We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, OK stay.”
Review of Hotel Elliott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elliott
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unique, OK stay.”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This is an older hotel in the center of downtown Astoria. The hotel has been updated to today’s standards but needs better air control systems in the guest rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunSandH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    130
    31
    17
    13
See reviews for
37
244
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, WV
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

In a time when hotels are begging for travelers and good deals abound, the best price I could get for this hotel was $169 which was about twice the amount its' worth. It may be old (it smells like it) and historic, but its not a place to go out of your way to visit. Neither is Astoria. The city has long since seen its glory and in the middle of July was the proverbial dead as a doornail. I think you could see this city within one hour.

Back to the Hotel Elliott-some rooms have a/c and some don't. We weren't given a choice when we checked in and after fooling with our thermostat just assumed a/c wasn't available-strange because even though the weather was cool it was still humid and a/c would have contributed to a good nite's sleep. No screens on the windows we opened either - no business center - a good price for this property would be below $100

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mbgregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Old downtown hotel upgraded maybe 4 years ago? Booked two of the cheapest rooms available, one street side and one not. Street side room a little noisy at night, other side had a little noise from rooftop fans. Rooms small, nicely appointed, clean, fabulous beds! Bathrooms nicely appointed, but very small - it's all very euro-looking and feeling. Loads of charm, loved the wine bar in the basement. Nice breakfast. Several restaurants nearby with many galleries to walk through. The Sunday market is great! Parking is a little dicey, but is free in a lot across the street if you can get in.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJCsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2009

This hotel, located in the heart of downtown Astoria, is truly a hidden gem. Every time I stay at the Hotel Elliott I feel truly blessed. Every detail has been considered down to the products used in the bathrooms. The tag line of "Great Beds" is true. I have never been so comfortable in a hotel bed as I am in the Hotel Elliott rooms. I hope they find a way to re-open the Cigar Room soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SomeoneSomewhere09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

The location was excellent with good views from the roof terrace (reached by steep stairs). The room we had was Ok for a short stay but would be a little cramped after a while as there was very little hanging space for clothes even though there was a huge cabinet for the TV! The bed was comfortable but exceedingly creaky emitting loud noises when turning over.
The one receptionist (Dutch) was very welcoming and cheerful but the others were polite but not too friendly. The free wine we had at the bar across the road was nothing special. The breakfast was served there as well and was OK but a bit of a let down.
Astoria's a cute little place but probably not worth a long stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyWoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We stayed at the Elliott for our anniversary. It was a spontanious trip and the owner happened to be in the lobby and upgraded us to a suite. The front desk was extremely helpful and the room was gorgeous. Had a wonderful time and a very good complimentary breakfast the next morning. We love Astoria and have always wanted to stay at the Elliott. So glad we did. The rooftop terrace was so cozy with it's gas firepit and panoramic view of the town and river. Our stay could not have been better. Thanks for a wonderful time.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lynniepoopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Not wanting to drive back to Portland after visiting Astoria, I called the Hotel Elliott and was quoted a rate of $86.90 (included the tax) for the night. Imagine my surprise when receiving my Visa bill with a room charge of $196.90. After several call to the Hotel Elliott ( I was told the only person who could handle this was out on maternity leave!!) I left several messages and NEVER got a call back. Visa fixed the problem after I sent my invoice. I have stayed at this hotel a few times and do like the location and comfy beds. The back office is another story.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yancey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.1 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,218 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astoria
211 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elliott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elliott

Property: Hotel Elliott
Address: 357 12th St, Astoria, OR 97103-4119
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#5 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elliott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic hotel is located in downtown Astoria and has most of the modern day amenities and all of the old time charm. Features 32 guest rooms and suites-all luxuriously appointed with heated bathroom floors and "Wonderful Beds." Some rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Stroll out the door to restaurants, museums and the riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Elliott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing