We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical with view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Astoria Crest Motel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We go to Astoria a couple of times a year, and we strayed from the Crest for awhile due to a (one-time) experience with a cranky guy manning the desk. We decided to give the Crest another chance this past weekend, and we're glad we did; the crabby-pants fellow appeared to not be working there anymore, the view is still spectacular, and the price is as reasonable as ever.
The room was freshly painted, which was a nice touch. The TV is old-school, but channels are in HD now, so it looks fine.The Continental breakfast is standard pastries, o.j. and coffee, and you pick it up in the office (no, it's not delivered to your door). I've never had a problem with noise at the Crest, and I'm the lightest of light sleepers. However, we do always stay in the first building (50s rooms), so I have no idea about the noise level of the other buildings.
I see a few people's reviews complained about mold, and I saw none. Considering Astoria gets upwards of 70 inches of rain a year, I'm quite amazed. And as an Oregonian, I wish they would let me in on their mold prevention technique (every Oregonian needs one)!
All in all, the Crest is a dependable, inexpensive motel that we've found very reliable over the years. If you are looking for fancy furnishings and name-brand shampoo, this is not the place for you. But if you just want the basics and don't want to break the bank, I highly recommend the Crest.

Room Tip: Queen, non-smoking view rooms have always been satisfactory. Upstairs is great, but down have the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortlandKayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stay here evey year and are never disappointed. The rooms are large, clean, quiet and well maintained. They are dated in decore, but the beds are comfortable. The view is spectacular, no other hotel in Astoria offers such a view. The desk and cleaning staff are pleasant and friendly. The contenental breakfast is limited to pastries and coffee, but the coffee is excellent. The price is below average for Astoria and is reasonable for this motel..

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor first building for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomas29144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This is an old fasioned motel with a view to die for. It is quiet, out of the way, a few minutes only to wonderful downtown Astoria and all it has to offer. The rooms are vintage, comfortable but not a lot of bells and whistles. It's that view and the romance that we love so much. The price, considering what that view could cost is down-right cheap. This may not be the place for everyone, as there are newer and fancier places downtown, but you should give it a try knowing what it is not. What it is is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Inquire about the rooms with enormous picture windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I spent 2 days here and was more than happy with what it provided for the cost. Yes, it needs some updating. Yes, it's "tired" overall. And no, it's not the most luxurious place. But it is clean, the rooms are very large with many amenities (fridge, microwave, ample furniture) and I don't think there's a better view of the Columbia river in town.

The staff was very friendly, both during the reservation process and also during my stay. I was impressed that it had a laundry facility, which is very important for a pack-light traveler like myself, and the wi-fi was top notch. One thing to note is that they (the owners) appear very intent on fixing the place up. That was apparent by all the work being done to it during the day while I was there.

My only complaint is that the television was too small and placed way in the corner of the room-- out of visibility to the bed and pretty much anywhere but the table area. Normally this is an odd observation, but the room was so large that the size vs distance of the TV made its use nothing more than background noise.

If/when I return to Astoria, I'll have no problem staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the 2nd floor of building 2 for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChaosTheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Crest has unquestionably the best view in Astoria. Each room faces down the Columbia River toward the Megler-Astoria Bridge and the blue Pacific beyond which can provide for some fantastic sunsets- or not. Heavy fog is always a possibiity as well so be prepared even in the summer- but this is Astoria! We stayed at the Crest for three nights in late August and there wasn't an empty room. Unfortunatley, you can hear just about every thing that goes on around you from within your room. The walls are paper thin and the parking area seems to focus sound into the rooms. The place is fine for the fishing crowd who are up early but if your a light sleeper - its over at 5 AM!
Also, if you accidentally leave something in the room, don't expect to see it again.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room if you can to minimize noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russ l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is not the fanciest of places, but I'd never pass up the chance to stay here!!!!!!! It is typically very clean, the front desk folks are so helpful and kind. We always get an upper story room which faces the river -- great view!

Room Tip: Second story toward the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishead6427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stopped here at the Crest motel when visiting Astoria the other day. We were looking for a pet friendly hotel that didn't break the bank. Crest was under 75$, the rooms were clean and bright, the check in clerk was friendly and helpful, and there was even a hot tub for us to soak after our long drive. The tub was open until 10, and 10 came and went, and nobody kicked us out. We also had a room with a view of the river/mountains and a back porch that opened into grass/trees/water. It was a wonderful little place that we will stay in again! Highly recommended :)

Room Tip: had no problems with number 28!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firecurlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
3.8 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
763 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
4.2 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
2.6 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astoria
218 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Crest Motel

Address: 5366 Leif Erikson Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-2110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Astoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: £46 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Crest Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epic Views of History. Visually stunning views of the Columbia River. Large ship traffic up and down the river make the Astoria Crest Motel the perfect spot for any traveler ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Astoria Crest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing