We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good brews, fine food”

Fort George Brewery + Public House
Ranked #5 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Soups, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: There’s always something new to try from the brewery’s rotating taps, including taster trays, pints, and growlers-to-go. The lively public house offers family-friendly dining with made-from-scratch meals using organic, natural, and local ingredients.An upstairs Woodfired Pizza venue was opened in the Summer of '13 and operates all day on Saturdays and Sundays, from 4:30-10pm on Wednesdays-Fridays and is closed Monday and Tuesday. Beautiful views and woodwork. Tours of the 30 barrel production brewery and beer canning line are available Saturdays and Sundays at 1pm and 4pm. Located on the site of the original 1811 settlement of Astoria, the locals lining the bar can get you up to speed on the city’s past, present, and future.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good brews, fine food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Two dining options, downstairs and upstairs. Sat upstairs with lots of windows and a good view of the town from the second floor. Numerous brews to sample and good pizza to share. Salads were fresh and sourced from local suppliers. After your meal, be sure to cross the parking lot and grab another pint in the brewery. Lots of weird and wonderful things on tap to enjoy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BrewTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    332
    93
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beer taster”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Fun place and the Working Girl Porter was great! Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Food looked great also. I will put this on my go to list for when we return to Astoria again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An Average Brew Pub”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We trudged through the rain to find Fort George Brewery and Public House and kinda wished we hadn't bothered. It was okay. Average. We decided not to eat there, based on seeing the food delivered to other tables. The beer was acceptable, but nothing special. However, that's why there is vanilla, chocolate, and strawberry because everyone likes something different.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1WagMore-BarkLess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better than your average pub food!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The food was good and the staff very friendly. I had the bean and rice burrito which was quite good, although, could have done with some spices or flavours for the filling. My husband enjoyed the beer sampler very much and his food was excellent (tomato soup and daily sausage special)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank zisforzillah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place for family dining.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This restaurant has a great atmosphere and great food. Downstairs is more intimate dining with a great menu. Upstairs accommodates large groups and more importantly families with young kids who need some space to run around. The upstairs has a more limited bar type menu, but there are still plenty of options. I would dine here with my young kids knowing they have space to roam and I will get a great meal ( and beer!). We will definitely come back here during our next trip down the coast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliaCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort George Brewery + Public House also viewed

 
 

Been to Fort George Brewery + Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing