We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Atomic Motel(Astoria)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columbia Inn(Astoria)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elliott(Astoria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (855)
Filter reviews
855 results
Traveller rating
565
248
24
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
248
24
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverhi expressgreat viewcinnamon rollsa river view roomgas fireplacebiscuits and gravytrolley runsyogurtking suiteroom was largeindoor poolvery nice hotelbig shipsmorning breakfastfree breakfastfront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
466 - 471 of 855 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was the second stay at the HIE for me on a vacation to Oregon Coast. Normally, Holiday Inn Express is not anything to get excited about -- functional, standardized, but not exciting. What sets this one apart is the location and the view. Oh, the view. Great picture window that lets you gaze out at the Astoria Bridge over the Columbia River and all the river traffic. It's stunning. NIce rooms, just what you'd expect. But you are really paying for that view.

Also, great central location to take advantage of the funky, interesting downtown, as well as the Astor Tower, Fort Clatsop, etc.

Room Tip: East side rooms have a slightly better waterfront view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D80206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked two river view rooms here for a family trip. The views of the river are very impressive, as the hotel is at the bridge. We also had fireplaces which were particularly nice given Astoria's drizzly and cool weather. The rooms were spotless and well-appointed (coffee maker, toiletries, tv with DVD, etc.). Breakfast was typical for the chain but left us all satisfied. Staff was very friendly, and we were able to check in fairly early and extremely quickly. Lots of parking.

Location was wonderful. We walked down the Riverwalk to town for lunch and sightseeing (about a 15-20 minute walk at a leisurely pace). This would also be a great route for a run, and we saw a lot of runners, dog walkers, etc. There's less to do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel (other than the park and Riverwalk), so don't expect lots of dining choices right next door.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Could not have more happier with this hotel - the staff is friendly and accommodating - our room was a 2 bedroom room suite with sofa bed - perfect for our family of five older kids. Had a small kitchen, and three flat screen tvs. The free breakfast was good- kids had make your own pancakes, biscuits and gravy, bacon and sausage. And since my husband and I are dieting :( we ate the granola, chiobani yogurt, and fruit. Something for everyone. The trolley runs right outside the hotel for tours. Favorite part is the view of the bridge- literally amost underneath of it.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank MonkTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Awesome property right on the Columbia River. It's also at the base of the bridge going over the Columbia to Washington. Employees go out of there way to make you feel comfortable. There is a trolley that goes by behind the hotel! Also saw two beautiful bald eagles right outside. Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballietm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Nice hotel west of the Columbia River bridge, good view of the river and an old boat yard. Walking path behind the hotel goes to the river. Warm cookies at check in. The 2nd floor room we had was above the swimming pool, kids in the pool made the room noisy. Since we were out sight seeing, the noise didn't bother us. When we returned later in the evening, the pool was closed and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TFDAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear TFDAZ,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I appreciate that you have noted how you were welcomed on check in. It is our pleasure to host valuable guests like you at our hotel. I am also pleased to hear that you had a nice stay. I hope you had a good night sleep and found our rooms comfortable. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience that the noise level may have caused. I have forwarded you comments to our hotel in an effort to make you next stay the best as it can be.

I hope we have the pleasure to serving you again.

Kind regards,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews