We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good Beer" "Bad Chowder"”
Review of Astoria's portway

Astoria's portway
Ranked #25 of 101 Restaurants in Astoria
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Good Beer" "Bad Chowder"”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Bad; Loud, crowded, only one waitress who had us on ignore and the worst clam chowder I can recall...The Good; It was close to our hotel, they had cold beer and I didn't have to pay for the bad chowder.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iyamapirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“"good food and service"”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hubby and I stopped in on our way to ilwaco last weekend for lunch. Ordered a 4 piece fish and chips and an order of large prawns. Very very tasty! I also had a good bloody mary! Server was very friendly. While we were waiting for our food I put 5$ in the video poker machine and won 40$ hubby put 5$ in keno and won 11$ we also had a restaurants.com voucher so our stop was free,and we left with an extra twenty, but we will visit the portway again! we have been to the labor temple diner in Astoria which the same owner owns, great food as well!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAROLYN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, helpful staff”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were only in Astoria for a couple of days, on a budget, and I had a restaurant.com certificate, so I chose Portway sight unseen. Because my son is 20, we couldn't be seated there (it's a tavern, and Oregon has liquor laws that, as a newbie, are still a mystery to me), but the staff couldn't have been more helpful about accommodating us. (When the bill came up $1.50 short of the restaurant.com rules, the bartender suggested a can of soda, which fit the bill exactly.) Portway provided takeout containers, utensils and napkins, and we sat at the Maritime Memorial Park nearby and feasted on seafood and steak, with leftovers that we're still dining on. Good food, nice people!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Walking distance”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My company got in town at about 9:30pm and this place was still open and it was about a block away from our hotel. We had fish and chips and some brew and called it the night.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scappoose, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Watering hole and clam chowder”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

It's changed owners a couple of times over the years but still has the best clam chowder I've ever had. Lots of nautical decor and history to the place, too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 69PaulW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Astoria's portway also viewed

Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Astoria's portway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing