We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We bought a Groupon deal for a whole week and wanted to leave after the first day. The room was uncomfortable and didn't have enough seating. We could hear the people outside and above us at all hours. We asked for new linens every day, but they were never brought to the room. We had to go to the front desk to get them. We never received the free trolley pass that was included in our Groupon deal. If we had not paid for the room ahead of time, we would have left right away. It seemed like the hotel was pretty empty, but when we asked for a different room, we were told nothing else was available. It was one of our worst vacations ever.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andreafrank02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    211
    141
    92
    66
See reviews for
164
355
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel was clean, nice bed and had a great view with a balcony and chairs. The man checking us in was very happy and helpful. I don't think you can get a room here with a bad view. They had bikes to check out for free and other things like movies and breakfast. I would stay here again. I don't know if we got lucky and had a newly renovated room but I didn't have any of the problems that the other reviews had. I got a great nights sleep, shower worked great and loved being able to sit outside in the morning. I did notice they were out of things like trolley tickets which they had advertised with the room, but we didn't need any of that so it didn't put us out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlynS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, FL
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The inn is pretty old and I was skeptical about its appearance, but pleasantly surprised by our stay. There's no question that it is older and somewhat shabby in appearance, but once you get in, it was really comfortable and most importantly, clean. I was really surprised, however, with the great view from the balcony. II's very picturesque overlooking a beautiful marina. The squeaking sounds of the docks rocked me to sleep and added to its charm. Also, it was reasonably priced and had a decent breakfast included. The check-in staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The kid room is really neat, I will say that. My kids loved the bunk beds and tv. However, the rest of the place needs some serious cleaning and updating. The bed and bed linens were fine, but all the other furniture and the fixtures needed serious cleaning and replacing. Rust and mildew all over and a yucky smell. Our shower barely worked, only half the water went up through the shower head, the rest went down the tub facet. Our traveling companion in another room could not get her shower head to work at all and had to wash her hair under the bathtub faucet. It did not feel clean and we did not take our shoes off. The outside landscaping needs work, it's overgrown and not very inviting. It has some potential, but I would not stay here again until it was totally remodeled!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KLH2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Astoria hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here on a Groupon deal. One night king bed for $60 which included passes for 2 people to 3 different museums in town. This place has definitely seen better days. Didn't have a problem with noise or sleeping. Continental breakfast was sorta minimal & marginal. It was nice having a balcony to watch the marina & river traffic. But I'm thinking the balcony is going to have issues pretty soon & need to be upgraded as the railing seemed a little wobbly. Room on 2nd floor was warm & we slept with the patio door open all night. Room seemed clean, but it is a worn out place. Doubt I'd ever stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My hats off to the architecture and contractor who renovated this old hotel. They managed to keep all the old charm, add woodworking feature which probably were not there in the old structure, and have all the necessary modern features. The rooftop provides a tranquil place to see the town and meet other guests informally. The location is great too.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel probably have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumwater, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and some friends just stayed here and were put right next to the lobby, they offer a continental breakfast and unfortunately they start prepping at 4-430am. They don't hold back on making noise either. We all awoke to Mexican music playing around 5. For the price I would ask for a room a little more distant from the lobby. Most of the staff were great and the location was excellent.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dk63nogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.4 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,207 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
3.8 mi away
Astoria Crest Motel
Astoria Crest Motel
#6 of 14 in Astoria
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Riverwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Riverwalk Inn

Property: Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Address: 400 Industry St, Astoria, OR 97103-6308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Riverwalk Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally opened as the Red Lion – Thunderbird Motor Inn and later simply as the Red Lion, the Astoria Riverwalk Inn was the town’s first waterfront hotel, established in the late 1960s. The Port of Astoria owns the facility, and in September 2015 contracted with new local ownership to assume and improve the Riverwalk Inn operations. The new ownership group is comprised of seasoned business management professionals with significant experience in commercial property development and hospitality, including the development and initial launch of the award-winning Hotel Elliott in downtown Astoria. With a new operating team in place since September 2015, literally everything is new at the Astoria Riverwalk Inn. From the luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets, redesigned dining area and lobby adorned with local, original artwork; the addition of a continental breakfast; extensive landscaping and general updates throughout (including lots of fresh paint!), guests will gain a sense of renewed care and attention to detail. Other complimentary amenities include a business center just off the lobby, upgraded high-speed Wi-Fi, a DVD library and “Beach Cruiser” bikes for exploring Astoria’s acclaimed four-mile long Riverwalk. We think you’ll find changes to the Astoria Riverwalk Inn create an inviting atmosphere for a restful stay on the waterfront. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Astoria Riverwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing