We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't overlook this motel in Astoria,”
Review of Columbia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columbia Inn
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
413 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Don't overlook this motel in Astoria,”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Reasonably priced and conveniently located in Astoria makes this a good find for lodging. Clean, decent rooms at a moderate price is their best selling point. Not fancy and lacking on some of the extras it is a good buy in an area that does not have a lot of options on low cost hotels. They do have free wi-fi, unlike some of the more expensive chains.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    18
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
4
32
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Forest Grove, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our second night in Astoria because the hotel we stayed at the first night was full when we went to book it for a second night. I chose this motel because of the price .. When my husband checked us in I had apparently booked us into a smoking room which I have asthma so that would have not been good . The clerk went ahead and booked us into a non smoking room . Much to our surprise the room was big the bed was comfortable .. I have no complaints the plus it's close to two fast food places for morning coffee ..

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Bed, shower, toilet! What else can a human being ask for? Television, refrigerator? Had those too! Gideon's Bible? Yep! Cheapest place in town and best of all--you can literally stumble home from the bars. I know, because I did. Five Stars!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Bed was fine. Sleep was good. The room was fairly quiet. It was within walking distance from downtown. Take a look at your room before you pay because after that, no one is in the office. There were no towels in the room. We hoped to get the towels that night but they were never dropped off and we went out for dinner.... There was no one in the office at 08:00 in the morning to get towels from. That was a bummer.
Heat was great, especially for a damp night in December on the coast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orandny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janak P, Owner at Columbia Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
We have newly renovated rooms, with new bathrooms, granite sink tops, all units with A/C and heating, and Wi-Fi. Come and enjoy the lowest rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Astoria hotels

1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. The front desk told us that there were no nonsmoking rooms available so we could not change rooms. The smell was so bad we ended up leaving immediately after checking in and seeing the room. They refused to refund our money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjarl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We are three weeks in to a five week touring holiday of N California thru Oregon to Seattle. Unfortunately this was a holiday weekend and this was the only vacancy we could find at short notice in Astoria. Now we know why. The room was OK, but very tired. The bathroom was dirty and uninviting. In fact we chose not to shower during our two night stay.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onefurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janak P, Owner at Columbia Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Come and enjoy our newly renovated rooms, with granite sink tops, new bathrooms, all A/C and heating, Wi-Fi,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wabasha, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Our room never got over 55 degrees. The manager offered us extra blankets. We woke up so cold at 3:30 am that we just got up and left. Travelers beware! Also,be aware in the summer that there apparently is no air conditioning, as there was a fan sitting on top of the tv stand. No desk service during the night. They do not answer the phone or respond to the door bell.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.8 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
3.0 mi away
Astoria Crest Motel
Astoria Crest Motel
#6 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Inn

Property: Columbia Inn
Address: 495 Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-4235
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Columbia Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Columbia Inn offers guests fax/copy service, free parking, free Wi-Fi, all A/C units, newly renovated rooms in April 2014. Come and see our new rooms. New bathrooms with granite sinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Columbia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing