We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
calgary alberta
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lovely location”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Hotel staff helpful and gave us lots of suggestions on where to eat in the evening. There is a trolly that runs around the river front and stops at different locations. The rooms are clean and ours had a lovely view of the river and bridge The breakfast was included and was the usual in a nice setting. They also had bikes for the use of the visitors.

Room Tip: Get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnieindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    229
    22
    6
    8
See reviews for
244
331
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We recently returned from a wonderful trip to the West coast. We started our tour in Portland, Or. and stayed in Astoria at a great hotel. Our room looked out at the Columbia River and was fully equipped with ice box, microwave, etc. A very historical trolley runs past the back of the hotel and we took a very interesting trip past the many interesting buildings that are on the river. There are many restaurants near the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannewebbavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This hotel is perfect for couples and families. We stayed in a mini suite with our two twenty somethings in August of 2012; they shared the sofa bed in the living area and we had the king in the bedroom. There was plenty of privacy, and enough room for four adults and their stuff. The living area was ample for us to lounge around in, and the view of the river from the window is just wonderful. The hotel is right on a manicured walking path along the river, and you can pick up the trolly there. There are great restaurants within walking distance. The kids could go on their own, using the trolley or walking, and everyone enjoyed that. The pool is nice and clean, too. The breakfast is bleh, but Columbia Coffee across the street is so wonderful we didn't want to eat anywhere else. The hotel is just a tad pricey for a Holiday Inn, but Oregon Coast in August is hideously expensive anyway, and this hotel has a very reasonable cancellation policy, which is why we tend to go with chains. We have booked again for this August, this time without the kids...can't wait for the fireplace view room!

Room Tip: Pick a riverview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finallytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Everything was outstanding! Excellent views of the Columbia River. Spotless facility. Plenty of helpful & friendly staff. The young lady who prepared breakfast was especially helpful to find foods for my wife,who is lactose intolerant. In all our stays this has by far been the best Holiday Inn Express we've ever stayed at.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This is a very well run and maintained hotel. The front desk staff were helpful and cheerful. The rooms spacious and clean. Clean is probably my number one criteria in any hotel and everything here was sparkling. We had a river view suite and it was well worth the few extra dollars per night as we were able to watch ships, barges and fishing boats entering and leaving the river as well as enjoy the beautiful sunsets. In addition, the location of the hotel is right by the Astoria-Megler Bridge which makes it very easy to go anyplace in town. If there was any disappointment it is that the included breakfast buffet is the standard fare found nearly everywhere. The one difference was that the ubiquitous waffle iron had been replaced with an automated pancake maker. Not much of a difference. It was a challenge to pull together a decent breakfast unless two of your basic food groups are fat and sugar. That was a very a minor flaw in what was an otherwise wonderful stay. I would highly recommend you consider this HI if you're planning a stay in Astoria.

Room Tip: Choose the river view upgrade and you not only avoid road noise but can enjoy the wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Hotel is beautiful in a gorgeous peacful setting. We have stayed on extended trips several times for over 7 years now. The staff has always been friendly and professional and they go out of their way to make you comfortable. We stayed once again for a week in March and just returned last week from another weeks stay...and I have to be honest that the only reason I gave this a "very good" rating instead of an "Excellent" is because of Mike one of the front desk clerks. I had never seen him before these last two visits and sincerely I must say, that boy needs some type of customer service training! Yes, he may complete the registration process professionally and expeditiously, however, his demeaner is lacking. He's subtly condescending! He has a bit of a god complex for some reason (kinda like he's the heir to the hotel or something), he speaks to people in a patronizing manner....he doesn't do it outright obviously, nevertheless, you can pick up on it. I thought it was just us that he didn't quite take to, but after sitting in the lobby admiring the gorgeous river view, I got the chance to observe and yes indeed, he picks and chooses WHO he's nice to and who he patronizes.. I don't know EXACTLY what drives him to do this, but after watching and "filtering" out his 'choices', it's clear to see what may drive him (if that makes sense) These last two visits he didn't give us our priority club "welcome pack" ( usually water bottles and chocolates) Now that, I took personally because I did notice he gave them to EVERYBODY else that is a member during the time that I sat in the lobby (which was a good long while!) ...and for $150+/night with a 7 night stay....that's the very least he could've done. Mike needs to take some type of training that includes treating EVERYONE equally no matter where they come from or what they look like, drop the "heir" attitude, and complete his duties thoroughly...or find a job at a call center where he doesn't have to see and/or deal with individuals face to face! Also, something I'd never noticed before is the corners of the rooms have a collection of dust on the carpet, so do the window sills in the lobby facing the river. (If you don't already know...that area is exceptional and should be maintained as such!) For that price, these last two visits would've been perfect as always... we will be returning soon, however, we're considering another hotel near the bridge where it may cost more, but may be well worth it!

Room Tip: Top floor Riverview with jacuzzi and fireplace!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victorianna_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Victorianna_P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I truly appreciate your feedback regarding our beautiful hotel. We are very proud of our hotel and our high standards for service, cleanliness and quality. However, I am sorry to hear that we fell below your expectations especially with the service received from our hotel staff and cleanliness of the hotel. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This place is right on the river bank. The staff remembers your name and is knowledgeable about the town. They are careful to give out and accept restaurant reviews for the clients. There is a great view of the bridge across the Columbia. Rooms are of generous size and nicely decorated. Prices a tad high for this town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacgrommet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,207 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.8 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.3 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
688 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#6 of 14 in Astoria
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Address: 204 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Astoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#2 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing