We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel, huge rooms, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New hotel, huge rooms, great location”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in this hotel during our Oregon road trip. Very pleased with the accommodations and friendly staff. Salt water spa and pool. The room was quite large and included a sitting area. View of the river was fantastic and worth a bit higher price. Definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMB535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    201
    52
    18
    13
See reviews for
246
411
35
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband, son and I are staying at this hotel as I type this. We took the advise of others and paid a little extra for a room with a view. The view is great and the room is very nice. There's a place to walk outside the rooms (outside the building) where you can walk off dinner. Pier 39 is very close, just a short walk away.

The hotel room is spacious and clean. The bed is incredibly comfortable with lots of pillows (my husband uses 3 so he was quite happy with the ample supply). The front desk made sure to call a few minutes after we made it to the room to make sure that the room met all of our expectations. The staff in general are accommodating. The salt water pool and jacuzzi make swimming much more enjoyable, with no chlorine to burn the eyes. There is a complimentary breakfast that comes with the room as well. We will be using this hotel as our base camp while we explore Oregon's beaches for the next few days. It's great to have a comfortable, quiet place to stay that's so close to local restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brush Prairie
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We are HHonors members and Hilton Grand Vacation Owners, and would definitely say that this is a Hilton quality hotel. We had a wonderful stay from check-in to check-out! We were celebrating my father's retirement, and they happily upgraded us to their nicest suite with beautiful water views. The entire place is kept perfectly clean. The duvet covers are washed for every new guest. Our kids loved the indoor pool! It was warm enough (and clean enough), so the adults in our group swam, too. The breakfast (good variety and quality) was a great way to start our day. (During our stay in Astoria, we ziplined at High Life Adventures and had a blast!) Thanks to the friendly staff and high quality accommodations, we look forward to returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anbelle3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This hotel is about a year old on the estuary at Astoria. Excellent view of the ships and the coming and goings of fishing boats. Restaurant & tavern walking distance, & THE MOST COMFORTABLE BED EVER!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lenard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Checked in for two nights. Room was great--had to get suite because no kings with water view--and well furnished with very clean linens as advertised. But the service and breakfast were disappointing.

Arrival: no one at reception. Waited 5 minutes for service. Get a bell please. My key didn't work and I had to return to reception. Come on. I was sporting a dislocated shoulder and didn't need the aggravation.

Once in room: nice bright clean room, but no coffee and the coffee maker was dirty. Not a great feeling.

Breakfast in the morning: The waffle was inedible. The egg dish was a terrible, folded omelet with processed cheese. Very poor quality and all served on styrofoam with plastic forks. Really? Coffee and tea were both disappointing. Really, really below average effort here. Fresh fruit and granola are better bet.

Service: Remember that coffee issue? Twice I mentioned it. Coffee make was cleaned. Still no coffee. Took three mentions at reception to get coffee. No excuses for that kind of service.

This is a well situated property on the water, easy in and out with well designed and furnished rooms. But I think management needs to turn it up a notch on the service and breakfast. I didn't feel like I mattered to this establishment at all.

Room Tip: Get the waterfront views. The sunsets are idyllic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMctrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Very clean, brand new hotel. Breakfast was bountiful, excersize room was fantastic and being on the edge of town was really nice. Easy to shoot into town for dinner or to head to any of the parks nearby.

The pool is a salt water pool so it's easier on the eyes.

We were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable this hotel was.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kpow5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

They have a policy to not upgrade HHonor members (front desk told us this). I called HHonors and they called the hotel about not giving out upgrades. HHonors then told me that hotels are not required to follow the HHonors upgrade policy. HHonors also said the hotel claimed their weren't any river view rooms left. I went on line to check and found that they were river rooms available bit at a higher room rate. As a multi-year diamond level HHonors member I am very disappointed with the lack of loyalty.

The location is very good and the hotel seems new and is clean. The breakfast was somewhat below other Hampton Inns and the room we had did not have much hot water.

Room Tip: HHonors members are not respected here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pretep_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.6 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,217 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
2.7 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
716 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#5 of 14 in Astoria
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Address: 201 39th St, Astoria, OR 97103-2461
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront of the Columbia River, the Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria offers guest great location to Astoria’s dining and attractions. Each stay includes free hot breakfast, free WiFi access, gym/fitness center and the Clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Riverview rooms with balconies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing