We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Urban Hike”

Cathedral Tree Trail
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Urban Hike”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We hiked the Cathedral Tree Trail from the Irving Street entrance up to the Astoria Column. Outstanding little hike! A little steep in some places but generally a nice 3 mile out and back hike. The volunteers who maintain this trail do an excellent job with the stairways and boardwalks where they are needed. We had to look twice to find the actual Cathedral Tree, but no worries, we had a great experience with this trail.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank rolson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
traveler
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Sitka Spruce”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Not an old growth forest, but beautiful all the same. It's harder and harder to find true forests in Oregon these days, but this little trail from a remote corner neighborhood of Astoria to the Column is easy and full of lush green. The Cathedral Tree is cool, having grown on a nurse log which has long since deteriorated, leaving a sort of cave under the big sitka spruce that you can climb inside.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank clicknathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
752 reviews
378 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Equally if not more spectacular to the Curtain Fig.

It's only a short walk from the car park along a forest boardwalk to the tree. We were the only people there, which was strange for such a wonderful and free site.

I did not see the fig tree as I walked towards it, as I was not looking up to the forest canopy. Once we arrived at the tree I looked up and could not believe how spectacular it was. It is so different to the Curtain Fig. The tree is large, but it is the wide spread of it's wonderful canopy that makes this place so special.

A wonderful quirk of nature and well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
145 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quiet Walk”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We enjoyed walking through the woods to the Cathedral Tree and on to the top of Coxcomb Hill beginning at the bottom. We had to ask directions to find the trailhead. We were too tried to climb the Astor Column by the time we got to the top but it was a lovely walk. Was an easy trail except for some high steps and root covered spots in the pathway. There were some unmarked side trips that could get a person lost. It would be slick and muddy during rainy weather. My husband took my picture in the Cathedral Tree which seems to be made for that purpose!!! Good walk!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Widlfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Hike in the Woods”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I like this hike starting from the top of the Astoria Column and then down through the woods to Irving Street. Then a walk along Irving (or get a pickup)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral Tree Trail also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Cathedral Tree Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing