We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Reviewed 29 October 2012

stayed at this Inn Oct. 23-24, 2012. Previous reviews re: friendly helpful staff, beautiful marina view, new king size bed, good breakfast (cinnamon waffles with marianberry syrup)..clean food area......all true. Bathroom had all new fixtures; especially enjoyed very large shower head that was adjustable for spray; I opted for the large, gentle, "fuzzy" spray type. Room was clean. Staff (especially Seth) provided me with map of area, and restaurant information and recommendations. Included pass for free admission to historic museums; the Flavel House Museum and Carriage House were wonderful.
Ate lunch at Bowpicker "boat restaurant" near Maritime Museum (Seth did not recommend this); I did not care for the fish. "Tis true that there does not seem to be any insulation between rooms, but was not very noisy from other guests during the weekdays that I stayed.

Room Tip: book room on 2nd floor to minimize sounds from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ORtraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed here for two nights Aug 25, 26, 2012 during the king salmon run. LOVED this place for several reasons: It is on the riverfront, the marina is directly below the hotel, which is PERFECT if you are fishing, it does not get any easier than this! Also, the rooms were spacious and clean, beds were comfy, very quit at night. There is an early basic breakfast provided for free in the lobby, great for an early day of fishing. Staff was friendly and competent. The rate was very reasonable too! If you're fishing in Astoria, THIS is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCTravelerandskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My husband and I traveled with 2 teenage boys. We had a family suite 2 adjoining rooms. They could do their game playing (the game system was there with games and movies in the lobby). The view is great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone especially if you have kids with you.

Room Tip: every room has a water view. The place is well off the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Totally excellent experience. View of Marina and Astoria's looong bridge over the Columbia. Comfortable bed. On-site owner. This is the old Astoria Red Lion in process of revival to be a locally owned and operated quality hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the Marina as far as I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flowing V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We booked it primarily on price and secondarily on location, and were prepared to find a second or third rate hotel. Instead we found a premium location right in front of a marina with sliding glass doors leading to a small deck with a gorgeous view if the marina and river. A very good breakfast was included, the staff was friendly and always accessible, and the rooms were well cared for and clean. Overall this is one of the top values we've found anywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Found this place by chance. Reception were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy. Had a private balcony with views over the marina. Watched the sun go down and the boats come in. Within walking distance of a number of good eateries, including pub food and more upmarket. Short walk into town for all other amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at the Riverwalk Inn on August 25th. WE came from Cannon Beach and decided we would like to spend another night. It was the only Hotel that had any rooms from Cannon Beach all the way to Vancouver Washington. I did not see the Hotel I was directed there from an employee at the Best Western in Seaside. I thought how bad could it be as they are charging $175.00 per night. When we got there I almost kept on driving, if we didn't have out 6 month old and 5 year old son I would have kept driving. This is a Motel and is very run down. I said something to the employee at the front desk regarding how the rooms are and he said that this used to be the Red Lion and it sat vacant for 2 years. He said they had replaced the beds. I had to sign a waiver that we would not go onto the balconies as we were told we could fall through. I asked for a recommendation for a restaurant and he recommended a glorified Denny’s.. I told him were looking for something more upscale. He wasn’t very knowledgeable about that was around Astoria. We went to our room and it was very stuffy, we could not open the balcony as it was bolted shut. The room is very outdated, the furniture was old and showed wear and tear. I did not sit on the chairs. We went to dinner that night to an Italian place we found ourselves, I think it was called Fulio’s. It was excellent. I actually wanted to sleep in the restaurant, it was way nicer than our room. I hated to go back to that place. That night we heard every noise from the rooms surrounding us. There is no insulation.. There were people getting up at 4:00am and you could hear them talking and the water running, showering, ect... We got up shortly after that and checked out and left. The room was so stuffy we all woke up with sore throats. I was sorry that I had paid that much for a room like that in a place like that. I can’t believe they can get away with those rates. Again, this place is a Motel, you would be better off staying at the Motel 6 for half the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradSmithart, Manager at Astoria Riverwalk Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time for your review. We value your comments.

One of my favorite things about Astoria is our fine restaurants. I am glad you found Fulio's. If you make it back to Astoria, I highly recommend The Baked Alaska and The Urban Cafe. Also for breakfast, The Columbian has an excellent eclectic menu.

We apologize for the balconies being closed. We have been working with the city, and a local construction firm, to get our balconies rebuilt and safe. In fact, we are proud to say we now have 42 balconies open, with the remainder expected to be complete within the next 45 days. We are a locally owned and operated business, and we strive for a clean, professional, and friendly product. I apologize that your stay was not to you and your family's liking. We have family suites designed for children's enjoyment. I would love to have you come back, so we can show you OUR Astoria. Please contact Seth Davis, General Manager, or Brad Smithart, Operations Manager for your next booking, and regarding your past stay. We would love the opportunity to accomodate you on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Brad Smithart
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
1.2 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#9 of 14 in Astoria
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Riverwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Riverwalk Inn

Address: 400 Industry St, Astoria, OR 97103-6308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range: £79 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Riverwalk Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally opened as the Red Lion – Thunderbird Motor Inn and later simply as the Red Lion, the Astoria Riverwalk Inn was the town’s first waterfront hotel, established in the late 1960s. The Port of Astoria owns the facility, and in September 2015 contracted with new local ownership to assume and improve the Riverwalk Inn operations. The new ownership group is comprised of seasoned business management professionals with significant experience in commercial property development and hospitality, including the development and initial launch of the award-winning Hotel Elliott in downtown Astoria. With a new operating team in place since September 2015, literally everything is new at the Astoria Riverwalk Inn. From the luxurious cotton sheets, redesigned dining area and lobby adorned with local, original artwork; the addition of a continental breakfast; extensive landscaping and general updates throughout (including lots of fresh paint!), guests will gain a sense of renewed care and attention to detail. Other complimentary amenities include a business center just off the lobby, upgraded high-speed Wi-Fi, a DVD library and “Beach Cruiser” bikes for exploring Astoria’s acclaimed four-mile long Riverwalk. We think you’ll find changes to the Astoria Riverwalk Inn create an inviting atmosphere for a restful stay on the waterfront. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Astoria Riverwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing