We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
317 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Our one night stay was a good experience. we had booked and received a room with a firplace. unfortunately, the fireplace did not work. we called the front desk and the gentleman inspected it and said the element was broken. they adjusted the bill accordingly. we walked the small boardwalk and enjoyed all the people and their dogs, especially the ones digging big holes in the sand. we would stay here again.

Room Tip: try for a room over looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    221
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
230
317
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

This is a really nice hotel, set on the banks of the Columbia River, so be sure to ask for a riverview room, it's worth the few extra bucks, plus it's quieter on that side, busy street at the front.
Everything very clean, well maintained, friendly staff, free breakfast, free wifi, free parking. There are several restaurants nearby, we opted to walk about 3/4 mile to the downtown area, had salmon at the Silver Salmon, good food, good service. Our king room was more like a suite, it was divided into two areas, with the bathroom in between. The bedroom was on the inside, and the living room had the window and river view. Desk, couch, large rooms. Breakfast was the usual hotel prefab but plenty of selection, you can probably find something worth eating, but they did not have my 2 hotel staples, waffles or hot oatmeal, you'll have to settle for instant oatmeal and prefab pancakes out of a black box machine. Rates seemed high, probably because of the setting, location and prime tourist season.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairdesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

If you are looking for a decently romantic and affordable get-away to Astoria, this was a pretty good choice. The luxury Cannery Pier Hotel is close by and looks out to similar riverfront views so this hotel is a great cheaper option. If you are booking online, make sure you choose the option that says riverfront views. Other than that, keep in mind that it is a Holiday Inn so if you are looking for something fancier, go to the Cannery Pier. Don't be one of those jerks who book a cheaper hotel brand and expect luxury five star service and harass the staff because you didn't get that expectation. The staff is great and will definitely do the best they can to provide you a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

As others mention, pretty typical HIE but still wanted to write and say they did all they were supposed to do, and that we had a nice quick one night stay. River front walk/ride was terrific.
Got some great sunset/bridge pictures from the window of our room. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

This hotel excels in many areas but the best area was the staff. They were not only friendly but offered recommendations on places to eat and attractions in the area. Plus they made sure on multiple instances to get special flavors of complementary tea in the evening. The setting of this hotel is great. There are some really impressive views behind this hotel of the Astoria riverfront and bridge. While you can walk to a few restaurants and easily catch the Astoria trolley, you will need to drive to real get to anything downtown or otherwise take the trolley. The room I stayed in was very large and clean. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This Holiday Inn is the typical express style. It has the best baking powder biscuts you ever find.

We were quite disappointed in the town of Astoria. The residents we came across were pleasant but the town itself has little to offer. The area has a Scandinavian tone. Save some time for coffee and pastries at the bakeries and coffee houses..

The museum was the highlight. It explained much about the "bar". A movie and actual boats are in the museum.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patonfairmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Peak of summer travel, there were children everywhere. Most of them were in the indoor pool. We can hear kids jumping on the bed from the room above.
We have a room facing the river and it's very nice to have the view. Room is clean and large, and the fire place is nice.
Breakfast is standard Holiday Inn Express.
We tried to do laundry- $1 with quarters. But people are inconsiderate, they put their wash in the machine and leave! So even though there are 2 washers and driers, we finally gave up at 11pm after checking every half hour to see if the laundry are claimed by the owners.
Wifi is on the slow side.
Hotel is away from town.
Next time we might give up on the view and stay in town away from the kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonoluluStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.3 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.9 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Address: 204 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#2 Family Hotel in Astoria
#2 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing