We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Astoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hampton Inn Astoria”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Excellent hotel! It is conveniently located on the Columbia River and within walking distance of several historic sites, restaurants and pubs. Best Hampton Inn I've stayed in to be sure. I even enjoyed the continuous barking of the sea lions outside my balcony on one of the piers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear David R,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write your review. We love to hear about each and every experience. Please do come back again!
Kind Regards,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    195
    49
    18
    13
See reviews for
238
408
34
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belmar, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed two nights on my trip up the coast. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. I had a waterside room with balcony which was very nice, but be aware that the sea lions that reside waterside bark all day and all night, so be prepared for an opera when the balcony door is opened.

Room Tip: Waterside is noisy, but the view more than makes up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alchemistchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear alchmistchef,
We appreciate you for taking the time to write your review. It makes us happy to know that your room was very clean and comfortable. Thank you very much for choosing to with us!

Kind Regards,

Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Every year we come to Astoria fishing in August and we have stayed at other hotels that are not nearly as nice. The staff we kind and accommodating. The rooms were clean, decorated nicely, and very pleasant. We decided that we would stay here from now on for our annual fishing trip. The hotel has a pol that is indoors and looks over the Columbia river. The river view rooms are nice, but be aware that if you are a light sleeper, the sea lions on the dock below are quite noisy 24 hours a day.

Room Tip: River View Rooms Are Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docallergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear docallergy,
I am so happy that you found us and decided to stay. We are more than grateful to you for your compliments and for taking the time to write your review. We all look forward to your return in August. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us!
Kind Regards,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, WA
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed one Saturday night, beautiful January weather. New hotel and everything looked great. Our room was on 3rd floor with river facing balcony. Apparently our king room was upgraded because it had a microwave and refrigerator as well as a couch (sleeper). We spent some time in the afternoon and in the morning so enjoyed having the couch. Only thing that would have been good to have in room would have been lights above couch. Heat control by thermostat. Nice view out windows and from balcony. The famous sea lion barking could not be heard when balcony door closed (although our room was on far end from where the seal were). Good breakfast, only complaint was the scrambled eggs a definite miss (which is usually the case at morning buffet style). We did not check out the pool until morning and only felt the water. It was warm. Next time we will bring our swim suits.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear rkh29,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us! We all sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write a very kind review. I am so happy that you had a great experience. I will definitely pass the message along to my management team about the lack of light above the sofa, the thermostat, and the eggs. We strive for perfection and appreciate any and all constructive criticism. Thank you again and hope to see you in the future.
Sincerely,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We tried to book the Cannery, but it was full during our time in Astoria. So, we went with the next highest rated hotel on TripAdvisor, The Hampton Inn.

On the plus side, the hotel seemed very new and clean. Our room was great. The bed was about a 7/10. It wasn't as comfortable as our bed in a Portland hotel the night before, but it was ok. The room was very large and comfortable. The hotel staff made obvious efforts to be friendly, even calling our room about 15 minutes after we checked in to ensure it met our satisfaction.

The hotel is located right along the Columbia River, and abutted a very nice walking/jogging/biking riverfront trail. This offered a nice 4+ mile exercise route, plus great scenery!

On the down side, the hotel was a bit far from downtown Astoria...just enough to discourage walking into town for dinner, etc. Also, it seemed a bit cavernous and sterile in the common area. This may have been because it was very empty during our stay...I only saw about 6-7 other cars in the parking lot. Ambiance was lacking, but hey, its a Hampton Inn.

The complimentary breakfast was a typical mix of pastries/cereal with juices, coffee etc. It also had bacon and some strange egg-like pellets which passed for scramble eggs. Definitely man-made, though! A employee roamed the breakfast area offering mints.

If I came through Astoria again and Cannery was booked, I'd have no qualms about staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room facing the river. Not only do you get a view, but you're on the opposite si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Bill B,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Astoria Oregon! Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your experience with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a one night stay where i booked with Expedia.

I reserved a river view room - when I got my key card and got up to my room, I found that I had only a view of the car park.

I went back down and the hotel clerk did not make any apologies but did change our room to the correct side of the hotel. We could not see any sea lions from the balcony, could just hear them.

The rooms were ok, the in-room heating was very noisy and old unit.

The hotel is a reasonable distance from the main area of town, so would only book here if you have a car.

The rogue public house is nearby, do not eat there - it was terrible.

Room Tip: Dont bother paying extra for the river view unless you are there for multiple nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

After booking a Groupon with another hotel in Astoria; we found ourselves not staying there and taking room at the Hampton! OMG, it was an amazing experience from start to finish and for our future trips to Astoria visiting family we will only book our stay with Hampton! Next time we will remember to pack the girl's swimsuits.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Laura L,

We are so happy that you found us! It is so nice to hear that your stay was an amazing experience from start to finish and that you will always stay with us in the future! We definitely look forward to your return! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you very much for taking the time to write your generous review! Ps.Don‘t forget to pack the girls swimsuits!

Sincerely,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.6 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
686 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#5 of 14 in Astoria
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Address: 201 39th St, Astoria, OR 97103-2461
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront of the Columbia River, the Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria offers guest great location to Astoria’s dining and attractions. Each stay includes free hot breakfast, free WiFi access, gym/fitness center and the Clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Riverview rooms with balconies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing