We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2008

we stayed here for a night and would never return, horrible staff, horrible beds, broken elevator, and woke up to rude fishermen yelling in the hallway at 5am, that was a real joy with our 3 kids!!!!!!! could not be more disappointed.....what a waste of money....

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank busymama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2007

My husband stayed in the King Spa room. The room itself was nice with a wonderful Spa. The view was just Ok. Not the nicest river view. The bathroom in this room was extremely small. The shower was so small you could barely move in it. The front desk told me that the bathrooms in the spa rooms were smaller than all the other rooms. I can't understand why these rooms have such terrible bathrooms, since these are the most $$ and are supposed to be their nicest rooms. The lobby and hallways have been remodeled already and are very nice. They are about to remodel the rooms. There is a pool and hot tub off the lobby. The exersize room is on another floor. There is also a laundry room. The breakfast was fine. There was cereal, toast, waffles and hot dish. They did run out of food and no one was working in the breakfast room to help. I think someone finally complained and staff came in to get more food.
We probably will not stay in this place again. Most likely we will find a hotel in a nearby city.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jillybeanpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2007

My wife and I have traveled all over the country and we've only
had "terrible" experience only a few times.
We had a reservation with this Best Western unit and had
booked it weeks ahead of our arrival. After having to fly
on two planes we were looking forward to our room. We
drove up to Astoria from the Portland airport and when we
arrived we were dismayed that our room was NOT ready.
It was mid-afternoon, laundry carts were in the hallway
and housekeeping was just getting to rooms. The desk
"flat out" would not give us a room. We were tired from our
airflights, but the staff would not even extend itself to find us
another room.

This Best Western also placed a lot of emphasis on their
swimming and hot tub facility in their ad. There was a large sign on the door that neither the pool or hot tub were open.

Needless to say we returned to car, and drove down the
Pacific Coast Highway (101) to another town and to another
hotel with a prepared room and with working a pool and hot tub. We didn't even have a reservation and still got a nicer room and
a nicer reception.

I think the B/W upper managment should take a look at this
Best Western unit in Astoria. They aren't even people friendly!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
6  Thank MTBeau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

We stayed in two room categories at this hotel. King room, non-smoking and jacuzzi suite, king bed, non-smoking.
The king room was clean, well-kept up. Bed was hard. View of the water/back of shipyard. Jacuzzi suite room the bed was nicer. Air conditioning did not work and room was very warm from late afternoon sun.
Hotel is being remodeled. Both the 3rd and 4th floors had new carpet in halls, fresh paint and wallpaper. Gym equipment was stored in the hallway so I assume gym was not completed. Lobby was nice, employees very nice to work with. Breakfast was a nice surprise. Featured cereals, milk, juices, coffee, yogurt, apples. Make your own waffles, hot sausage, biscuits, gravy, egg patties. Breakfast room had lots of people in the morning. It could have used a few more chairs around the tables. Employee there to give assistance when needed. Tables kept clean. Nice not to have to pay for a quick bite and saved us $10. a person each morning. Price of hotel high for what you get but Astoria is a tourist spot. Hotel looks like it's in an industrial area. Better location would have been under or closer to the bridge but you'd pay higher for the location. Did not use the swimming pool or hot tub at hotel. Area was again clean. Plenty of parking. I wouldn't have a problem staying at this hotel again, just keep in mind Astoria is a tourist area and prices are high for what you get. Many many good places to eat in town. Nice sunday market in town.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank outfortheview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

In June 2007 it was in the midst of a remodeling, so it wasn't the best time to stay there. Even so, it wasn't bad.

The staff members were kind and helpful. The corridors smelled of cigarette smoke so badly I feared the room would reek, but the room turned out to be clean without unpleasant smells. Avoid room 208, which is right next to the stairway. It is probably the noisiest 2nd floor room. The rooms on the third floor or west part of the second floor provide the best view, while those on the east part facing the river show a storage yard. The room had a refrigerator and microwave.

Here are a list of its ammenities:
Hot Tub
Free Breakfast (cold cereal, toast, bagels, frozen waffles, buscuits & gravy)
Dry Cleaning & Laundry
Fitness Center
Pool
Pets Allowed
High Speed Internet

I read on one site that the motel offered a "full hot breakfast bar". This is quite a stretch. The hot items were biscuits and gravy, pre-packaged Jimmy Dean egg and sausage croissants, frozen waffles, and bagels.

There aren't many places to eat within walking distance, but there is a KFC, a Pig N Pancake, and a Subway sandwich shop within a mile or so.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2007

The Hotel is under going some sort of renovation. Hotel and room smelt of building materials and plaster. Various things in the room (i.e. power sockets, bathroom) need fixing and/or repairing. Internet access was also unavailable and nobody knew when it would be fixed. Astoria, generally not a great place and would recommend you look elsewhere to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Fred_Smith_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2007

We stayed here one night on a roadtrip down the coast of Washington, Oregon, and California. The property only had two rooms left and we took this one, so our expectations were low.

The property is in the process of a pretty major remodel, so things were a bit chaotic: no numbering on the doors except for handwritten numbers on masking tape, thresholds missing from some doors, painting not completed, flooring not completely in place, etc. Mostly cosmetic, but the door numbering is a major inconvenience. There is only one elevator and it sits in the middle of the property. Typically, when guests exit a hotel elevator there are signs indicating which rooms are in which direction. This is not the case here. Our room was 241 and we took off in the direction where numbers were ascending. However, the numbers stopped somewhere in the 230's. Confused, we walked towards the other end of the building, and the number started descending - we truly thought we were lost or the desk clerk wrote the wrong number on our card key. However, after room 200, we found room 246, and eventually 246. And we weren't the only ones. Another couple was following us looking for their room as well!

The room was smallish (which we expected) and very typical of a motel/hotel. Although we could not hear the street traffic, we could hear every single time our neighbors shut their doors. Very annoying! We were told there was a hot breakfast in the morning and that was one of the reasons we decided to stay there. Our "hot" breakfast consisted of oatmeal (neither of us wanted), cereal, danish/bagels, juices, coffee, sausage bisquit sandwiches to be heated up in a micowave, and toaster waffles. Not what we had in mind.

As we were taking the luggage down to the car in the elevator, we notices that some one had spilled a good quantity of ice in the elevator. Unfortunately, in this newly re-modeled elevator, the floor is tile/stone. When we checked out, I informed the desk clerk of the ice in the elevator and that she might want to have some one clean it up before some one got hurt. I received a look like I had asked her to fly to the moon. I doubt the ice was cleaned up.

I'm glad we only stayed here one night. And, in all fairness I'm not sure what this place will look like once the renovations are completed. But our stay was less than stellar and I would be hesitant to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chele60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.4 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
757 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.6 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,240 reviews
13.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel

Address: 555 Hamburg Avenue, Astoria, OR 97103-5939 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lincoln Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Astoria
#4 Business Hotel in Astoria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: £76 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Lincoln Inn! Astoria, OR hotels are nestled in a charming coastal town, where beloved films like Goonies and Kindergarten Cop were filmed and still draw fans to this day. Your BEST WESTERN Lincoln Inn features easy access to the beach including the famous sights like Haystack Rock. However, it’s the Crab, Seafood & Wine Festival that really draws a crowd, but you don’t need to wait for this annual event to indulge. Enjoy the freshest seafood and most delectable vino along the coast year-round. Hotels in Astoria, OR cater to travelers interested in a diverse range of entertainment from wine tasting to wind surfing. Convenient amenities, like the pool open 24-hours, make this Astoria hotel really stand out. Take advantage of upgraded Wi-Fi to stay well-connected whether traveling for business or pleasure. A clean hotel and friendly staff is the foundation for a memorable stay. This property is close to the most exciting attractions in town such as the Maritime Museum. The Astoria Column is a must-see, and of course the Goonies House can’t be missed. Travelers stay at this Astoria hotel and find plenty of opportunities to play at Kroger or events at Longshoremen. While the Crab Festival remains a town favorite, this is also the end destination of Hood to Coast, the epic run or walk from Mount Hood to the Oregon coast. Held late in the summer, the grand finale is a massive beach party that welcomes all whether you came from the mountain or not. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lincoln Hotel Astoria
Best Western Astoria
Astoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing