We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easily our favorite hotel of our northeast Oregon trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elliott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Elliott
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
313 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Easily our favorite hotel of our northeast Oregon trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Of our five-night whirlwind vacation in northeastern Oregon, this was easily our favorite hotel of the places we stayed. This is an older hotel in Astoria’s downtown area. The room was on the small side, but it was nicely furnished, clean, and didn’t reek of corporate standardization. The restroom was large and luxurious. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful, and knew the ins and outs of the local parking regulations. They advised us to stay parked on the street right across from the hotel in the two-hour zone because enforcement ended in the evening and didn’t start again until we were gone, so that worked well. Be sure to visit the hotel’s rooftop deck, which affords great views of the town, the Columbia River, and the bridge to Washington. There are a number of interesting local businesses in the downtown area, easily within walking distance of the hotel and we ended up eating a T. Paul’s Urban Café and it was very good (but that’s another review). We wished we could have stayed longer in the hotel and in Astoria, but basically climbed the Astoria column, stopped at the maritime museum, and visited a couple of Goonies-related sites and had to move on. Hope we can get this way someday!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmarkwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    126
    28
    16
    13
See reviews for
37
233
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

It was a lovely place to stay. Really old world and funky, but totally modern and lovely. Great wine-bar and roof garden space. Staff were lovely, welcoming and obliging. Couldn't ask for more. AstoriIa was really lovely too - fab market on Sunday afternoon and reception staff recommended dinner at baked Alaska and that was really good too. Superb breakfast - great range, very fresh.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesblyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Spent one night at the Elliott in August. It's a well preserved and renovated hotel from long ago that looks to be well maintained and managed today. The desk clerk was helpful and went to great detail on how to deal with some of the street closings in Astoria due to the Regatta going on there. The room was good sized for an old hotel, was clean and the bed comfortable.

But what I really loved was this: the room has no AC. Doesn't need it. Two large windows open up right next to the bed so you can take advantage of the lovely coastal air. Astoria is the kind of town that closes up early, so even with the windows open you could have heard a pin drop outside. What a delight to be able to enjoy a good night sleep without a noisy air conditioner pumping out moldy air on you all night!

Continental breakfast is served, and it's better than I thought it would be. Most of the stuff served is produced locally, and the food is watched over carefully by the staff to make sure it's fresh and plentiful.

On the corner of the hotel on the ground floor is a window display about the "Astoria Clowns". It's dated and is pretty campy, I liked it a lot. Being a downtown hotel it's close to restaurants and the river, so it's a perfect base for exploring Astoria on foot. The Ft. George Public House is just a couple of blocks, so you can drink all you want and not have to worry about driving!

Astoria is a working town on the Oregon coast. It's not right on the beach, but there is an authenticity about Astoria that is apparent and to me it's one of Oregon's most interesting, scenic, and pleasant places to visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonGregorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1313, General Manager at Hotel Elliott, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Wow! We really appreciate your comments and how you touched on some of the many things we try to do here to make this a great hotel
Our hotel presents opportunities to do creative things to ensure we maintain the historic aspects while giving our customers the stay they deserve.
Thanks again for you comments, they support our goals and give us encouragement to continue to make our hotel even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just spent a couple of nights at the Elliott and although the hotel is very nice, lovely in fact, I have a complaint about the manager, we found him to be rude, arrogant and not helpful towards a reservation error. Mr Nelson needs to take some courses about true Customer Service as he has absolutely no idea what it means, he is not meant for the Service Industry.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Netta_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1313, General Manager at Hotel Elliott, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for recognizing how lovely our hotel is. Guests have been very complimentary regarding our new lobby and wine bar remodel.

It is unfortunate the third party booking agent made an error in your reservation and created an inconvenience for you that I was unable to resolve. I understand how this was a frustrating situation for you. We strive to provide a high service experience for all of our guests. I am sorry this issue prevented you from fully enjoying your stay.

Thanks again for the positive things you pointed out in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Excellent service with a very relaxing atmosphere and a classy experience. We enjoyed the breakfast and comfortable room. The roof top garden had a great view and was a nice little bonus to an already wonderful place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Site11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Elliot for 2 nights, and we have nothing but positive reviews. The hotel was really nice and charming. The staff was so helpful and friendly. Beatrice checked us in, and she was so sweet and helpful the whole time. Evonne, who works at the wine bar, was the most amazing person and so incredibly helpful and a pleasure talking with. She really takes an interest in all of the guests. Our room was perfect with a great view and a super comfy bed. The rooftop balcony has the most incredible views of the river, bridge and town. The location is superb as well. You can walk to pretty much everything. The breakfast was great each day as well. I would definitely recommend this boutique hotel to anyone going to visit the beautiful city of Astoria.
Ryan and Jorge
Los Angeles, CA

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanpsaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Like the other Portland lemmings finding the spiking weather of over 100 degrees, we fled for the coast. However we were evidently the last out as everything was booked out on the Northwest Coast. Being members, we called in a favor to the Best Western who blessedly hunted for us and found one Hotel with one room left, Hotel Elliott in Astoria - SOLD! Balking momentarily at the $300.00 Saturday night stay (a little rich for us normally)... we also reluctantly had to leave our furry child BillBailey at home as the hotel does not take animals. Frank looked up the Hotel on line (the site does not capture the Hotel in earnest - its way prettier in person). We booked the room, room 501 the Junior Suite, grabbed my crazy heat parched high school gal pal & the three of us were off to the wilds of Astoria. Hotel Astoria is a circa 1924 Hotel that has been recently (2003) renovated. The proud staff expounded on the Hotel's history & pointed out original sconces and a historic picture hung over the spacious lobby's fireplace. Nicely done! To the left of check in is the Hotel's Wine bar (winetasting 5-8pm) and Continental breakfast area which is included in the rate. We took the squeaky small elevator upstairs momentarily charmed by the "we have great beds “spelled out in the elevator floor tiles, while the elevator bumped & ground herself to the fifth floor. Room 501/Junior Suite a corner suite with excellent lighting and is drop dead gorgeous with great views of the River. Elegantly appointed looks and feels like Old San Francisco circa 1925 - very well done. In our room we enjoyed: Incredible bed side gold sconces by day/ red sconces at night (neat), goose down pillows, hi-thread count duvet covers, cedar closets, heated bathroom floor tiles, super comfy beds (it’s true!), fireplace, and flat screened TVs. Sunday morning we discover Astoria's food & art scene which seemingly sprouted overnight at our doorstep called the Astoria Sunday Market. We greatly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this gem of a Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelswithd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.1 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#7 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#9 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elliott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elliott

Property: Hotel Elliott
Address: 357 12th St, Astoria, OR 97103-4119
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#5 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elliott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic hotel is located in downtown Astoria and has most of the modern day amenities and all of the old time charm. Features 32 guest rooms and suites-all luxuriously appointed with heated bathroom floors and "Wonderful Beds." Some rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Stroll out the door to restaurants, museums and the riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Elliott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing