We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cupcakes, Even Better Cinnamon Rolls”
Review of Simply cakes by jae - CLOSED

Simply cakes by jae
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Cupcakes, Even Better Cinnamon Rolls”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Jae's is alive and well at 163 East Third Street in Cannon Beach, OR. They have a Facebook page, simplycakesbyjae. Their phone is 503-436-0436. You should NOT miss them if you are on the Oregon Coast. Jae is really personable and makes the best goodies. You have to order your cinnamon rolls in advance, but it is well worth the effort.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwikstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous cupcakes!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a pretty little cake shop run by a friendly and super-talented pastry chef. The cupcakes are divine. I had the chocolate with caramel filling. She even makes the filling from scratch. There's a comfy seating area, and you'll feel welcome here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Reade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, OR
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This business is closed & gone. ”
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

I think this business is now in Cannon Beach, Oregon. I am not sure if they are open for retail or just special orders. The cupcakes were delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Explorer-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,672 reviews
1,069 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 708 helpful votes
“Incomprobole deserts, lovingly made by Jae as good if not better than anything I have had from New York to Europe to back to the”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Folks in Astoria certainly know good food, coffee and deserts.
Stepping into this little shop simply begins the digestive process to roar into motion calling to be satified. Lets begin with: The cupcakes, (be sure and get there early that favorite flavors are not sold out). The carrot cupcakes, and/ or the various chocolates one can't make a mistake in choice, however. They all compete for primero in taste satisfaction. The beyond wonderful made from scratch
Cakes are available only by special order and guaranteed to
make any occasion special!!
Jae always takes time in her busy schedule to add that personal touch. sometimes she can slow down just enough and then occasionally has time to sit and share with youover a cup of her special brew of coffee, and cupcake that you get the last one of.
Stop by and get sweetened up soon, let jaes wonderful creations do there magic on you, oh and see you there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent Cupcakes”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We happened to spot this wonderful little gourmet shop when we were in Astoria & will definitely make a return visit. The cupcakes we ordered (lemon & a choc w a mousse filling) were incredibly delicious. Full of flavor, not overly sweet, fresh ingredients & simply amazing. A little higher priced than your average bakery, but these are certainly not your average cupcakes. Looking forward to ordering a cake sometime soon as well- the coconut cake that was leaving as we walked in looking wonderful!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuneOlympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simply cakes by jae also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing