We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Elliott makes Astoria what it is!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Elliott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elliott
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Astoria
1 review
“Hotel Elliott makes Astoria what it is!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

This hotel, located in the heart of downtown Astoria, is truly a hidden gem. Every time I stay at the Hotel Elliott I feel truly blessed. Every detail has been considered down to the products used in the bathrooms. The tag line of "Great Beds" is true. I have never been so comfortable in a hotel bed as I am in the Hotel Elliott rooms. I hope they find a way to re-open the Cigar Room soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SomeoneSomewhere09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    127
    28
    16
    13
See reviews for
37
235
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

The location was excellent with good views from the roof terrace (reached by steep stairs). The room we had was Ok for a short stay but would be a little cramped after a while as there was very little hanging space for clothes even though there was a huge cabinet for the TV! The bed was comfortable but exceedingly creaky emitting loud noises when turning over.
The one receptionist (Dutch) was very welcoming and cheerful but the others were polite but not too friendly. The free wine we had at the bar across the road was nothing special. The breakfast was served there as well and was OK but a bit of a let down.
Astoria's a cute little place but probably not worth a long stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyWoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

We stayed at the Elliott for our anniversary. It was a spontanious trip and the owner happened to be in the lobby and upgraded us to a suite. The front desk was extremely helpful and the room was gorgeous. Had a wonderful time and a very good complimentary breakfast the next morning. We love Astoria and have always wanted to stay at the Elliott. So glad we did. The rooftop terrace was so cozy with it's gas firepit and panoramic view of the town and river. Our stay could not have been better. Thanks for a wonderful time.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lynniepoopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

Not wanting to drive back to Portland after visiting Astoria, I called the Hotel Elliott and was quoted a rate of $86.90 (included the tax) for the night. Imagine my surprise when receiving my Visa bill with a room charge of $196.90. After several call to the Hotel Elliott ( I was told the only person who could handle this was out on maternity leave!!) I left several messages and NEVER got a call back. Visa fixed the problem after I sent my invoice. I have stayed at this hotel a few times and do like the location and comfy beds. The back office is another story.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yancey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

May web special offered wine reception with our room rate and they did not make good on this. No closet in room, room small and the bathroom sink was dirty. No window screens or stops on big windows. One desk staffer was brunette but had several "blonde" moments the other was not personable at all. They're slogan is "wonderful beds". Just because there is a down comforter on a bed does not make it wonderful. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teetee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

We stayed at the Elliott for Valentine's and WOW... what an experience! We were overjoyed with our stay and can't say enough about it! The two individuals working the desk were great -- and very accommodating. Our check-in couldn't have gone better. Upon entering our room, we were quite charmed to see a long stemmed rose and rose petals on our bed. Chocolate truffles were also placed sporadically among the petals. The room was lovely! (King with a fireplace & view of the Astoria bridge). It was evident that a lot of time and consideration went into the remodel. We watched the "somewhat overcast" sunset from the Elliott's Rooftop Deck - equipped with fire pits, a barbecue, Adirondacks, a fountain, and a garden. Overall a wonderful experience! Great beds by the way!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

This hotel is in a good location, close to shops and dining...but we didn't want to leave! We spent the evening the basement wine bar and in the cigar lounge. The room was beautiful and comfortable - nicely remodeled, still had character. The bathroom was great, especially the Aveda products. The shower had great water pressure, which is something we really appreciated after getting absolutely soaked at the beach. The only thing we wished for was a mini fridge. Will stay again!

  • Liked — Friendly, comfortable, beautifully remodelled
  • Disliked — no mini fridge, not the best view from our room
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.1 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
1.5 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elliott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elliott

Property: Hotel Elliott
Address: 357 12th St, Astoria, OR 97103-4119
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#5 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elliott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic hotel is located in downtown Astoria and has most of the modern day amenities and all of the old time charm. Features 32 guest rooms and suites-all luxuriously appointed with heated bathroom floors and "Wonderful Beds." Some rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Stroll out the door to restaurants, museums and the riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elliott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing