We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views of the Harbor”

Fort George Brewery + Public House
Ranked #5 of 99 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: There’s always something new to try from the brewery’s rotating taps, including taster trays, pints, and growlers-to-go. The lively public house offers family-friendly dining with made-from-scratch meals using organic, natural, and local ingredients.An upstairs Woodfired Pizza venue was opened in the Summer of '13 and operates all day on Saturdays and Sundays, from 4:30-10pm on Wednesdays-Fridays and is closed Monday and Tuesday. Beautiful views and woodwork. Tours of the 30 barrel production brewery and beer canning line are available Saturdays and Sundays at 1pm and 4pm. Located on the site of the original 1811 settlement of Astoria, the locals lining the bar can get you up to speed on the city’s past, present, and future.
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Views of the Harbor”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Eat upstairs! You have an amazing view of the water from there and the number of varieties of microbrews at this brewery is stellar. The beer is cold and the pizza is good. The service is exceptional and the overall vibe really cool! We had the veggie pizza. TIP: Next time I would choose a different pizza as this one was too moist/liquidy for our tastebuds.....(the veggies should have been partially sauteed to release their moisture before being added as a topping).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TexasInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    334
    95
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yeast and Dough - a great combo”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We went to Fort George one night for dinner. We sat upstairs where they have their pizza menu, (it is different food from the downstairs). We ordered a spinach calzone and a sausage calzone. First of all, the dough was amazing. The sausage is sourced locally which is always good. The calzones were huge and we finished them because we couldn't quit eating them! The beer is also very good. I am not a fan of IPA's. When I ordered a wheat beer and it tasted like an IPA, our waiter was very good about sitting down with us and talking about what our style was and giving us tasters. Very nice. I liked all of his suggestions. The views are great up top too. You can see the downtown and the Columbia river. They made it a great night for us.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Would love to visit again”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I came here over this past weekend with some of my teammates from Portland to Coast. We were all famished and looking forward to good food. One of the gals from our group had been here before and suggested this stop. Our server was great. He was upbeat and prompt. Because they are a brewery I did ask for a sample before selecting a beer.

A few of us ordered the Mac and cheese which was wonderful. Super yummy and hit the spot. We also ordered some cheese covered Jo Jo's and Artichoke Dip. The Jo Jo's were good but none of us were impressed with the artichoke dip. The price is what I would expect and the atmosphere is nice with a nice view on the second floor. I would recommend this place and would come by again when in town

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good beer, good people, local charm”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I wanted to show my girlfriend Astoria when we were vacationing in Long Beach, WA nearby. We had heard of Fort George Brewery by trying some beer at our hotel, and decided it was definitely good enough to go see the origin. The beer was delicious, the service was quick and friendly (note: we didn't get any food), and the employees cared about their customers learning and loving their beer. It was a great place to hang out for an afternoon.

We had a beer flight, and sat near the tanks on the side building. Delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,689 reviews
1,075 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 719 helpful votes
“Another craft beer pizza hamburger gourmet place.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Yes, more beer pizza and hamburgers. One cannot help but wonder how long gourmet beer and burgers will be the rage . This is loud noisy and another tourist trap type place.
Recommend? No
Return. Maybe not .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort George Brewery + Public House also viewed

 
 

Been to Fort George Brewery + Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing