We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Smells of freshness!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindstrom's Danish Maid Bakery - CLOSED

Lindstrom's Danish Maid Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smells of freshness!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stopped in here upon staying at the Hotel Elliot. Not very far away, and truly enjoyed what I got! Get the turnovers with cream cheese! I think mine had blueberry in it. Fabulous. Very cheap as well! I had one while my wife got ready for the day, and also ate with her in the hotel. Our little secret!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KyleTravelsFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    11
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“As Homer Simpson would say...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

"Mmmm...doughnuts!" And I don't even usually eat donuts. But the ones at Lindstrom's Danish Maid Bakery are soooo delicious. I loved the glazed - so light and melt-in-your-mouth fresh. This is a charming little shop, not trendy or hipster, but authentic and friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best donuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Want great donuts? Look no further. They offer a great selection of donuts, cookies and pastries. Everything we tried was delicious!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bkwurm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed a perfect chocolate custard filled doughnut as I wondered around town on a snowy day! Friendly and warm staff as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint, nostalgic place for bakery treats”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This place has a special place in my heart as I lived in Astoria for many years, and the bakery has remained pretty much the same as in years past. Not a very large or creative selection - it is what it is: an old-fashioned bakery your Grandma would remember, and what they do have is almost as good as the cozy, homey feeling the store imparts to tourist and native alike.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lindstrom's Danish Maid Bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing