We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvelous hotel in downtown Astoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Elliott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elliott
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Marvelous hotel in downtown Astoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We very randomly happened in to the Hotel Elliott and were delighted with what we found. This older building has been lovingly renovated with modern conveniences while retaining the feel of its heritage.

Our room was nicely appointed. The original fireplace had been converted to a gas fireplace-an amenity we greatly appreciated on a cold, wet December evening. The bathroom floor was heated, also a big plus in cold weather. The bed was very comfortable. There was a large flat screen TV. We liked having the coffee machine and microwave in our room. The only thing missing was perhaps one brighter light for reading.

The morning breakfast was amazing. While billed as a continental breakfast, it was really a full breakfast with eggs, sausage, hash browns as well as cereals, fruit, yogurt, toast, rolls, etc. No one leaves hungry.

The location is perfect. The downtown is right there, meaning it is a quick walk to restaurants and shops. There is free parking in a lot just around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blaireau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    127
    28
    16
    13
See reviews for
37
235
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Enjoyed the Elliott for it's location, boutique feel and reasonable off season rate. Definitely better then a run of the mill chain hotel. We had a queen room which was smallish but the bathroom was large and there was a fridge, microwave and large flat screen TV. Good free wireless. I noticed that the rooms vary a bit. If you want more space and/or a sitting area, book a suite. Loved its proximity to the Fort George Brewery. Enjoyed good winter weather and sat by the roof top fire pit at night. The hotel was very quiet at night, at least when we were there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hotel Elliott is an older hotel in downtown Astoria, but one that is in decent shape and overall a fun place to stay. Rates are reasonable, breakfast is good (relative to other free hotel/motel breakfasts), there is a gas fireplace on the roof that is nice if it isn't raining, wine bar in the evening (off the hotel lobby).

This may sound strange, but I do have one warning and it is about a REALLY slick couch in the breakfast/wine bar area. My granddaughter was sitting with another little girl looking out the window (actually kneeling), her knees slipped back and she hit her chin on the top of the couch (which was hard). She bit her tongue very, very badly requiring a visit to the hospital. I kick myself for not recognizing that hazard beforehand.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, or up higher in the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you had seen this hotel in its run-down state, you would have a hard time believing what the restoration accomplished. After a few years, a few minor things are getting a little tired again, but it's still a lovely boutique hotel with beaucoup character. Reasonably priced, especially when you consider the nice breakfast. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
363 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel was not our first choice, but should have been. After loosing out on a room to a wedding party at our first choice, we counted ourselves lucky to have experienced the Hotel Elliott. Perfect location central to many historically interesting attractions, from the former County Jail, now The Oregon State Film Museum, the Captain George Flavel House Museum, the Astor Hotel, Liberty Theater and May 11th thru October 20th, the large Sunday Market is right out the the front door. The Market covers four or five blocks with a parking lot full of booths at both ends. The Market consists of famers, artisans, craftspeople and specialty local foods. The hotels complimentary breakfast consists of many familiar items, but is far superior in quality to any we have had in the past or since this stay. Also do not forget to take a drink and snack up to the rooftop deck for a beautiful sunset if weather permits.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

If you enjoy the experience of a traditional old style, top-quality hotel, this is the perfect place. The friendly, welcoming staff lend it an air of relaxed informality. The room was comfortable and ample, the rooftop terrace an ideal place to enjoy a great view of the city with a nice drink in hand. The fine breakfast included hit the spot in the morning. In short, couldn't have asked for a more suitable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I might as well have been checking in via kiosk. The agent was professional but lacked any kind of warmth that you expect from a small independent historic hotel. The only pleasantries were exchanged at the end and she made it seem profuctory at best. Once in the room the desk chair was ratty and had what appeared to be toothpaste smeared on it. I called down and asked for another chair. It was clear she felt bothered to do so but she did switch it out.
On a positive note breakfast is good

Room Tip: On a previous trip I stayed in the fireplace room it was nice. The rooms over all need some attentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1313, General Manager at Hotel Elliott, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
We are not surprised we couldn’t hit the mark with your visit.
You anger towards our cancellation policy apparently was lingering when you arrived at our hotel.
We work hard to please every guest within our abilities and try never to seem “perfunctory” in our service delivery.
We realize you have a choice when you travel and you have the right to exercise that choice on your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.1 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#7 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
1.5 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#8 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elliott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elliott

Property: Hotel Elliott
Address: 357 12th St, Astoria, OR 97103-4119
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#5 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elliott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic hotel is located in downtown Astoria and has most of the modern day amenities and all of the old time charm. Features 32 guest rooms and suites-all luxuriously appointed with heated bathroom floors and "Wonderful Beds." Some rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Stroll out the door to restaurants, museums and the riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elliott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing