We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Fresh Crab”

Northwest Wild Products
Ranked #18 of 106 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Fish market ocated on the docks of Astoria West Mooring Basin
Restaurant details
Description: Fish market ocated on the docks of Astoria West Mooring Basin
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stopped here to get a couple of Dungeness crabs to take to the beach. We eat a lot of Dungeness crab, and this was some of the sweetest we have ever had. We will stop here again!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

Tried Clam Chowders up and down the Coast is this is by far number one. You can either get a regular bowl for $6.00 or Phone Chowder for $10.00 and they add Dungeness Crab and Shimpmeat. (Kind of weird they call it phone chowder, I guess it's so good you have to call your friends after???) Had just the right amount of spice and was loaded with clams. Had a Razor Clam on a stick as well per another viewers recommendation and it was good also.

Thank Coastal_Eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

I normally love these funky little hole in the walls. However, my razor clam fritters were completely lacking in clam. For a fried dough ball, they were delicious. I guess for $7 for two, what was I expecting. The frozen seafood seemed top quality and the cooked crab smelled divine. I'd give them another chance with something else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loloofthewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We just kind of stumbled across this place. We were staying at the Cannery Pier hotel next door and had some steamer clams as an appetizer and were planning to go somewhere else for dinner. They were so good that we cancelled our dinner reservation and had dinner there instead. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but man...what awesome seafood! We'll be back. Thanks:0)

Thank SOBERCHERYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We went there based on the glowing reviews. We ordered fresh cooked crab, steamers and clam chowder. The steamers were way past their expiry date we returned them and they gave us back our money. The crab was awful, we know crab as we live in the Pacific Northwest. It was yellow and the meat was soft and soggy. We returned it and they offered as bits and pieces which were even worse. We just left worried we get really sick. The clam chowder was ok but nothing to write home about. Good money for unacceptable food. Worst food ever. The atmosphere is nice sitting outside on a bench in the sunshine could have been perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
3  Thank Happy-in-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Manager at Northwest Wild Products, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Sorry your experience was so upsetting. You are correct the crab you received was very poor quality. Our crab cooker had just broke, and the only way we could cook our live crab was on an electric burner, which takes an hour per crab. So in a pinch we ran out and bought some whole cooked crab from another company. We were just starting to crack it when you came in, and you were the first to taste it. After you left, we examined it and it was extremely over cooked. The yellow color comes from not backing a crab before cooking it and is normal in non backed body meat. (Some find it distasteful, but it has nothing to do with freshness.) As for the steamers, they were definately not expired. (We are strictly regulated by the Department of Agriculture.) As with all natural products there are always a few steamers in a batch that simply don't taste as well as other, unfortunately those were the first few you sampled and I can imagine the poor quality crab, could understanbabley put a damper on your taste buds. If you review your credit card statement you will see that when we discovered the uneaten crab on your table, we immeadiatly voided your credit card for the entire meal including the steamers we had already refunded. (You actually came out $8.50 ahead if it helps any) We would have prefered to appologize and refund your money face to face, but we were not given the chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northwest Wild Products also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Northwest Wild Products? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing