We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to instantly feel like Family stop in at the Portway Tavern for Great Food & Drinks”
Review of Astoria's portway

Astoria's portway
Ranked #28 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Want to instantly feel like Family stop in at the Portway Tavern for Great Food & Drinks”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The place can be packed with only one person working the bar and tables and you will still be treated like family and served in a timely manner when you come to the Portway. The food and drinks are very good. I had fried mushrooms and a bacon cheeseburger and they were great.

A very diverse crowd where people know each other and even if they dont know you everybody is nice.

Big screen TV and Video lottery is available if your into it

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Our favorite place for chowder”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Classic clam chowder, made fresh daily with huge chunks of razor clam and just the right amount of potatoes and seasoning. Can't understand how anyone could say this is "bad" chowder. As others have mentioned, they have a great assortment of libations as well as other items on the menu. The "decorations" are priceless. The staff is always friendly and accommodating. This is our favorite place in Astoria to imbibe,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kolekona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Good Beer" "Bad Chowder"”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Bad; Loud, crowded, only one waitress who had us on ignore and the worst clam chowder I can recall...The Good; It was close to our hotel, they had cold beer and I didn't have to pay for the bad chowder.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iyamapirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
155 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“"good food and service"”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hubby and I stopped in on our way to ilwaco last weekend for lunch. Ordered a 4 piece fish and chips and an order of large prawns. Very very tasty! I also had a good bloody mary! Server was very friendly. While we were waiting for our food I put 5$ in the video poker machine and won 40$ hubby put 5$ in keno and won 11$ we also had a restaurants.com voucher so our stop was free,and we left with an extra twenty, but we will visit the portway again! we have been to the labor temple diner in Astoria which the same owner owns, great food as well!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAROLYN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, helpful staff”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were only in Astoria for a couple of days, on a budget, and I had a restaurant.com certificate, so I chose Portway sight unseen. Because my son is 20, we couldn't be seated there (it's a tavern, and Oregon has liquor laws that, as a newbie, are still a mystery to me), but the staff couldn't have been more helpful about accommodating us. (When the bill came up $1.50 short of the restaurant.com rules, the bartender suggested a can of soda, which fit the bill exactly.) Portway provided takeout containers, utensils and napkins, and we sat at the Maritime Memorial Park nearby and feasted on seafood and steak, with leftovers that we're still dining on. Good food, nice people!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Astoria's portway also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Astoria's portway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing