We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The overall stay was good, we got the romance pkg. We had a beautiful view of the river, Jacuzzi tub, sparkling cider, popcorn and free movie rentals. Good service. Continental breakfast was decent. Beds & pillows aren't super comfy. They need too clean out the filters and vents of the AC/Heat units, ours had mold in it. They also make you do a $100 no smoking deposit on your credit card, then credit you back when you check out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaverfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear beaverfanatic,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the service you had and the facilities we have to offer to our guests. We apologize for the issues you had with your in-room Air-Conditioner. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. Rest assured, we have taken note of your comments and actions will be done accordingly. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    224
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
236
324
33
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Not only is the view from the River side perfect, the staff is excellent! During our stay we had a family situation come up. They helped us find the services in town and were accommodating with the well stocked business center. The hot complementary breakfast is delicious too. We will be back soon to stay longer!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveandAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estacada, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Absolutly beautiful room with large open windows to hear the water lapping ....nice open sitting room and great shower. Breakfast was absolutely great...especially the biscuits and gravy...staff was so helpful and friendly. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Anyroom that you can see the water is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Once again we had a wonderful two-day stay in Astoria, with the Holiday Inn Express playing a huge role in our enjoyment. Waterfront rooms place the bedroom at the hall entrance leaving a comfortable living room and large window on the water side and a fireplace in one corner. Pulling the couch over to the window gives you a superb view of the shipping channel which is barely beyond a stone's throw from the shoreline below. The hotel provides a daily schedule of ship traffic, but I discovered an even greater means to enjoy the passing scene. At least one website shows you thousands of ships currently in motion or at anchor throughout the world, along with links to photos and data for each ship detected. The hotel desk can advise you of the web address (by TripAdvisor rules, reference not permitted within this review). As they say, "You can't tell the players without a program," and this tool makes the marine experience intimate and instructive.

The hotel has the best breakfast (including daily variety) I can remember having in any chain motel, highlighted by its being staged in a waterfront room with huge windows capturing the view of the bridge and passing ship traffic. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful and planned to include the above-mentioned website on their published shipping schedule.

By the way, even in winter, bring a swim suit and enjoy the waterfront view from the beautiful indoor pool. Or in summer, enjoy the city's only (albeit tiny) beach right in front of the property.

Bikes (including a tandem) are available free for the first hour and a small charge beyond that time. Also don't miss the amazing Marine Museum. Plan to spend at least two hours there.

Room Tip: The 4th and 5th floors are best especially for a nighttime waterfront view as they are further above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

After coming from Victoria BC and driving down the Washington coast, we arrived at Astoria and found the Holiday Inn Express. We stayed at several HI Express motels during this trip and this one was tops for friendly staff, a large-sized room, and a beautiful location. We had bicycles with us and they let is put them in the same place that they store their bikes. The staff answered all of our questions with courtesy. The breakfast had a variety of foods and the area was neat and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panguitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Have stayed here several times. I come to Astoria every year to run the Columbia Crossing, which runs the Astoria Bridge. This hotel is perfectly situated for that event, even having spectacular views of the bridge from your room. But it's also perfectly located for enjoying Astoria. The staff are top notch and rooms are really comfortable. Breakfast is perfect and I look forward to many more returns.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADVNCHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Overall, the hotel knew who the real star was - the view of the stunning Astoria-Megler bridge sitting on the equally stunning river. Two views for the price of one.

There were other more expensive hotels in the area. Save money and stay here because the view here is more than good enough.

The decor and amenities are what you'd expect from hotels of the budget price range. More than decent. Also, the vibe is family/cozy and not too upscale nor trendy. Which is kinda appropriate for this region of natural beauty.

The staff was super helpful. Although, slightly understaffed during times when it seems every human being alive is checking in at the front desk.

Another downside was a staff member's claim that the pool was heated. It was cold when I swam that night so you might want to confirm that with the staff. I may have just been given the wrong info.

While I hail from New York, I am not one of those food snobs that seem prevalent from that city. Show me a free hotel breakfast anywhere and I'll be there. The breakfast they served at this Holiday Inn fulfilled its prime directive - warm, healthy options available, assorted spread. Best part was the gravy addition.

Overall, save money and stay here instead of the super high end ones in the area. You'll all be looking at the same water view anyway.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.3 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
677 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#5 of 14 in Astoria
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Address: 204 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#2 Business Hotel in Astoria
#2 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing