We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great river view; terrific staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

River walk & riverfront "Old 300" trolley are right out the back door. Get a riverside room, sit on the balcony, watch ships pass. Cathedral Tree Trail trailhead is nearby which is a nice stroll in the forest up to the Astoria Column. Walk down 14th St. from the Column, amble over to Josephson's Smokehouse for fine chowder, ride the trolley back to hotel. Great visit & this Hampton Inn is a great base camp.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ojiwankenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

846 - 852 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just an outstanding property, from location and property specifics to location and value.

So much is right with this property that I'll try to be brief and note the high points:
* friendly, helpful front desk staff
* nice rooms, recent furnishings, overall very high level of upkeep
* situated ON the water, immediately adjacent to walking/bike path, and Rogue Brewery taproom (which sits on a pier) about 150 yards away
* these things subject to change, but nightly rate was a bargain IMHO

This is just a terrific value and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danhedonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is new, and beautiful inside and out. I had quite the issue when I checked in, they had cancelled my reservation by a mistake. After about 40 minutes, of beeging the inexperienced front desk girl she contacted her manager. He was very polite, and gracious, and up graded us to a water view room which made my stay, perfect.
I really do recommend this hotel, as its a great view, on a walking running path, great breakfast.
Best part was the doors opening on to the balcony. I did not mind the noise from the sea lions, but light sleepers may.
I do not require allot of TLC while in a hotel, so even thiugh it took 45 minutes to get in to hotel. I was a happy camper the rest of my stay

Room Tip: facing the water, is the only way to go, It made my stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Great hotel, great staff,great location. I travel every week with work across the entire country, this trip sticks out as one of the best. Balconies facing the water, sea lions hanging out by the docks. Great hotel in an amazing town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had a riverview room with a balcony and there was no sight or sound of the dreaded sea lions! There were no chairs on the balcony which surprised us. These were cheerfully provided on request with the proviso that we bring them indoors when not using them, due to the chance of sudden high winds. The WIFI was not consistent. I often had to log in several times a day. We also needed to keep ice packs cold, but not for medical reasons, and found the lack of a small freezer in the fridge to be an inconvenience. But for these minor frustrations I would have given this lovely new hotel five stars. The breakfast was varied and plentiful, the room was quite luxurious and we did have heavy drapes over both the window and the door to the balcony. The staff were super friendly and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean. The proximity of a Safeway is a huge convenience - we purchased dinner there to eat on the balcony - the best view in Astoria!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra and reserve a riverview room with a balcony, preferably on the top floor. Then ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Our stay was very comfortable, and enjoyed the location right next to the Trolley stop and the beautiful Columbia River. The room was huge, and very well appointed. Very clean, and provided us everything we might need to make our stay in Astoria enjoyable. The hot tub (and pool) are salt water and so you don't have the smell of chlorine to deal with..very soothing!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our family stayed a night in this hotel after reading several reviews. Our kids were excited about the fact that there were several sea lions in the area. Our room had a small balcony with a view of the bay and about 15 sea lions. We could definately hear them on the balcony but did not hear them in our room with the balcony door closed. We also had the fan going so that may have blocked any barking as well. Our room was very comfortable and nice. We only had a couple of issues, one being the balcony door has glass and its very bright in the morning. It would have been nice to be able to cover that somehow so we could sleep a bit longer. Our other issue was that we needed a freezer in the little mini fridge to keep some ice packs cold (for medication) and there wasn't one. The staff was very helpful though in keeping them frozen for us and we picked them up in the morning. Kids loved the pool, though they said it was quite cold compared to the other hotels. Hot tub very nice and they have accessibility for those in wheelchairs. Very nice hotel and we would definately stay again. Breakfast very good as well.

Room Tip: If sea lion noise disturbs you, check to see how many are there and if you can get a room far from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tLynn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
3.0 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,253 reviews
2.7 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
763 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#7 of 14 in Astoria
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria

Address: 201 39th St, Astoria, OR 97103-2461
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range: £76 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront of the Columbia River, the Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria offers guest great location to Astoria’s dining and attractions. Each stay includes free hot breakfast, free WiFi access, gym/fitness center and the Clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Riverview rooms with balconies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing