We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely old hotel.”
Review of Hotel Elliott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Elliott
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsboro, OR.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Elliott. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The free breakfast was very good. The only negative thing I can say about the hotel is the price of the wine at the wine bar. It seemed a little on the expensive side. If we go to Astoria again we will certainly stay at the Elliott.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    127
    29
    16
    13
See reviews for
37
236
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
410 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 744 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had just one night to stay in Astoria and we stayed at the Hotel Elliott. Although short, we had a very nice stay. The hotel is right in the middle of downtown Astoria, so the location was great for easy walking to the Riverwalk, shopping, and restaurants in town. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms were very nice. The bed was comfortable, the room was spacious and well-decorated, and the bathrooms were clean. They have heated stone floors in the bathrooms, great to keep your feet warm after getting out of the shower. The breakfast was really good, with a great selection of eggs, toast, cereal, fruit, and other items. My favorite about the hotel, though, was the rooftop garden. From up here, there are great views of Astoria and the Columbia River. We arrived after dark, but I bet the garden would be a fantastic place to watch the sunset, without even leaving the hotel. We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Astoria.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmpncsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The owners have done a wonderful job restoring this hotel! Our room was a good size with a very very comfortable bed. The bathroom was large with shampoo and soap I would actually go out and buy. When I booked the hotel I didn't realize breakfast was included. We were pleasantly surprised by the full, freshly prepared breakfast.

We didn't get a chance to try out the wine bar, but it looked like a nice place to sit and enjoy a couple glasses of local wine.

Next time we travel to Astoria we'll plan to stay longer at the Hotel Elliott.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We really enjoyed our weekend stay at Hotel Elliott. Right in the center of town, the staff was friendly, and the room was cute. We were blown away by the complimentary breakfast, which was delicious. The fitness room is small but well appointed. Only complaint was that I had brought along some work to do and the wifi was really slow. But all in all would highly recommend this place and will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We very randomly happened in to the Hotel Elliott and were delighted with what we found. This older building has been lovingly renovated with modern conveniences while retaining the feel of its heritage.

Our room was nicely appointed. The original fireplace had been converted to a gas fireplace-an amenity we greatly appreciated on a cold, wet December evening. The bathroom floor was heated, also a big plus in cold weather. The bed was very comfortable. There was a large flat screen TV. We liked having the coffee machine and microwave in our room. The only thing missing was perhaps one brighter light for reading.

The morning breakfast was amazing. While billed as a continental breakfast, it was really a full breakfast with eggs, sausage, hash browns as well as cereals, fruit, yogurt, toast, rolls, etc. No one leaves hungry.

The location is perfect. The downtown is right there, meaning it is a quick walk to restaurants and shops. There is free parking in a lot just around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blaireau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Enjoyed the Elliott for it's location, boutique feel and reasonable off season rate. Definitely better then a run of the mill chain hotel. We had a queen room which was smallish but the bathroom was large and there was a fridge, microwave and large flat screen TV. Good free wireless. I noticed that the rooms vary a bit. If you want more space and/or a sitting area, book a suite. Loved its proximity to the Fort George Brewery. Enjoyed good winter weather and sat by the roof top fire pit at night. The hotel was very quiet at night, at least when we were there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hotel Elliott is an older hotel in downtown Astoria, but one that is in decent shape and overall a fun place to stay. Rates are reasonable, breakfast is good (relative to other free hotel/motel breakfasts), there is a gas fireplace on the roof that is nice if it isn't raining, wine bar in the evening (off the hotel lobby).

This may sound strange, but I do have one warning and it is about a REALLY slick couch in the breakfast/wine bar area. My granddaughter was sitting with another little girl looking out the window (actually kneeling), her knees slipped back and she hit her chin on the top of the couch (which was hard). She bit her tongue very, very badly requiring a visit to the hospital. I kick myself for not recognizing that hazard beforehand.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, or up higher in the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.1 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
1.5 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elliott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elliott

Property: Hotel Elliott
Address: 357 12th St, Astoria, OR 97103-4119
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#5 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elliott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic hotel is located in downtown Astoria and has most of the modern day amenities and all of the old time charm. Features 32 guest rooms and suites-all luxuriously appointed with heated bathroom floors and "Wonderful Beds." Some rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Stroll out the door to restaurants, museums and the riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elliott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing