear direction on our parking options. The lobby is awesome, I wish we could have lounged around there reading for a day. In the morning, they open up a big garage door in the lobby to the awesome coffee shop on the other side. Not only is that a super cool thing to do, but we consequently woke up to the smell of coffee and pastries!

The only drawback for us was that the night we were there there was a group of people who stayed up partying ALL night. We had our window open to sleep more comfortably (no AC/in August - not hot but we needed some air flow). They were a small group but crazy loud and the party didn't stop until about 630 AM - ending with a grand finale of some guy barfing for ten minutes. I kind of couldn't believe they were guests at the hotel because surely they would have been asked to quiet down, so maybe they were tenants of the building next door? Who knows, but I doubt that's a regular thing.

Overall, The Commodore will be our forever spot in Astoria. Such a cool little place!!

Room Tip: I think rooms facing the street would be quieter since there is no traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alouisemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I would go out of my way to stay at this hotel again! It's beautiful, clean, comfy, very vintage fancy, super great staff and a delicious independent coffee shop downstairs! Great location and VERY low priced! Do IT!

Room Tip: The higher, the quieter. Stay far from bathrooms if hotel is full, for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My girlfriend and I took a road trip from Victoria BC down to Disneyland in Anaheim, all along the 101 scenic highway. Astoria turned out to be a good stopping point on our first driving day. I saw it online and thought it looked cute, clean, and cheap, so we went for it. The woman working the front desk (who said she was knew) was absolutely awesome. She ran up and down the stairs several times grabbing different keys to show us tons of different rooms and see which we would like. We went with the simple 1-bed room with the private shared bathroom for the whole floor. The room had really neat decor (so did the rest of the place), and was extremely clean, probably very recently renovated. Small, but all we needed. They managed to actually make it feel cozy and intimate rather than just squeezed and cramped. The shared private bathrooms and shower were really not at all the problem I thought they might be, though I admit the hotel was not very busy while we stayed. The great lady working the front desk recommended a local Brewery for dinner, which we loved as well. I had a great coffee before heading out in the morning in the great coffeeshop attached to the lobby. The only thing I didn't like about this place was that we didn't have time to stay there on our way back!

Room Tip: The lady on the front desk told us that the road is a main logging road, so try to stay away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LojiQaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Quite a few reviewers here have summed this place up pretty well. So Ill try to keep it somewhat brief. If youre a traveler/vacationer who needs amenities, this aint the place for you. Yes, there is a telephone, Wi-Fi, a TV w/DVD, even an iPod docking station, and hair dryers upon request. However, the rooms do not have refrigerators, microwaves or coffee makers. Ice can be scrounged up from the adjoining coffee shop but there is no ice machine, so if its after 6PM (when the coffee shop closes) youre on your own. We stayed in one of the larger rooms, so there was a couch and coffee table, which fills in for the usual dining room table and chairs, but none of the rooms have dressers. There is a small closet with a shelf up top and a small valet, which, if you hang anything in the closet, becomes useless. I mention these things because they are practicalities that everyone should be aware of and consider. As far as how we enjoyed our stay? This is a lovely vintage hotel, beautifully restored with an eye towards keeping everything original. The eye to detail is admirable and none of its charms were lost on us. If cleanliness is important to you then you will be at home here, our room was one of the cleanest I have ever stayed at. The 'sunflower' style showerhead comes down from the ceiling, so if youre tall like I am, you dont have to deal with hunching down to wet your face, a nice change from what I usually go through. Our bed was very comfortable and the goose down comforter was just what the doctor ordered. OK, the noise. Yes, if you stay in one of these corners room with the 4 large, original, uninsulated windows you are gonna be in for a theater of noise in the AM. Again, if youre noise sensitive or a light sleeper you might want to book elsewhere. We personally were out late drinking and it didnt really bother us that much, it actually kind of added to the charm. But thats just us.
Well, that about sums it up. If youre an easy going kind of traveler who appreciates historical type venues and doesnt mind their limitations, then I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: 306 has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrexlerMcStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The Commodore is a great place to stay, as long as you understand what they're offering. The rooms in this re-done old walkup workman's hotel are simple, small, and tasteful in a contemporary way. Most are "European", which means the bath and shower are down the hall. Everything it very clean and tidy, so if this is an issue for you ... it's your issue.

We've stayed in both a small "cabin" room as well as a larger, corner full-size room with en-suite bath. When we do it again, we'll go back to the small room. Astoria is a town to get out and wander around, not sit in a room. The room is a clean, tidy place to sleep. If this works for you, you'll be happy with how nice the place is for the price.

The service was very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful on both visits.

Room Tip: Street side rooms have views, and will also be a bit noisy on weekends. You are downtown, and this t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoamingTechDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at the Commodore . We and really loved it. Joshua at the front desk was very helpful, and personable with our questions, concerns and undecided dinner plans. The 1925 building had been closed in 1965, and reopened and restored in 1998 by the three owners. There are pictures through out the hotel of actual scenes from the moment it reopened. No one knows why the original owner that closed it down in 1965 left everything behind., There was clothes,magazines, beds and furniture left in every room.
The remodel is incredible , and the dark wood floors, stairways, and rooms all reflect a nice old fashion modern day flare. The rooms are warm, wifi throughout the hotel and coffee shop that is joined with it. The coffee shop is open until 6pm, it is called Street 14 coffee. I had an Americana with whip cream upon arrival , but ended up sleeping for two hours the moment I laid on my bed which has really nice pure white comforter and 2 soft pillows that were heaven sent in my room. The showers have the larger water fall sprout and includes the towels for shower to face , with shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. If you are wanting a blow drier the front desk will get one for you.
I love the art mosaic in the lobby , it is above a real fireplace, and has books, rocks,particles from here and there, and the books actually can be removed , so you can sit by the large sitting area , that is cozy and open spaced , read a book , listen to the music that is not to loud or disturbing, or jump on your lap top while sipping a mocha, tea or water. It is also a great place to visit other guests , workers or just finish some needed paper work.

We took one of Joshua's suggestions and went to the Colombian Theater, and had pizza from Voo Doo, while watching a not so good film but the pizza was good . ( kind of wish it had pizza sauce on it) We ordered the number 8, and it was okay but think it lacked with taste and did not care to much for the pizza crust. Since it was Sunday night, there was not a lot of stores or restaurants open. But they do have another theater over toward Safeway that has regular movies showing.

We both love Astoria, and this is our third visit here. Out of all the places we have stayed at when visiting Astoria , Commodore hotel is number 1 in our books. It is safe, clean , friendly and really does help to have staff members like Joshua to make it extra enjoyable while visiting a place ,away from home.

Thanks to everyone in the Coffee Shop and Commodore , for a wonderful welcoming and peaceful stay. We will be back soon.

Sincerely , Jen

Room Tip: I am not sure why there was complaints on the noise from the roads, because I slept until 9am. I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#6 of 14 in Astoria
400 reviews
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
757 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,238 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 258 14th St, Astoria, OR
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range: £65 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Astoria Downtown Historic District, the Commodore Hotel occupies the 1925 Lewis Building, designed by John E. Wicks, Astoria's most influential architect. The hotel operated from 1925 until 1968, first as the Barton Inn Hotel and then as the Commodore. Shuttered for 40 years, the Commodore reopened in 2009 after an extraordinary renovation. Retaining the original doors, windows, woodwork, and fixtures-all meticulously rehabilitated-the Commodore is now a shining example of the highest standards of contemporary design and construction. The Commodore shares the historic Lewis Building with the legendary Street 14 Coffee, which you can enter directly from the lobby. Downtown Astoria is overflowing with sensory delights-dining, shopping, hiking and more are at your fingertips. Take a romantic stroll along the scenic Riverwalk. Take a ride on the Riverfront Trolley. Take a swim at the Aquatic Center. As our guest, you have access to a curated selection of films available on DVD from the front desk. Watch Goonies in the town where it was filmed. Spend a blustery night curled up with Chinatown or Magnolia. Put together a personal film festival by choosing from over 100 available titles ranging from 3 Days of the Condor to The X-Files. The Commodore understands the importance of sustainable and Earth-friendly business practices. We recycle-and we encourage our guests to do the same-and the hotel is kept sparkling with eco-safe cleaning products. Our commitment to sustainability is recognized by the Travel Oregon Forever Network. Free parking is readily available within a few blocks. Short-term street parking in front of the hotel is usually an option for check-in. The front desk can guide you to long-term parking near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing