We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Go To Dive Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria's portway

Astoria's portway
Ranked #29 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Astoria
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Go To Dive Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Always good food and drink. Karaoke is fun on the weekends, but can hurt the ears if someone really gets into the song. Get the prime rib - it never disappoints.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Coastal_Eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this little local tavern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Excellent fish & chips and pretty good burgers. Despite appearances, this is a lively and fun bar especially during kareoke. The bartender sings while she serves and is amazing at both!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank vhoeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“FELT LIKE CHEERS ON STEROIDS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I stopped for a beer and ended up staying until closing. The night we popped in was karaoke night. The locals, bartender and other staff were incredibly entertaining. They are a fun & upbeat bunch whose humor kept us in our seats. It was a nice surprise and we will definately go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRIS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A genuine harborside tavern”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Portway is Astoria's oldest bar, and is full of charm and character -- and local characters. Visitors feel welcome here as well; they have a full bar, numerous Northwest beers on tap and a menu of solid American classics like burgers and French Dip sandwiches.

Helpful?
1 Thank Casey1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Burgers in a Old Time Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is a quirky little place that's easy to miss. It's on the main road between Astoria and Warrenton on the right. Look for a brown building with an umbrella/table on the front deck. There's parking behind the restaurant, so it's easier to get into than it looks.

We ordered burgers, and they were perfect. Just what you'd like a burger to be if you're not in the mood for anything too adventurous. They are served with waffle fries that I think might have been made from (gasp!) fresh potatoes.

We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Astoria's portway also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Astoria's portway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing