We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here over spring break. Hotel was very nice and well kept. We had a riverside view room which had a great view of the bridge, river and the boats passing through. The pool was decent and my kids enjoyed it. Internet was fast and connected no problem. I would stay here again and recommend it to my friends and family.

At dusk, we went out by the river and I took a photo of the sunset and the bridge that is hanging on the wall in my Kitchen. Very nice views of the bridge and water.

The reason we stayed here was to visit the filming locations for the movie Goonies. The hotel was close to all the locations in Astoria.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river and try to get on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmer166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    224
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
236
324
33
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
191 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

What a pleasant surprise! Our rooms were 4th floor, riverside, and WOW, great views. You can watch the huge ships and tugs working the river; the lights are beautiful after dark. The river walk path is right in front of the hotel, as is the trolley. Good restaurants, pubs, and coffee shops easily within walking distance. The rooms were exceptionally clean and felt luxurious. Good indoor pool and breakfast room with (again) that great riverfront view. The staff was helpful and welcoming. With all that -- they provide plastic cups in the rooms and styrofoam in the breakfast room. Why? That was the one complaint -- not bad!

Room Tip: Select river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewportMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Nice location on the Columbia River, near all the shops and restaurants in town. Clean, well maintained. Holiday Inn Express has one of the best complimentary breakfast offerings of the mid-priced chains -- I had biscuits and gravy and make-your-own hot pancakes, along with their well known cinnamon rolls, fresh fruit, muffins, juice, etc. Pool/hot tub area was spacious and well kept. Wifi in the rooms, and flat-panel TVs showing the local stations in hi-def . We even got a fireplace room overlooking the waterfront, just by asking!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, and had a complaint from the guests below us that our kids were stompin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_McCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA State
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

as long as you get the river side of the building. Otherwise, its an easy fix as the lobby and breakfast room opens up to the Columbia River, trails and an easy walk to trolley stop. There are coffee shops and restaurants within an easy walk. The historic Flagler Bridge looms high above-often shrouded in fog. And if you're in Astoria long enogh to get bored (difficult), Washington state is a short drive across the bridge to even more adventure. Rooms are clean, warm and offer many amenities. If you have your dog with you, they can accomodate Fido as well. We have never been sorry we stayed...yes, there is are slightly nicer hotel rooms closeby...but their rooms are nearly twice the price. Stay at Holiday Inn Express and you can include that particular hotel/inn in your riverview photos.

Room Tip: If views aren't your thing or you aren't spending alot of time in your room, opt for the non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pavla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

What a great place to stay..had Room 338 and it was a great view of the bridge, boats, etc.
Staff was exceptional, made you feel very welcome. Location is great.

Rooms were very clean. Swimming pool and excercise room. I would highly recommend this place. First time at a Holiday Inn express and I would go back.

Room Tip: 338 was on the end of the hotel, kind of like a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwfnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed in Astoria for one night on a recent weekend getaway. This hotel was very nice. It was very clean, modern, and had good sized rooms. It also offers complimentary breakfast in the morning, and wi-fi, which is always a nice touch. The best part was how comfortable the beds were. Never slept in a bed this comfortable in a hotel! A bit on the pricey side, in my opinion, compared to the competition. With two dogs in tow, we ended up paying $150 for one night. Would stay here again if we got better deal on a trip search engine, to be honest.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FashionD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I recently spent a weekend here with some friends and had an excellent stay. The hotel is located on the water near the Astoria Bridge. The view was incredible and the location was a quick drive or Trolly ride (weather permitting) to downtown. Our room was on the first floor and had a water view, fireplace, 2 queen size beds, mini-fridge and a large clean bathroom. The hotel itself includes an indoor pool, hot tub and exercise room hot breakfast everyday. The continental breakfast included your typical cereals, fruits, bagels but it also had pancakes, biscuits and gravy, sausage and eggs. The quality of the food was just okay, but it can be satisfying if you’re looking for a quick bite. The hotel staff was very friendly, helpful and quick to give directions to local attractions. Without a doubt I would not hesitate to stay here again. Looking forward to heading back during the summer.

Room Tip: You can hear people walking in the room above you, so getting a higher floor would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattleguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.3 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
676 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#5 of 14 in Astoria
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Address: 204 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#2 Family Hotel in Astoria
#2 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing