We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I love the Commodore so much! We stayed here four years ago when we were a new couple, and then made sure it was a stop on our honeymoon last August. The hotel has the most amazing mix of modern/antique/indie that it keeps drawing us back. The front desk people are all so friendly and accommodating.
The first time we stayed we had regular room on the interior. It was very clean and quiet. The window pushed out to a view of another building, but the bonus is that is was very quiet. The bathrooms down the hall are very private and clean. Absolutely no complaints.
The second stay was not as great, but we still had the best time. We had a larger room with a private bathroom. It was very clean and comfortable. The room had the original weighted case windows. I thought they were charming when we arrived. The next morning at about 5am, the garbage truck came by and woke us up. Then traffic started, and another garbage truck came by. What a way to wake up on our first night of our honeymoon!!!

The attached coffee shop is awesome, and the décor is unique and fantastic. Despite the early wake up, we still love the Commodore.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the interior of the hotel if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ania_joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

I recently stayed a couple nights at the Commodore Hotel and I really loved the experience. The sense of style is fresh and strong, and it all fits together so well. Lovely lobby with a fabulous Coffee Shop connected. The Stumptown coffee is so so good. Really comfortable and attractive with a great Pacific Northwest vibe.

The front desk people were very friendly and efficient,. Very easy check-in and out.

I just LOVED the room. I was in one of the deluxe cabins, and it was so clean and pretty. The sheets are beautiful and the bed is extremely comfortable. It was sort of luxurious but very simple. I did not find the noise a problem at all, and I had a wonderful window that I opened quite a bit. I loved that feeling of being downtown Astoria, but really, it must have been a quiet couple of days, because I did not have any complaints about noise.

My room had the bathroom down the hall, and I never even saw another person. The bathrooms also have a unique style, super clean and great tile and fixtures. Nice towels too!

I can't wait to come back again. It was more than just a stay in a hotel, it was an experience. Great location, right downtown Astoria. You can walk anywhere, and then come back at night to your wonderful room at the Commodore Hotel.

The coffee shop is a huge plus, and the restaurant next door, Canby Asparagus Farms Casa de Tamales is really great too. Great Mexican food with a lot of asparagus choices. Deep fried asparagus, and bacon wrapped asparagus, asparagus quesadillas, etc ... He also has freshly made chile rellenos which I will have the next time. The very nice guy is originally from Northern New Mexico, where they really know how to make chile rellenos! Not just asparagus, but if you love asparagus like I do, you really HAVE to try this place! Super good!

So, run, don't walk to the Commodore Hotel in lovely Astoria, Oregon!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lily_fairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Clean, nicely decorated, contemporary and comfortable (although small) room. Must have breakfast, or at least coffee at Street 14 Coffee next to the lobby. We thought the location was great. Good restaurants withing walking distance. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danielmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I recently had to attend a two-day meeting in Astoria and stayed at the Commodore Hotel in downtown Astoria. It was quaint, affordable, and lovely. The location was perfect as it was within walking distance of several restaurants and unique shops. Staff was very cordial and helpful; check-in simple; and I am looking for a reason to visit Astoria again soon so that I can spend more time downtown and at the Commodore Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor with a view of the Columbia River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It was a dark and stormy night...when we found the Commodore (March, 2014) and were very happy to have safe (and dry) refuge. $69 for a small room with a shared bath/shower. Clean, well-appointed, and well worth the price.
Nice chummy conversation pit (with gas fire) in the lobby, and a friendly coffee shop adjacent.
Not your choice if you're looking for high end, but good value.
(and check out the Fort George Brewpub, about 1 1/2 blocks away)

Room Tip: Decide in advance if you're ok with a shared bathroom (just down the hall).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here during for the Dark Arts Stout Festival at Fort George. We live about an hour away on the coast so we have stayed at various hotels in Astoria. The Commodore has been our favorite. It is clean, affordable, and has very stylist décor. The location is perfect, very close to Fort George and other downtown attractions. We stayed in a suite on the corner and were warned about the fact that there is street noise and such ahead of time so we brought a fan for white noise. It worked well. We didn't eat a meal at the café downstairs but enjoyed some delicious coffee and a muffin in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliduer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have stayed at the Commodore several times now and can't say enough good things about it. The best part is that this property obviously takes pride in the cleanliness of the facility. It's a bit noisy, but they definitely cover their bases on the website. So if you're a light sleeper this may not be for you. However, if you can keep a little noise from affecting your getaway, this is the place to stay! Grab a beer at Fort George, get informed about a little of Oregon's history at Fort Stevens, obviously stop by the Goonies house, and top off your day with the amazing view at the Astoria Column.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danwiche s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#7 of 14 in Astoria
405 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 258 14th St, Astoria, OR
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range: £56 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Astoria Downtown Historic District, the Commodore Hotel occupies the 1925 Lewis Building, designed by John E. Wicks, Astoria's most influential architect. The hotel operated from 1925 until 1968, first as the Barton Inn Hotel and then as the Commodore. Shuttered for 40 years, the Commodore reopened in 2009 after an extraordinary renovation. Retaining the original doors, windows, woodwork, and fixtures-all meticulously rehabilitated-the Commodore is now a shining example of the highest standards of contemporary design and construction. The Commodore shares the historic Lewis Building with the legendary Street 14 Coffee, which you can enter directly from the lobby. Downtown Astoria is overflowing with sensory delights-dining, shopping, hiking and more are at your fingertips. Take a romantic stroll along the scenic Riverwalk. Take a ride on the Riverfront Trolley. Take a swim at the Aquatic Center. As our guest, you have access to a curated selection of films available on DVD from the front desk. Watch Goonies in the town where it was filmed. Spend a blustery night curled up with Chinatown or Magnolia. Put together a personal film festival by choosing from over 100 available titles ranging from 3 Days of the Condor to The X-Files. The Commodore understands the importance of sustainable and Earth-friendly business practices. We recycle-and we encourage our guests to do the same-and the hotel is kept sparkling with eco-safe cleaning products. Our commitment to sustainability is recognized by the Travel Oregon Forever Network. Free parking is readily available within a few blocks. Short-term street parking in front of the hotel is usually an option for check-in. The front desk can guide you to long-term parking near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing