We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a room with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Astoria Crest Motel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Heeding the dodgier reviews we booked a double queen with view. We weren't disappointed. Spotlessly clean, and quiet as long as you are away from the highway. And above all that view!! We even think we heard the sea lions.

Other highlights - really fluffy towels, good coffee in the rooms and a simple but adequate continental breakfast. The place just seems well run.

Watch out for: no a/c (not a problem for us Brits on a cool night); some noise from adjoining bathrooms and rather dodgy wifi. But we would come back and stay here in preference to the expensive hotels in the industrial town centre.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank HampshireNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just realized this property has been sold and happy to see they are still fairly competitive with prices. We have stayed at the Crest Motel a few times before from a top floor river view room to an adorable, yet small corner room. Always a nice stay and great location. If you like crafted beer, be sure to check out all the award winning Breweries: Fort George Brewery, The Wet Dog Cafe, Buoy
Beer Co., Rogue Ales Public House, Hondo's Brew & Cork, Seaside Brewing Co., Seaside, Oregon.
Astoria is a great small town with lots of history, especially the Lewis & Clark Expedition arriving at the mouth of the Columbia River - visit Fort Clatsop and Fort Stevens near Warrenton, Oregon. Then come back to The Crest Motel for another night of River gazing,

Room Tip: No A/C but on the river near the Pacific Ocean it tends to cool off at night and there was fan. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Based on reviews I asked for a second floor view room--clean, large enough--but not air conditioned. I had to leave the sliding door open for comfort. View was nice and river air cooled room just fine. Morning continental breakfast was adequate, but not varied. No problems with noise. Didn't even have to make a reservation. Staff said it's necessary on weekends, but not during the week. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank culturevulture94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights after seeing good reviews and pictures online. Upon entering our room, it smelled like dirty feet and a dank swamp. Spiders and HUGE cobwebs were everywhere, including a nest in the bathtub. Linens were stained and every nook and cranny was dirty. We slept with only a sheet and our own pillows. The bathtub drain was also clogged making showering an unpleasant experience. You could also hear everything in the surrounding rooms. If any other establishment would have been available, we would have never set foot at The Crest. Terrible place to stay and a crime for what they charge!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MountainBlueGrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don W, Owner at Astoria Crest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

All comments by guests of the Astoria Crest Motel are very important to us and we value their information greatly. The Crest Motel was sold on July 9th, 2014 and has become the Astoria Crest Motel. As new owners we are developing a team of associates that will endeavor to make your stay with us a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at the Crest Motel once a week for over a year for work - during that time, I probably stayed in every room. Rooms are clean, there's free wifi, and the staff are some of the nicest people in the world. There's a continental breakfast in the morning - simple things like muffins and coffee. The hotel is very quiet, and the rooms have a great view of the Columbia River. Overall, I loved staying here, and will always book a room here when I'm staying in Astoria.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are better than the first floor. Some of the rooms in the back buildings y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here twice, both times for two nights in late as April for the local seafood and wine festival. While the service has been good both times and the amenities and overall room experience just OK the difference between a view room and a room in the back makes a huge difference. First time we stayed it was a family room. Did not know until we got there that it had no view. Seems like these rooms have vacancy often as it smelled musty and everything seemed to have been untouched and therefore dusty. Our most recent stay was in a two queen room on the ground floor with a view. Room was cleaner and the view was great. I lived in Astoria for over 20 years and can say the view here beats that of any other hotel and rivals that of many homes. Good value, but only if you get a view room. We will continue to make this our place to stay, while ensuring a room with a view.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were expecting to have to pay a premium for such a nice view of the estuary, but their rate was great, room clean, wifi worked well, and management nice. Close to highway, but without the noise. Just what you need when passing through. This last sentence is to fill up the space to reach the Tripadvisor 200 character minimum review length (what else do you need to know about a motel?).

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Eltjo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
3.8 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
757 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
3.7 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Crest Motel

Address: 5366 Leif Erikson Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-2110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: £56 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Crest Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epic Views of History. Visually stunning views of the Columbia River. Large ship traffic up and down the river make the Astoria Crest Motel the perfect spot for any traveler ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Astoria Crest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing