We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the fact that every room has a view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel is a remodeled Red Lion and while not fancy it is a real gem. It is located ri in the boat basin so the view is primarily of boats and bridges.The staff is most accomodating and they have the best coffee (out of a machine) that I have ever experienced and it is free...all day. Same goes for a breakfast that even has waffles. fresh fruit, oatmeal and any number of granolas. Nothing fancy but one doesn't go to Astoria for fancy. Really fun little city to explore. History abounds, fun shops and museums. Try it....you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yodibossbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

The rooms overlook a marina. In fact, they are built right on piers that hang out into the water. Pretty cool, at least for one night. The other cool thing is the use of bikes, which we would have used to cruise the riverwalk if it hadn't been raining and cold (this is Oregon in the spring!). The breakfast was pretty good, but I think it would be a zoo if the place was full during summer.

Not sure if they should renovate the rooms, or just tear it down and start over, but it was an OK sleep for one night, and cheap enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motownbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The motel is an older building, with balconies that overlook the marina, which was nice.The service, and staff, are excellent, and the room was clean, and comfortable.They provide bicycles for the use of patrons, and there are DVD's in the lobby that you can sign out for viewing in your room, which was a nice touch.There is a super nice guy in the breakfast room , but the breakfast itself is meager.Waffles , toast,crumpets, cereal, and oranges.
Only problem: the room we were in had a gaping crack under the door, and when the wind started blowing in the middle of the night, it blew right across our floor , with all the accompanying wind noises.Doorsweeps would make a big difference.
Otherwise a nice weekend; close to everything

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This place, though maybe a bit "dated" (aka what hotel doesn't need a renovation nowadays) is a great hotel in a great location w great staff. The town trolley stops just outside, the 2nd floor view of the marina is lovely, DVD's to borrow, incl Goonies (filmed here in Astoria)… all added up to an exceptional value!! I could only hope to find our next hotel as nice & comfortable & superb location. It certainly deserves a higher place on TripAdvisor's ratings!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PhotoPhritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night and would have to say we would not stay again. The room was clean and the staff friendly but we were not impressed with the outside of the motel. It is a bit old and outdated. We went down for the breakfast but the area that was set up for the food and eating was so small that we just turned around and left because it was so crowded. I don't know what they do when the place is full. There were not that many people staying there the night we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Room was a bit old and outdated, but not bad for the money. The view of the harbour from most (all?) of the rooms is great and makes this place worth considering. Free breakfast including make your own waffle bar was good too. The only real complaint I have is the size of the bed - it was very small! Lengthwise it was fine but it seemed to have the width of a double bed - not a queen. If you are a couple and like having plenty of room in bed, perhaps request a room with 2 beds and take one each.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Every room looks out at the marina and bridge, and its fun to relax on the balcony and watch the big ships slowly gliding past. The rooms are very comfortable. The owners treat you like family. Fresh baked cookies at night. Coffee and cocoa anytime. Breakfast in the morning. DVD's to check out from their library anytime. And even bikes. This is our favorite place to stay when in the Astoria area. It makes a great base from which to enjoy the upper Oregon coast. Its right on the river walk so you can enjoy wandering along the waterfront for miles. This is one of our very favorite places to visit!

Room Tip: Every room has a fabulous view, overlooking the marina. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLGRDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.4 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#6 of 14 in Astoria
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Riverwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Riverwalk Inn

Address: 400 Industry St, Astoria, OR 97103-6308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range: £73 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Riverwalk Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally opened as the Red Lion – Thunderbird Motor Inn and later simply as the Red Lion, the Astoria Riverwalk Inn was the town’s first waterfront hotel, established in the late 1960s. The Port of Astoria owns the facility, and in September 2015 contracted with new local ownership to assume and improve the Riverwalk Inn operations. The new ownership group is comprised of seasoned business management professionals with significant experience in commercial property development and hospitality, including the development and initial launch of the award-winning Hotel Elliott in downtown Astoria. With a new operating team in place since September 2015, literally everything is new at the Astoria Riverwalk Inn. From the luxurious cotton sheets, redesigned dining area and lobby adorned with local, original artwork; the addition of a continental breakfast; extensive landscaping and general updates throughout (including lots of fresh paint!), guests will gain a sense of renewed care and attention to detail. Other complimentary amenities include a business center just off the lobby, upgraded high-speed Wi-Fi, a DVD library and “Beach Cruiser” bikes for exploring Astoria’s acclaimed four-mile long Riverwalk. We think you’ll find changes to the Astoria Riverwalk Inn create an inviting atmosphere for a restful stay on the waterfront. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Astoria Riverwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing