We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverfront Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Riverfront Property”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a lovely room overlooking the Columbia River and the Astoria-Megler bridge which stretches across to Washington State (the US-101). The hotel is not in a downtown location, but a 5-minutes' drive or a half-hour gentle stroll down the riverfront would take you downtown. Or you could hop on the historic 1913 Astoria Riverfront Trolley which stops at the doorstep of the hotel. On the recommendation of a staff member, we had dinner at the Bridgewater Bistro (a 3-minute walk away), which we enjoyed. There were other restaurants and fast-food outlets within a short walk from the hotel. There was ample parking, free high-speed Wifi connection, a good-sized pool and gym and a coin-operated laundry room. Breakfast was ample and tasty and there was free coffee and tea available all the time.

Room Tip: The riverfront room was lovely, but a little expensive at US$160.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wnoinotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    224
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
237
324
33
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is a very nice Holiday Inn Express with an absolutely stunning view! I stayed in a room that had a jacuzzi tub which I really enjoyed using while gazing at the beautiful bridge out of my window. It's really cool to watch the big freighters come in as well, as they seem so close that you could reach out and touch them! The location of the hotel is great - right on the river walk and very close to the small downtown area. My room was comfortable and clean and also had a fireplace (which I didn't use as it was very warm). The only disappointment for me was the breakfast - I prefer healthier options and it was mainly made up of sweet baked goods. I think there had been bacon and eggs but the platters were empty when I went down and were not refilled over the half hour I was in the breakfast area. There were only bananas for a fruit option. That's OK - I really don't expect much from a free hotel breakfast, and just went to the Safeway the next day to pick up some fruit and yogurt. All in all I had a very pleasant stay - the staff were great and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArielQuick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed for 11 nights, quite a long time for this type of hotel. We found the general standards to be good although the decor is approaching time for a makeover. The staff were pleasant and helpful.
The river view suite was excellent value for money and kept fresh and clean by the very efficient housekeeping crew. Lovely large and very comfortable bed. The views of the river were superb.
Breakfast, a self serve buffet, was comprehensive and substantial.
This is not a luxury hotel but is of a very good standard and well worth returning to when next in the attractive Astoria region.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a river view - well worth the small extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was very pleased with my stay here. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was very clean. I would definitely recommend this place. My room was nice and quiet with a good view. Keep up the good work, guys!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have been a regular at the HIE Astoria for several years now. While my work would pay for stay almost anywhere in town, I have developed a loyalty due to the incredibly kind and generous people at the hotel. From Caroline the manager on down, the staff are friendly and willing to go out of their way to make your stay smooth. I prefer their king fireplace units and the riverfront rooms offer up wonderful views of the Columbia River regardless of the season.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel does not have the view mystic or style of the hotel next door (Cannery Pier) but does offer a better value and nice rooms. It does enjoy a decent view of the river and has a very nice pool area that is open 24 hours a day.

The breakfast is typical Holiday Inn Express, nothing fancy but fine for a lighter breakfast.

A nice walk along the river is easy from the hotel. I would definitely stay there for a family trip again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WCDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Nice place. We stayed one night after arriving late in the afternoon. A quick tour of the city indicated this was a good choice. The reception staff was very friendly. Nothing extraordinary but clean, comfortable and a good value. Nice view of the river and bridge. Easy access to the river walk. I took a pass on the continental breakfast opting for something in town, but looked OK in a pinch.

Room Tip: A room with view of the river is worth a few extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Joe P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.3 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
677 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#5 of 14 in Astoria
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Address: 204 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Astoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#2 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing