We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
clmh6301
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving...”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We visited this hotel because they had a Groupon deal we purchased online. We didn't really do any research in advance, but we saw the Groupon and knew we were planning to be in the area so we just went for it. We enjoyed the fact that the hotel is right on the marina, just off of whatever the giant bridge is there in Astoria. At first glance, this hotel looks pretty bleak and definitely needs a facelift. Undaunted, we continued to the front desk and were pleasantly surprised to learn that they have bikes and dvd's that you can borrow free of charge (nice touch!) The gentleman who checked us in was very nice. The Groupon deal was definitely keeping them busy. The phone was ringing off the hook the whole time we were checking in and he was there by himself, but he handled each person (whether in person or on the phone) wonderfully and didn't let himself get phased by the overwhelming need for his attention.

We headed to our room. One thing that is great about this place is that every room looks out over the marina. We loved that part! You could sit on the balcony and see out to the bridge, marina and the water beyond. Wonderful breezes coming in to the room which was a good thing because there was no air conditioning. Keep that in mind when traveling in the summer. The room decor and furnishings are incredibly outdated, but the bed was very comfortable and incredibly clean! A clean bed is mostly what I am after when I travel on a budget. There was a flat screen tv and the bathroom was clean as well so we were happy.

This location also offers a complimentary breakfast with juice, coffee, make your own waffles, sausage, and cereals. We enjoyed the breakfast and our stay. We would stay here again. I do hope that the owners can do some updates soon though because it needs it. This is also a dog friendly facility and we noticed many travelers had their dogs with them so keep that in mind as well if that is an issue for you.

Room Tip: No air conditioning, keep that in mind if traveling in summer. Dog friendly hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clmh6301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    209
    136
    90
    66
See reviews for
161
350
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

After checking in for our stay we noticed that there was no do not disturb sign to hang on the door, the light over the bathroom sink was not working and the in room wireless internet was not working. Went back to the front desk and told a young man, that acted as though he was either in charge of maintenance or a maintenance person and he seemed to shrug it off but said he would take care of the issues. By the next afternoon nothing was taken care of and heard nothing from the maintenance person or the front desk. I called the front desk, the young woman that had checked us in, told me in a mostly rude way, that the internet hadn't worked in a couple of days and if we needed to use the it that we could come sit in the lobby to use it, this is not what their website, advertisement, signs on the building or Groupon. The next day, of our two night stay, nothing had been resolved. Later in the afternoon the was a different maintenance person at the room next door and he eventually fixed the light in the bathroom by that evening and we were able to get a do not disturb sign from a person cleaning the room next door. On the third day and the last day of our visit the internet was still not working as of the time we checked out. This was the worst customer service I have ever experienced at a place of lodging.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Astoria hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

When we pulled up at first I was a little wary, but the rows of cute bikes( which are free to use)
And the smell of fresh baked cookies, made for the guests quickly put me at ease.
The staff here are amazing and extremely friendly.
We loved our morning bike ride along the bike trail. And the rooms have been redone and are extremely clean.
We definitely will be staying in this little gem again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsBobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Nice, older, clean hotel with some great river views. Conveniently located, friendly staff and lots of little amenities...like the free local newspaper, and other local publications, free bikes to use that are really nice, and a lovely area to walk around near the marina..Great complimentary breakfast. I would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaanagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

If you are going fishing in Astoria (as lots of people do), this is a perfect location. Even if you're not going fishing, the location -- right on the marina -- makes this an interesting place to stay. The room are not fancy, but compared to many hotels, they are large - four people could easily stay in a 2 queen bed room without feeling cramped, as you would in most hotel rooms that are meant for four. The breakfast is good - make-your-own waffles, sausage, juice fruit cereal and coffee. The staff is helpful and prompt to answer questions and requests. Free movie rentals (a huge library to choose from) There is a large fleet of bikes available for rent - we didn't do it this time, but it looks like a fun activity for another trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Desperate for a night in Astoria under $200 we stumbled across this motel. It is old and undergoing a complete renovation. Apparently new ownership. The location is great. All rooms overhang a marina and the bridge is very near. I had read it wasn't clean but found it fine. The kids loved looking out the patio door over the boats. They have free bikes for use and a bike path is across the parking lot. Free DVDs for checkout. Typical free breakfast. Worked well for us with 3 kids, a mom and grandmother.

It's not plush but we didn't go to stay in the room.

Room Tip: The motel is L shaped around the marina. Two floors. As far as I could tell each room has a dock-sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyearsbabySt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Booked to stay at this hotel on Priceline. It said it was a pay when you stay hotel. I got charged the day I booked and decided to cancel. Didn't get my money back. Kept calling and always got the same answer that I had to talk to the manager who was never there. I opened a case though my bank, so they can pressure them to give me my money back and finally got it back after 3 months. This changed my mind about staying here. Will not ever book there again. I never stayed a night in this hotel but the service I got told me not to even think about staying there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AD2DAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
3.8 mi away
Astoria Crest Motel
Astoria Crest Motel
#6 of 14 in Astoria
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Riverwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Riverwalk Inn

Property: Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Address: 400 Industry St, Astoria, OR 97103-6308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Riverwalk Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally opened as the Red Lion – Thunderbird Motor Inn and later simply as the Red Lion, the Astoria Riverwalk Inn was the town’s first waterfront hotel, established in the late 1960s. The Port of Astoria owns the facility, and in September 2015 contracted with new local ownership to assume and improve the Riverwalk Inn operations. The new ownership group is comprised of seasoned business management professionals with significant experience in commercial property development and hospitality, including the development and initial launch of the award-winning Hotel Elliott in downtown Astoria. With a new operating team in place since September 2015, literally everything is new at the Astoria Riverwalk Inn. From the luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets, redesigned dining area and lobby adorned with local, original artwork; the addition of a continental breakfast; extensive landscaping and general updates throughout (including lots of fresh paint!), guests will gain a sense of renewed care and attention to detail. Other complimentary amenities include a business center just off the lobby, upgraded high-speed Wi-Fi, a DVD library and “Beach Cruiser” bikes for exploring Astoria’s acclaimed four-mile long Riverwalk. We think you’ll find changes to the Astoria Riverwalk Inn create an inviting atmosphere for a restful stay on the waterfront. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Astoria Riverwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing