We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated website and lack of day to day details.”
Review of Hotel Elliott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elliott
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Outdated website and lack of day to day details.”
Reviewed 9 April 2010

I was told the hotel has a new manager and it is also has a tax lien on it by the City of Astoria, owning the city over $62,000. The website says the room comes with a breakfast, but it is only a continental breakfast.. There is no eggs and bacon, no toast or decaf coffee. Only cereal, pastries and hard boil eggs, serve in the lobby. We stayed in room 201, which had french glass doors, not very secure. The room had a seperate bedroom with tv/dvd player and a living room area with a very small desk, taken up with the coffee pot tray and telephone, very small flat screen tv, microwave, chair, sofa, coffee table and end table. The bathroom was off of the living room. No fridge, the wireless internet signal was very weak and there was no information package in the room. Our bathroom had no hand towels, burn out overhead light and mold starting in shower grout. The hotel has no parking lot, only street parking and a city lot in the next block. There is a smell in the lobby and hallway. The best thing about the hotel is its downtown location near many restuarants. If the new manager get the day to day details corrected, maybe if would be again be a place to stay. But right now I would go with another hotel in Astoria.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lgrohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthPacificMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Elliott, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your stay. We appreciate all guest responses. Our website has been completely updated as have other sites with whom we partner. Room 201 is typically a highly sought after room with its generous size and separate parlor and bedroom, heated stone bathroom floor, cedar lined closets and high thread count sheets and upgraded beds and bedding. We have added a refrigerator at your suggestion. Also, we have modified the complimentary continental breakfast and have been receiving good comments from the guests. We appreciate you taking the time to connect with us after your stay to expand on the details of your post. Best regards, John Taffin, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    127
    29
    16
    13
See reviews for
37
237
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Co.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

I stayed in su. 301. Windows do not block out the sound from the busy traffic it's next to. Way too LOUD!!! I would never stay here again. The maids were not consistent with giving packages of coffe everyday. Nor did we recieve clean towls or clean cups every day. The bed was hard. There was no bar open. Had contenental breakfast nothing fantsy. The pull out bed in couch was even harder. hotel had a old smell to it, you could smell rite away.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deanCo_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

I checked in later in the evening and took the stairs up to my 3rd floor room. The polite young man at the desk, the cozy lobby, cool old staircase and clean, quite hallway made a good first impression. My room was nice, smaller, but plenty of space to store my clothes and a big bed with classy deep red coverlet and more pillows than one could use! The bathroom was clean and stocked with Aveda products. There was a built-in bookcase with take one, leave one books by the gas fireplace. On the desk there was a basket of snacks that you could buy for reasonable prices and the lighting and window treatments were unique and useful. When unpacking, I found that someone had forgotten a pair of shorts in the back corner of one of my drawers, so I took them down to the desk so they could be returned to the previous guest of that room. The young man at the desk started apologizing profusely and offered to upgrade my room because he felt it was so unacceptable and embarrassing that I had to deal with that. Seriously, it was no big deal and could easily be missed, I wasn't complaining, I just wanted to try to get them back to the owner because I would hope someone would try to help me if I accidentally forgot something of mine. But, I took the upgrade, why not? The top floor room was awesome. It had a jacuzzi tub in the mosaic tiled, heated floor bathroom. Plus a walk in shower and even MORE Aveda products. A full sitting room that felt like your cool aunt's living room. Two TVs, one a small flatscreen you could watch in the amazingly comfortable bed. The drapes covered my four giant windows facing the bay and the beautiful historic town well, so that it was nice and dark for sleeping like the dead. Loved the Keureg (sp?) coffee machine and the back lit cedar lined closet. The roof is great for the view and would be a fun place to hang out if you were traveling with companions. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was downstairs and pretty darn good, cereal, pastries, bacon and eggs, fruit and juice, milk and coffee. Checking in and out was a breeze...and all this for less than $100!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeAndDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Hotel Elliott is a place to check out, had great time with my husband as we stayed the night. The staff was very friendly, even the Manager greeted us when we arrived. The rooms are on the small side, but they were very clean, and well appointed. The hotel is located right in the downtown area of Astoria so you can walk to about anything you want. There is no restaurant on site but quite a few within walking distance. When at the hotel check out the roof top were you can see all over the city, it would be the perfect place to sit back and relax.

We will come back to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gooberlean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Hotel Elliott is amazing amazing amazing and a must stay during your visit to Astoria. It is a renovated historic hotel with all the gorgeous charm remaining. Rooms are impeccable, as is the guest service. Bonus #1....a gorgeous rooftop (outdoor) deck to sit on lounge chairs and sip a drink, complete with a firepit to keep you warm! Bonus #2, the COOLEST lounge/bar area in the basement of the hotel with an old cigar room like appeal.

You will not regreat your stay at Hotel Elliott.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortlandORChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

On our trip to the Pacific Northwest, my husband and I decided to spend a night in Astoria, OR. We found Hotel Elliott by looking through the Fodor's travel book and decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised! It's a very nicely restored historic hotel in downtown Astoria -- great location. Our room was wonderful, newly remodeled with very nice furnishings. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, and the bathroom was beautiful, large, with granite countertops, nice towels, Aveda products furnished, and clean, clean, clean! The breakfast the next morning in the cozy downstairs restaurant was also very good, with a very friendly waitress! My only regret was that we were only there for one night. We would definitly recommend the Hotel Elliott for your stay while in Astoria.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We usually stay down on the Columbia River when we travel to Astoria, but a discount coupon and our daughters expression of delight when we visited The Hotel Elliot on our last trip prompted us to take the splurge and spend a few nights in Astoria's luxury hotel.

Overall we had a blast once we got settled in. Our first room was a suite on a lower floor on the front of the building which we deduced would be too noisy given this was summer and we like the windows open. One thing we've learned from traveling to San Francisco is that you need to be aware of a room's potential for noise, not only when you check in, but over the next several hours. Seemingly calm areas can get noisy at other times of the day.

The front desk staff happily allowed us to browse the other available rooms and we picked one on a higher floor, which put us that much closer to the hotel's secret perk, the rooftop veranda, complete with Adirondack chairs and propane firepits.

Other than a strange stain on our sheets discovered on our first night, the stay was very nice. Every evening we would steal away up to the rooftop to discretely roast some marshmallows over the propane fires as we huddled against the chill. This is the Oregon coast after all and by 10 oclock or so the days heat has left and a chill fills the air.

In the morning we were sure to go down to the basement where a wonderful breakfast was available, ably presided over by one of the most enjoyable examples of hotel staff you're likely to encounter. THis woman's cheery 'hellos!' to everyone who arrived were interspersed with her rushing around refilling this coffee carafe or that bowl of fruit or checking on the condition of the belgian waffles she pushed on every bleary eyed visitor.

Just coming down for a cup of Joe would be worth it in order to be exposed to this woman's boundless energy! The spread itself was pretty extensive, and slightly changing on a daily basis, as our waffle cook told us she would check the local outdoor market, which convenes on the weekends in the neighboring parking lot [free for hotel guests BTW] for fresh items to add to the buffet. We enjoyed fresh berries and yoghurt which I loved to spoon over the waffle in lieu of syrup.

My only gripe is that for a four-star hotel charging what they do for a room, the least they could do is stock toothbrushes at the front desk. Perhaps this is just a dated practice, but I don't like packing a wet toothbrush back and forth and rather expect the front desk to provide toothbrushes gratis. They do however offer ethernet cables since there is no wireless in the rooms, and all front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleRafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.1 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astoria
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
1.5 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elliott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elliott

Property: Hotel Elliott
Address: 357 12th St, Astoria, OR 97103-4119
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#5 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elliott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic hotel is located in downtown Astoria and has most of the modern day amenities and all of the old time charm. Features 32 guest rooms and suites-all luxuriously appointed with heated bathroom floors and "Wonderful Beds." Some rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Stroll out the door to restaurants, museums and the riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elliott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing