We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, and even better if you get a river view room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2011

This was a great place to stay. We were originally put in a nice room with a view of the parking lot and street. I called the front desk and asked to be moved, and for an additional charge got a room on the other side of the building, looking over the Columbia River and bridge to Washington. The view was 180-degrees, and we could see the jetties and mouth of the river.

The room had a gas fireplace (that didn’t stay on long, only about 30 minutes at a time), flat screen TV with DVD player and lots of cable channels. The bed was comfortable, with a light-weight comforter in a duvet cover. The bathroom was clean and decent-sized, with granite counter. There was a nook with a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and another granite counter.

The complimentary breakfast was pretty good: scrambled eggs (salty), bacon, biscuits and gravy, bagels/muffins/bread to toast, jellies, cream cheese, couple kinds of juice, small yogurts, and bananas. It was served in a large room on the ground floor, with a wall of windows overlooking the river. There were quite a few tables.

The lobby is staffed 24-hrs, and has two fireplaces and seating areas. I noticed four cruiser-style bikes outside (not sure if they were for rent or free for guests to use). Free, easy wireless, fast and with a good signal. Slow elevator in the center of the building, and stairs at each end. Our room was quiet; we were on the 4th floor so there was no one above us. There was a small indoor pool and hot tub, laundry room (coin-op), game room with arcade games, small fitness room with 3 or 4 pieces of equipment.

The hotel is walking distance to a few restaurants, and a longer walk or short drive to lots of others on waterfront and also downtown Astoria. It is right on the trolley line, so when that is running (summer only?) it would be easy to get to all the waterfront restaurants and then walk a couple blocks up to the downtown area. There were lots of families staying there, and some of the rooms allow pets.

Room Tip: Ask at check-in which side the room is on
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meginoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2011

After two recent stays at the local Comfort Inn and Suites in Astoria my wife and I decided to try the Holiday Inn Express. While the Comfort Inn was adequate and a decent value for the money, the Holiday Inn Express was a significant step upward in amenities and overall feel of luxury for very little extra cost.

The property is situated on the Columbia River waterfront with sweeping views of the water and passing ships. Our third floor room featured a gas fireplace and the usual microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, and free Internet. The front desk was well organized, pleasant and very efficient. The room was very clean and quiet. The indoor pool, exercise room and breakfast room were also clean, modern and featured the same great view of the water. The free breakfast was unusually generous with eggs, bacon, and other prepared foods in addition to the standard cereal, muffins coffee and juice.

A waterfront trolley passes by only steps outside the back door. There are bicycles available for guests to use on the waterfront bike and walking path.

I've tried to think of one even slightly negative item to balance the review but I can't think of one. This was a delightful stay for $113 plus tax for a king bed, fireplace, and water view room.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ancient_Mountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We had a beautiful suite with fireplace. Room had wonderful view of the Columbia River. Great staff. Very clean. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Clean, modern, and very comfortable! This was a great place to come 'home' to after a day spent exploring Astoria and the surrounding area. The room was more spacious than expected for a two-queen room, and we loved the view of the bridge and river. Our child had lots of fun watching ships go by our window and then looking them up online to learn where they were from, where they were heading, and what they were transporting. We fell in love with Astoria and will definitely be going back soon, and the Holiday Inn Express makes a perfect home away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PacificNorthwestTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Usually we drive straight through Astoria, but decided to spend a night & check out the town. staying at the Holiday Inn gave us a great taste of Astoria, with the river view bridge, boardwalk. The hotel was firrst class our room was awesome, clean, spacious & homey.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasidehomeandgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Our so called suite was one long room with the bathroom placed in the center for maximum sound effects. The master end of the room with the king bed was noisy and had no heat.
I had asked for a quiet room when I booked, and they put me right next to the Astoria bridge. I felt cold at night and turned up the heat, but alas no heat reached my area of the very long room.
I spoke with the management and they blamed me for the problems. According to the manager I got the room next to the bridge because I booked online, which doesn’t make sense to me. According to the manager it is my fault the room was cold because I didn’t get up in the middle of the night and call downstairs to request a solution.
I have stayed at lots of hotels all around the world and I at least expect the staff to acknowledge when a room is not a suite and is loud and cold. These should not be my problems to fix.
Other rooms here are nice, but given the rudeness of the manager, I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JeanneMarieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Our room was a 3rd floor mini-King suite with fireplace & a GREAT view of the river. Comfortable bed, quiet room, nice breakfast bar, also with river view. The riverside board walk & trolly line is right in back. If we stay in Astoria again this will be our #1 choice.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.3 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
746 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#6 of 14 in Astoria
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Address: 204 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Astoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#2 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: £102 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing