We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy and cheap”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Loved this place. Recommended by my brother who had cycled through and stayed in one of the shared-bathroom rooms - I instead booked one of the larger, en suite rooms. It was really cheap and great! Whoever designed this place had *great* taste - simple but very cool. The guy who checked me in was very friendly and fun, and they are attached to Street 14 coffee which is a super location for breakfast. Definitely the place to stay in Astoria!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank BostonianBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

My honey was quite dubious when I told him I found a hotel in Astoria that we'd be staying at - and we'd be sharing bathroom facilities with other guests.

You see, neither of us has a lot of experience with lodging that includes shared facilities. But, the price was right and the reviews indicated that it was clean and so we went for it.

From the moment we walked in and met Michael who greeted us so warmly and willingly answered our questions about the hotel's history to the awesomely original yet updated rooms, we were taken in.

The location is great, the attached coffee house is also a gem. The people were so nice and the cleanlines so superior that we went from what stared as an unsure experience to a great one that we'd definitely consider doing again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed one night & were surprised by the excellent upgrades in this remodeled hotel. Very funky on outside, but room (suite) was large & bathroom fixtures were excellent. A little pricey but staff was friendly & recommended great restaurants that we could walk to for dinner. Nice to have coffee shop right downstairs off the lobby. I would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty6-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I really, really wanted to like this funky little hotel, but it fell short in a few important areas.

The hotel certainly has it's charms. It's an old, historic-feeling building, with some nice modern amenities. The location is convenient to the riverfront, trolley, and area restaurants.

However, for the price we paid (for our top-floor room with a private bath), it didn't measure up to other places we stayed on our trip. Service was just "OK" (the desk attendant didn't really have any recommendations for places to eat or have a drink nearby). The noise from the streets below is constant. Luckily, the bathroom fan was loud enough to drown out all but the big trucks and Harley riders. We had a partial view of the riverfront a couple of blocks away -- partially blocked by what appears to be someone's apartment unit(?) No iron or ironing board in the room, nor was there much in the way of information about Astoria, or even about the hotel itself.

For around $100 the Commodore might warrant consideration of another stay the next time we're in Astoria. For what we paid? I'm afraid it just wasn't worth it...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottV95691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Friendly staff, good location. Astoria may not hold you too long, but nice to be so central. Only negative was the traffic noise on Commercial Street, trucks, and guys with no way to feel important except by riding loud motorcycles. Room-to-room noise wasn't an issue for us. Decent coffee shop right downstairs.

Room Tip: Avoid anything right on Commercial Street
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pleasantguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed for one night in a 'cabin' room #204. Great little room and fine for two people as we were only there to sleep and get ready in the morning before departing. The rooms and shared WC and showers are very clean and nicely designed. Not for the luxury seeking traveller but with super friendly staff and a great local we'll be back. Tip for travellers - bring earplugs, although they are supplied as well. Noise could be a problem as others have said however we hit it lucky and didn't have any issues as others have noted. Tried to stay on the way back too but it was booked but we'd for sure book ahead next time when travelling through Astoria.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard or interior of the building to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamisCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Many reviewers discuss how the Commodore Hotel is unique with an exceptionally friendly staff. That is all true. I had a single room for three June nights. Yes, the bathrooms and shower are down the hall, but they are kept clean and there is not so much traffic that you wait to use them. A single cabin is cozy for one person. It would be claustrophobic for two. But you shouldn't be spending much time in the room because Astoria is a great town to explore. Be forewarned: You will hear everything taking place in your neighbors' rooms and vice versa. The walls are like rice paper. I was treated to a When Harry Met Sally restaurant scene one morning. And then another morning I forgot to turn off the alarm before catching a shower. Neighbors endured the IPhone dog barking alarm for 15 minutes. Oops.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlaskaKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#7 of 14 in Astoria
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Norblad Hotel And Hostel
Norblad Hotel And Hostel
#11 of 14 in Astoria
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 258 14th St, Astoria, OR
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range: £38 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Astoria Downtown Historic District, the Commodore Hotel occupies the 1925 Lewis Building, designed by John E. Wicks, Astoria's most influential architect. The hotel operated from 1925 until 1968, first as the Barton Inn Hotel and then as the Commodore. Shuttered for 40 years, the Commodore reopened in 2009 after an extraordinary renovation. Retaining the original doors, windows, woodwork, and fixtures-all meticulously rehabilitated-the Commodore is now a shining example of the highest standards of contemporary design and construction. The Commodore shares the historic Lewis Building with the legendary Street 14 Coffee, which you can enter directly from the lobby. Downtown Astoria is overflowing with sensory delights-dining, shopping, hiking and more are at your fingertips. Take a romantic stroll along the scenic Riverwalk. Take a ride on the Riverfront Trolley. Take a swim at the Aquatic Center. As our guest, you have access to a curated selection of films available on DVD from the front desk. Watch Goonies in the town where it was filmed. Spend a blustery night curled up with Chinatown or Magnolia. Put together a personal film festival by choosing from over 100 available titles ranging from 3 Days of the Condor to The X-Files. The Commodore understands the importance of sustainable and Earth-friendly business practices. We recycle-and we encourage our guests to do the same-and the hotel is kept sparkling with eco-safe cleaning products. Our commitment to sustainability is recognized by the Travel Oregon Forever Network. Free parking is readily available within a few blocks. Short-term street parking in front of the hotel is usually an option for check-in. The front desk can guide you to long-term parking near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing