We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap but worth every penny!”
Review of Hotel Elliott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elliott
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The convenience of staying at the Elliott helped us see more of Astoria and the surrounding area without too much driving time. We stayed in a mini-suite on the second floor just opposite the elevator. We thought the proximity to the elevator would be an issue. But we never heard a sound. We also never had a problem parking free on the street in front of the hotel as long as we were gone by 11:00am in the morning.

Room Tip: see write-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Astoria is a surprising gem at the mouth of the Columbia river. Staying in the heart of Astoria is the only way to go. The location was great as we could walk everywhere. Our stay started with a friendly welcome from the beautiful front desk. The room was a little bit on the small size as is expected in this old world Hotel. But the entire room was newly decorated and very clean and the bed was very comfortable.
One of the highlights of this classic is the open roof top seating area that made a great venue to watch the sunset over the 101 bridge.
We will be back in Astoria and we will stay at the Hotel Elliot on our next visit.
Finally I had left my camera battery charger in our room and didn't discover my error until we had reach Seattle so I called with little hope of getting my charger back. To my surprise I was informed on my first call that, "Yes sir we have your charger and battery where should we send it." What a relief.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Restored old downtown hotel, really nicely done and well-run. Our group of three had a two-room suite, one king bedroom plus a foldout bed in the large, comfortable seating room. Price was a considerable savings over what two rooms would have cost us at one of the chains. The furnishings were top drawer. Rooftop deck is very pretty and gives a good view of this old fishing-canning town. The complimentary breakfast was a step up from Hampton Inn level. The bed was wonderful, as promised, and the heated bathroom floor an unexpected luxury. I was impressed by every aspect of this hotel, wish I could find one like it everywhere I go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankOphelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a gorgeous small hotel. We arrived in Astoria late so not much choice left for a bed for the night. This was a bit pricey but worth it, beautiful decor, luxurious room, super comfy bed, friendly helpful staff and lovely breakfast. The rooftop deck is a lovely place to while away some time, and the town is very pleasant. All in all a great stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Wonderful beds is the motto of the hotel, and it is accurate. Our 4th floor room had a view of the river and the historic downtown. I liked the heated bathroom floor a lot. The closet is lined with cedar and has an automatic light. The rooftop is lovely. The Sunday farmers' and artists' market starts at 10:30 right outside the front door. It's a great location. Walking distance to a lot of nice places to eat and drink. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heycradler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed in Hotel Elliott for 1 night on our 11 day west coast trip (Portland/Cannon Beach/Seattle). The ride up from Cannon Beach was a breeze with minimal traffic and pretty views along the way. We did not plan ahead to stay in Astoria so our last minute rate of $179/night seemed fair for a Queen room. Only issue is that the bed looked and felt more like a double – regardless, it was a place to stay and relax before moving on the next day.

Our room was cozy and clean with a very large bathroom and nice shower. Front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. Per the other reviews, breakfast was tasty and plentiful with various options. The hotel has a nice rooftop patio for guests, however, the chairs were so uncomfortable it was impossible to lounge around longer than 20 minutes without your bum falling asleep on the metal grates. I would the hotel invest in some nice pads for the chaise lounges and chairs.

Visiting Astoria is like taking a step back in time. Astoria is a city of 10,000 people on the Columbia River, just a few miles from the Pacific Ocean and it’s the oldest American settlement west of the Rockies. The city lines the south banks of the Columbia River, and the north banks of Young's bay. The area is rich in scenic beauty, with a vista of the Pacific Ocean and its endless miles of sandy beaches viewed from a top of Astoria's historic Column.

The town center is rich with little shops, cafes and restaurants – they even have an actual old fashioned J.C. Penney’s on Main Street! Some cruise ships do come into port here for the day so there is some tourist activity during the day. We checked out Wet Dog Café & Brewpub for a few local beers and gorgeous views of the river and the shipping lanes - had a wonderful lunch at the Silver Salmon Grille and spent a couple hours exploring around the town. We ended up at small cafe/bar and sat at the bar for dinner. Just keep in mind this is a small town that starts to roll up the sidewalks around 9pm. We ordered our food at 8:45 and were told that the kitchen was just about to close (!). One day is definitely enough to see the sights in Astoria.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank suzyjacuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We did a road trip from Victoria to Portland and decided to stop in Astoria. We stayed at the Hotel Elliot which turned out to be a great decision. Very comfortable room. The hotel has some old charm and it has been recently updated. The rooftop deck is a great place to view the Columbia River.
An employee gave us a tour of the presidential suite. It's amazing, book it if you can afford it.
Hotel is located near lots of good restaurants and coffee shops.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jgoatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
1.1 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
1.5 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elliott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elliott

Address: 357 12th St, Astoria, OR 97103-4119
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#5 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: £96 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elliott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic hotel is located in downtown Astoria and has most of the modern day amenities and all of the old time charm. Features 32 guest rooms and suites-all luxuriously appointed with heated bathroom floors and "Wonderful Beds." Some rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Stroll out the door to restaurants, museums and the riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elliott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing